Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
247
4.2 out of 5 stars
Tracks [DVD] [2013]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 25 July 2016
Could have been better. I was hoping the film the film would give a clearer insight into why the central character felt the need to go on such an arduous trek across the outback, what was driving her, what kept her going etc These things were glossed over or not made very clear. The result is that one is left watching an apparently unlikeable (because we dont get to know her) main character, and left confused as to why she is doing it all. I think I will read the book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 July 2015
Very enjoyable, inspirational film - Mia Wasikowska gives a superb performance, and the loneliness, beauty, and hostility of the outback is beautifully conveyed to the screen. It did seem to drag a little at times and I found my attention wandering, but it was generally compelling viewing with some very human touches, like the old, isolated couple who take her in for a much needed break, and a sympathetic portayal of the aborigines who help her along the way. The scenes with the National Geographic reporter jarred a bit at times, but I think that was intentional as it was integral to the story i.e. it emphasised that the main character wanted to be alone; the scenes with the tourists had a similar effect.

I think I still prefer Nic Roeg's Walkabout [Blu-ray] [1971] as the most complete film of this type, but Tracks is certainly well worth watching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 14 July 2015
I did enjoy this and thought Mia Wasikowska pulled it off very well, especially her relationship with the camels, which could not have been easy. But as I read the book first it was hard to let go of that, as the book better explains the background to the journey, her feelings around the journalist etc, far better. But still engrossing and worth a watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
This is the travelogue they failed to make in 1977 (actually, it seems that Robyn Davidson was quite publicity averse, as well as pretty attractive, in real life, so they got much of that right): not much happens, and there's a lot of stunningly bleak and beautifully filmed scenery. Then the film ends.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Having read the previous reviews and also this being personally recommended to me I was expecting great things. Sadly I was disappointed. The photography, and acting was good it was just that there are only so many pictures you want of someone leading camels in a desert. I think it was an incredible achievement to walk across the desert and the determination and bravery needed is not in doubt it just was not a very interesting film. I would have wanted a bit more on what motivated this epic journey and the changes it brought about.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Great movie and bit of nostalgia
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
For those yearning for a real connection in a superficial world of distractions and material focus, of disconnected lives, "Tracks" is a welcomed antidote to our ADHD culture. The film depicts a young woman's nine month journey across the vast Australian desert - one where, through the environment and events, she confronts herself, along with her buried past, cultural views, and on a universal level, nature itself. From an emotional desert to the cleansing tides of the ocean, this is a journey into the psyche, into the soul of a person who is separate from everything except her animals - it's one where she encounters resistance from without and within, and is finally able to accept the caring of others. Most importantly, "Tracks" shows us a young woman who needs to challenge herself physically and emotionally, to extend her boundaries, and is determined to see it through. Nothing, however, is overdone or spoon-fed to the audience, everything is achieved through a naturalistic focus, no drummed up Hollywood melodrama or cliches. John Curran's direction is masterful and measured and the cinematography of Mandy Walker is breathtaking - a rich tapestry of color and glorious light, from subtle shade to blazing sun and starry nights, capturing the lonely panorama of the Australian Outback. The entire cast is pitch-perfect. Adam Driver and Roly Mintuma lend humorous and empathic support, the loyal black lab, Diggity, and the four camel companions are all distinct personalities, each an important player in the story. Ultimately, though, none of the film's emotional resonance would have been possible without the amazing central performance of Mia Wasikowska, who brilliantly embodies a loner going through an intense experience that's both external and internal. There are no over-the-top emotional speeches, rather she communicates a deep understanding of her character through body language and eyes, through her very presence, which casts a hypnotic spell that draws us in, allowing us to care about her, warts and all, and share her experience.

"Tracks" is a film that's nuanced and authentic, and all the more powerful for it - it's also joyous. Credit should also be given to Garth Stevenson's evocative score, a sublime reflection of the natural world. This is a tale that takes you on a personal journey that's both cultural and spiritual - one of haunting beauty that will linger long after the film has ended.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
In 1977 a lonely Robyn Davidson(Mia Wasikowska) decides to travel 1700 miles by foot with four camels(3 adults, one offspring) and her dog Diggity from Alice Springs and go due west through some pretty hostile terrain to the Indian Ocean. Along the way she meets some interesting characters and has to put up with a part time companion in the form of National Geographic photographer Nick Smolyn(Adam driver) whose magazine requires the obvious in return for being the main sponsor of Davidson's trek.The only problem being that Davidson could really do without him because as,in the words of Greta Garbo and i'm paraphrasing,she wants to be alone which is the main motivation for the trip.

Based on a true story and remaining very faithful to it even if her reasons seem elusive and her desire to do it with camels is never convincingly explained, Tracks is a hynotically episodic film in the best possible sense. More mellow than melodrama, the film doesn't hitch itself to emotional highs and lows. Instead the whole thing plays out so leisurely and delicately that Davidson's odyssey seems refreshingly matter of fact which of course it is not.Walk,unload,sleep,get up,walk ,unload,sleep.Along the way she gets some help from some Aboriginal elders, stays with assorted folks dotted throughout this barren landscape and Nick filters in and out too with instrusiveness and helpfulness in equal part.

Director John Curran(Painted Veil,Stone)steers the ship effortlessly and the landscape is stunningly rendered in shot after shot after shot. However the star here is Wasikowska whose performance is a delight.She plays Davidson with just the right amount of obstinancy,warmth and clarity of purpose while at the same time retaining a aura of emotional fragility as to the enormity of her undertaking.

A double bill with Nick Roeg's Walkabout (both in hd) would a treat for the eyes and I will be doing just that when Tracks is released.Catch it if you can on it on it's limited theatrical run before it disappears. You won't be disappointed.
Her standoff with some feral camels is superbly done.
0Comment| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
I was disappointed with this film because it was rather slow. Could have been a lot better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2016
okay
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Tracks
£7.05

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)