Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 March 2017
An enjoyable old-fashioned romp. Kit Harrington is a little wooden perhaps - and there are cliches everywhere - but it still holds your attention even if there's one sword fight too many. Despite the complaints about the CGI work it's perfectly adequate too. Okay, it's not "Spartacus" perhaps or "Gladiator" even. But it's still good solid Sunday afternoon entertainment!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2017
Got this as I am the only person in the world who does not think 3D is a dying medium.
Not awful - can't imagine I will ever watch it again though tbh.
I visited Pompeii earlier this year - as you look from the main square up to Mount Vesuvius it really is quite scary to think about what it must have been like when the top blew off that.
Not as scary as some of the acting in this - but scary.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2015
An absolute hoot from start to finish! Spectacular CGI and amazing 3D effects help whiz things along at a staggering pace. Unlike so many other modern disaster movies however the spectacular pyrotechnics have been wisely saved for the last 30 minutes. While the plot is deliciously bonkers and the acting is all over the place (poor Mr Sutherland seems to be either attempting a new form of method acting or struggling with a new set of dentures) this is pure Saturday Matinee material from start to finish. The closing scene must be the most toe-curling, jaw-dropping and frankly embarrassing finale of recent years but you can't help enjoying every cliche ridden moment...Oh, and of course the real star is actually the volcano!
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2017
I know a lot of people are comparing about this movie, but personally I really enjoyed it. I love the fact that it's based on Pompeii (historical events/empires in general), there are a few interesting characters and the love story between Milo and Cassia is sweet. I love the different shots of Pompeii in various scenes of the movie. The volcano eruption section of the movie also looks pretty damn good!

However there are a problems with the movie:

- It's not exactly 100% historically correct.
- The acting is ok.... but thats it...... in fact certain scenes are laughable lol
- [Spoiler] Milo and Cassia were unable to escape in the end..... which I'm not a fan of at all... I mean come on.... they fought for each other and that's what they get :(
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2017
This film will stay with me forever. Kiefer Sutherland gave the performance of a lifetime, sadly not in a good way. He plays the evil roman governor and, for reasons not clearly understood, he felt the best way to give the role the vital air of menace needed plays it as a camp English vicar who happens to be dressed as a roman general. This may work in certain dungeon clubs in London, but on he big screen fails to cut the mustard. If you can muster the heroic effort needed to suspend disbelief every time he appears on screen this is a fun sword and sandal film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2016
A sort of low rent version of Gladiator with really hammy acting from Kiefer Sutherland, but he is not alone. Weakly scripted it relies totally on its special effects. Placing it at the moment of the volcano exploding gives it a certain pedictable dynamic. If you were like me, watching it because it was 99p and an insomniac it sort of ticks all the boxes it needs to..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2016
It was ridiculous. Mostly I kept thinking there were loads of rip offs from Gladiator but the other reviewers haven't mentioned them. Eg the main character is a white gladiator with a black gladiator friend who prays to his statues in his cell and even says the words 'not yet', the fight scene with the main guy and a roman baddies with blood dripping down kits fingers so we know he's injured - all exactly the same, the gladiator battle they are supposed to lose 'didn't the ... Win the battle of ...?' How much copying can a film get way with whilst pretending to be original? The story and special effects did make a film so bad it was good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2016
Not enough volcano. I had little to no interest in the characters in this film, they were very stereotypical and the storyline was obvious (I'm talking about the romance plot as opposed to the volcano erupting). The volcano erupting was pretty much just background for this film as opposed to the main content.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2015
Not a bad film, with some good and bad CGI but that is to be expected. There appears to be a cross over of films (Gladiator mainly) especially with the interaction between the main characters, the arena scenes were the gladiators are supposed to lose!. and Kiefer Sutherland playing the bad senator/wanna be emporer and his affections towards the leading lady.;You can see where there are scenes made specifically for a 3D effect but they seem to be few and far between. Its not a classic but it is good to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2017
Pretty awful except for the volcano. It came dangerously close to plagiarism of Gladiator in some scenes - though saved itself from a law suit by being dreadful imitations. The script is poor and the direction is too, so actors like Kiefer Sutherland and Jared Harris, who can actually act, came off as wooden. The CGI of the volcano erupting was excellent though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)