Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
223
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2015
Worth the 5 year wait...? Yup! Maybe I'm biased but I love this chick. Sadly this album although hit Number 1 it has not got it's due. Some incredible songs like the personal "Take My Place", the chilled vibey "Our Time" and the groovy "Miserable Without Your Love" - all make this my Top pick of the year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
Now then, I am a bit surprised to see some poor reviews here. Make no mistake, dear readers, this a good british pop album from a unique local talent to savour. A little more mature in sound and lyric but still sharp and funny. The range of music styles is as wide as the subject matter covered; from chart pop to brit pop to hip hop. Works very best when Lily sings from her heart about things that matter to her like her hubby (loved up and catchy on "as long as i got you" and "close your eyes") or the music business (cool and tuneful on "hard out here" and hip-hop, Kayne-teasing "sheezus") or the cursed cult of vapid celebrity culture "insincerely yours". She has a distictive and charming voice - and the cover of Keane's "somewhere only we know" is heat meltingly good as you already know. A welcome return - there will not be many better or smarter pop albums this year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
Lily’s last record It’s Not Me It’s You seemed to capture the mood of the late Noughties with its lead single ‘The Fear’, and with the help of other strong tunes like ‘Not Fair’ it became a great success for her. Sheezus has not sold nearly so well to date, despite similarly sharp lyrics on hot-button issues, and I think you have to lay a lot of the blame on Greg Kurstin. Musically the album is very thin gruel, sticking firmly to Lily’s earlier sound but without similarly strong tunes, so tracks like ‘URL Badman’ end up raising a smile without you ever wanting to hear them more than once. In the end the album is the sonic equivalent of a moderately engaging Twitter feed – a bit of brassy opinion and score-settling which will amuse you for a day or so, but nothing of lasting value.

Ultimately, Lily’s ‘retirement’ from music after the last record reflected her sense that people had got about as much from her musically as they were going to need, and this comeback only makes that original decision seem wiser.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
Well its been a year since Biigi released his last single and album its been very dry music wise the reason Biigi has been building his new studio and this is the first offering and what a corka it is superb Dance funk with lots of Toe Tapping tunes the way his fans like it .
Also a New Artist on the Factory label Andre who has released his debut LP with Biigi on the Desk and Mastering Give both the albums a go its superb tracks you will love and it looks like Biigi is back to stay also releasing a New Single this week and coming soon the Greatest hits vol1 the first ten years and a Big Bangra Album in aid of the Indian girls Health charity and he wants to gig in europe august in ukraine poland etc Busy boy Biigi b is back..5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Some excellent songs. Some annoying. Not a strong as the earlier albums. Some of the music isn't poppy enough to get you past some of the purile words. However some songs are excellent.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
This is a wonderful album, full of great lyrics and catchy tunes. I really like Lilly Allen's clever use of the language around her and her song about glass ceilings is just superb. A clever girl is Lilly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 May 2014
Lily Allen's third album is loosely similar to its predecessors in that it contains a mix of musical styles and influences, with upbeat punk pop style tracks alongside smoother more R&B and trip-hop sounding grooves. The airy dreamlike production perfectly complements Allen's distinctive vocals and the lyrics are just as biting as ever. Allen's take on internet trolls ("URL Badman") is particularly topical, not to mention sexism in the music industry ("Hard Out Here") and the superficial nature of celebrity ("Insincerely Yours"). But there's also another side to this album: Allen has become a wife and a mother since her last release and she's as refreshingly honest about this as she is about everything else, for example singing "When I'm standing out / In my underwear / I know that I've let myself go / But I still feel sexy / When you undress me." ("Close Your Eyes").

Lily's distinctive style and originality is here in abundance and musically there is a lot to like here, though the lyrics are occasionally a little cheesy. If you liked her first two albums then you should definitely give Sheezus a listen. An enjoyable maturation of her earlier sound.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Every song on this album is like a candy treat for my ears. I listen to this album pretty much every where I go so Thank you Lily! X
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
CD was damaged and unplayable ! a huge disappointment as the music is great !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
brilliant loved it just want more can't wait for the next one as usual not one for the kiddies to listen to
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)