Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
112
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2014
I bought this for my Dad for Fathers Day as we are both Huge fans of the album, and after finally getting round to watching it we were blown away by how brilliant this concert is. It was absolutely amazing and was a really great performance by The Who. The added content (Extra Songs) Such as "Pinball Wizard" and "Won't Get Fooled Again" were a great added bonus. Well worth the money! Highly recommend to all fans of The Who
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
Brilliant! If you were at this show, or simply love The Who then this is a must.

See if you spot the mistake in "I'm One" !

Great vocals by Daltrey but the old footage on the screen is just brilliant!

Buy it - you won't regret it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Having seen the band on this tour this Blue-Ray was a must. If you weren't fortunate enough to have seen them too this is definitely the next best thing. This is the Who in concert, and thanks to bit of technical wizardry, all four of them are present so if you're a fan or simply want to know more, then this is highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
The only word to describe this is CLASS, the sound, the picture, the band just oozes class and quality, I watched this on a Samsung Blu Ray home theatre with full surround sound with a 50" tv *********** booooooom just buy it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
Great concert and great group. I was at the O2 London to see this live and this was filmed at Wembley.
Excellent presentation of Quadrophenia.
Amazing rework with old footage of the band and interaction with John Entwistle and Keith Moon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
Like every Who product well balanced in motion and sound. Stunning performance. Enjoyed it very much. For me it was in a way to relive the Amsterdam gig again. Hope to see the real deal once again during the forthcoming tour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
I'm remembering distant memories Recalling other names.
I remember reading an article in a music paper in the 70's entitled « In awe of the Who » ; considering the achievement this DVD represents it wouldn't be inappropriate to create the word « whosome » as a neologism indicating something as awe inspiring as the Who.
The Who play to the video clip of the century from the aftermath of WWI to the beginning of WW3. I don't know what it means to younger people but, to me, it certainly looks like a very effective means to raise their awareness. The music rages through, deaths and births, war declarations and peace talks, a selbstdarstellung of a generation who has had to face death from an early age, boldly wished for it in its teen years and learnt to accept it as a final fact.
This concert is a touchstone to check whether you are still a human being ; if you are you're bound to cry at one point or another, be it when you perceive the cahos described by the back projections or when the music is so overwhelmingly perfect it permits to resurrect the bassist of the millenium and the eternal boyish drummer no Who fan has ever forgotten.
I saw the Who perform Quadrophenia in the seventies and retrospectively I cannot but be amazed at the performance they produced back then as a four-piece band when Pete could play both rhythm and lead parts and the band had to battle with out synched backing tapes . I'm glad I saw the original line up but I'm also impressed with the stubbornness for perfection that drives Roger and Pete to take up such challenges when they could be resting on their laurels and sip tea at home. Hats off to Pino Palladino and Scott Devours for their total selflessness in accepting little or no exposure and total dedication to the original members. I also fully trust Bob Pridden has done his best with producing the recording. If there has ever been a faithful Who right-hand man through thick an thin he is the one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Always loved quadrophenia as one of the great works by the who. This is their recent 2014 live event when they reproduced the whole album on stage and to their credit they can still do it justice. Roger's vocals still hit the mark and Pete Townshend delivers with a cutting edge all those great guitar licks that bring this whole thing to life. There are movie clips that spin back to the 60s and show the who captured in that time - there's also some great footage of Keith Moon and John Entwistle proving how much they are missed. This disc is a joy to watch and well worth getting - my copy is on blu-ray and the sound and picture quality is excellent.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
The quality of the recording is exceptional, and is my first Blu-Ray disc. Both the content, and quality of sound are amazing. I saw the same concert at a Liverpool venue, and it was like being there again!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
I have a number of live performance DVDs from this group and I have to say that this ranks as one of the very best shows I've seen them perform for many years. The sound quality on the Blu-Ray is impeccable and the performances by the band as a whole are masterful. I'm still awe-struck by how strong Daltrey's voice is, even at the ripe old age of 70, and Townshend's guitar playing is, as ever, brilliant. I was also particularly impressed with Pete's brother Simon's performance on 'The Dirty Jobs', and it's very obvious that he's also picked up more than just a few guitar tips from his elder brother along the way. Seeing Keith Moon resurrected for 'Bell Boy' gave me a bit of a lump in the throat, as well as a huge admiration for the expertise of the technical crew behind the entire presentation. This record was, if anything, better than even Tommy or Who's Next and fully deserved the concert treatment. And here, it is realised in all it's full, magnificent glory. Long Live Rock, indeed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)