Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 July 2017
Awesome book. I learned Flask with this book and keep on referring to it on a regular basis to discover topics and "how-to". Simply the best reference I came across when it comes to Python / Flask web development.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Fantastic book. Perfect level of detail. The example blogging app is fun to make and will cover most bases for any modern web app one would want to make. Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
Programming books often fall into one of two categories the 800 page "bible" that you have to slog through to pick out the nuggets from the mud, or the smaller guide that is a rehash of manuals and blogs that are available on line. I'm pleased to say this book that very rare thing - an easy to read technical guide by an author who clearly deeply understands the subject matter, that doesn't treat you like an idiot but also takes time to explain all the relevant concepts, quickly and simply in 240 pages with no extraneous bumff.

I'd also recommend this book to anyone new to Python, as I was. I got a very good sense of how the Python eco-system worked, how to structure a Python project and some really useful code snippets for best practice in Python coding.

The first 7 chapters of the book are insanely useful. Part 2 takes you through creating and deploying a fuller app, which is also useful reference material. I'd have liked a chapter on how the author thinks the best way to structure the project to work with JS Frameworks like Angular or Knockout - but that's a minor criticism.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
If you were wondering if this book was going to be worthwhile considering there are a few good guides online; I can tell you that it's worth every penny. The online guides don't compare. This book has so much depth to it. By the end you should have a very strong understanding of how Flask works and a nice blogging, social network application you can show off to your friends at the end. I would recommend that you have a good knowledge base of Python before starting to get the full benefit.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
It's a great follow-up to the tutorials (which, given the level of detail, Miguel was very brave to put up there) and sits on my desk, well-thumbed. Easy to read, well laid-out and I often find myself dipped into as I need to remember some other neat way of solving the next Flask problem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2016
A great book. Takes you through the whole process of learning to use this web microframework from a beginners tutorial to step by step chapters. Rather than isolated example code, the structure of the book takes you through the development of a complete social blogging application, so that you learn both what to do as well as how to do. A book I shall be going back to over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
Miguel Grinberg is an excellent developer and author. I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking to start web development with Python & Flask, and would also recommend to visit his blog (http://blog.miguelgrinberg.com) for supplementary material
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2017
The factual content of the book is great and provides an expansion on the blog by Miguel Grinberg, but the build quality of the book is terrible. I have been using the book for less than a week and pages have started to fall out of the book already.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
I love this book for 3 reasons:
1. Everything is explained clearly
2. The code works
3. Besides Flask the reader will pick up some good software engineering knowledge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
thanks and love it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)