Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
26
4.7 out of 5 stars
Cover Version
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 May 2017
Love Steve Wilson's work to bits. Strange choice of cover versions. Particularly " The guitar lesson " Why?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2017
Excellent album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
This is a much needed release that compiles a collection of six two track singles that have become very hard to find and much sought after. I'm glad Steven Wilson has chosen to re-release this music and given those who missed out on the originals a chance to hear one of his most obscure releases.

This collection of songs exhibits several sides of Steven Wilson that are often absent in the majority of his work. Although he has released three solo albums to date, it is only in this release that he performs entirely on his own (no guest musicians/band members here). Perhaps because of this, the album has a far less 'grandiose' sound. Several of his songs are led by simple piano or strummed acoustic guitar. Perhaps to fit alongside the nature of the six cover versions, his original material is in a similar vein. That is, his music sticks largely to the 3-4 minute 'pop-song' format. Of course there are a few noticeable exceptions; particularly the eerie 'The Unquiet Grave' (actually a traditional English folk song interpreted in typical Wilson style). Also noticeable, is that the music here is far less melancholic than I have come to expect from Wilson (again with exceptions!).

Steven Wilson's choice of covers may come as a surprise; Alanis Morissette, Abba, The Cure, Momus, Prince and Donovan. His cover's aren't always as good as the originals, but they certainly are different. If there's one track that really shone for me, it was his cover of Abba's 'The Day Before You Came'. I cant say that everything here is five-star material, but even his weaker material is very different from the rest of his work and acts as a fitting testament to one of rocks most varied and under appreciated talents. The best material on this album is certainly worth owning and for that alone I would recommend this album even to those who are not familiar with Steven Wilson's previous material.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
Stunning album. I cannot say that one track is weak. He has shown great respect to the original songs yet, somehow, added his own flavour in such a way as to "better" the originals. "The Guitar Lesson" is one of his finest moments. Truly haunting and beautiful. "Sign O The Times" shocked me. It starts a little too timidly but you feel hooked from the start, then BANG a raw guitar sound to shatter the best speakers. Onto his own tracks and I have to say "Moment I Lost" is a superb nod to Pink Floyd, with delicious guitar. "Well you're wrong" is a truly delightful song.

I love this album from start to finish and, although I have highlighted a few, trust me, it is a classic from end to end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
Another quality product from the master of modern progressive music. Steven Wilson is unashamedly pioneering a music genre which many had written off in the early 80's, and doing it brilliantly. His is an excellent writer, musician, and producer. On Cover Version he applies his take on some other peoples work, with great effect. I just love the acoustic version of (Abba's) The Day Before You Came. A great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
There's some arresting stuff here...notably the opener. Few of those songs that are covered have been truly owned by SW as a result but he's certainly dressed them in his own clothes for a time. Probably for the fans rather than those looking to take on SW for the first time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2016
Everything was OK, thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
Great covers, I can't get them out of my head.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2016
How I regret not knowing Porcupine Tree when they were still gigging. Did see this man on Hand... tour and it was superb. This adds even more variety to his body of work but it's all still identifiably him. Interesting sleeve notes about the genesis of the project, he's always interesting when talking about music, the only musician I follow on FB.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 July 2014
Always good to have some new material from SW. Even if it's old material that was previously darned hard to get a hold of. It's an album of 2 halves, and other reviewers have gone into some detail on material and choices, so I won't repeat.

What I will say is that this is every bit the stripped-down experiment that SW describes it to be in his liner notes. Some tracks work better than others, as you'd expect - especially as the source material is almost wantonly esoteric.

Where his voice is used as an instrument, the tracks come off best - as, pared down in a production, it can be (being brutally honest) a thin-sounding, nasal affair. The more experimentation, the better - for me. So, 'A Forest' and 'The Unquiet Grave' will probably bear the most repeat listens. For me.

And hearing Steve cover a Momus track is a very curious experience. Whereas Mr Currie emits a dangerous and edgy persona behind an effete, sexualised delivery, SW just seems like too nice a chap to make good on the Lolita-like threat behind the lyric. It doesn't mar the experience, it's just a bit of a head-scratcher.

His original compositions here bear closest affinity with his earlier Blackfield output. Not a bad thing. Just to give you an idea.

To summarise, the whole is a curio, and every bit as good as you might expect. The homespun feel of it is at once its USP (Steve, Steve and only Steve) and its Achilles heel. It simply doesn't have the depth of a 'Raven' or the production values or sonic pallette of a 'Blank Planet'. It's charming, I suppose. But I can't give it 5 stars because the tone of it isn't magnificent, merely very good indeed.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Transience
£5.99
Insurgentes
£6.99
4 1/2
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)