Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
195
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.03
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2014
I enjoyed it, though it's debatable whether or not it's actually an autobiography. You don't really learn an awful lot about Andrea Pirlo as a person, and it's incredibly non-linear, as he plucks snippets of situations from all over his lifetime in no real order. I like his writing style regardless. It's a little over-the-top, like something Eric Cantona would probably write, and some sections read like the memoirs of a tortured artist. I found it interesting just how many clubs he flirted with and nearly signed for, and how his heart often lost the love for particular football clubs, including his boyhood club. The book lacks detail and direction, but it makes up for it by containing swagger, in plentiful proportion.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
I picked up the kindle version as I've always been a fan of Pirlo and it's definitely worth the low price. A short, to the point read giving a great insight into the mind of Pirlo at different stages throughout his career, I'd recommend it to any football fan.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
I had been looking forward to reading this for ages. I finally persuaded myself it would be worth buying, the reviews suggested it was a funny, well written scattergun story of the stylish Italian midfielder, they suggested it roamed around with no fixed narrrative (much like Pirlo in the Juventus midfield) and that it was much too short.

I would concur with every single point made by other reviewers, the book is very short and took me around 70 minutes to read, it doesn't fill in all of the blanks on Pirlo's life and career and doesn't even follow him in the traditional manner from childhood to present day, instead he picks up areas which are important to him, such as being castigated by other parents as a child for playing like Maradona, playing pranks on the fearsome Gattuso or playing playstation on the day of the World Cup Final.

Pirlo is a very funny book, some of the comments are very thoughtful and melancholy, but most have a wry humour to them. I had wanted more and was gutted when the book finished so quickly, but I thoroughly enjoyed the story and the little snippets about offers from other clubs, views on other players (although these are minimal) and a funny story involving Roy Hodgson and a rather unfortunate mispronounciation of Pirlo.

Pirlo talks of the confusion over AC Milan's capitulation to Liverpool in Istanbul in the Champions League final but only to address the fact he can't understand how it happened, he glosses over the match and other big matches, never really detailling them. He never gives himself up to this book and in the end it comes across as a series of funny stories, some connected, some not, which detail times in his career.

The book is short, sweet and a pleasure to read, if it had been longer i'd have given it five stars but this is fun while it lasts, but leaves you wanting to know so much more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Andrea Pirlo is without doubt one of his generations greatest midfield players. He is a maestro. Sadly this doesn't transfer to his storytelling. This isn't a terrible book and has some interesting anecdotes...but sadly not enough. 'I think therefore I play' is like Pirlo's memoir, told from a specific period in his life about the whys and whatnots of what he does. Nods to times when I he could have joined Chelsea/Madrid et al are glanced at but never fully detailed.
This is a short read, but could have been much better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
Its an interesting read but its not as interesting as similar books about players from your own team, or your own country. I suspect this would be judged as good, or excellent, by Italians that support Milan, Juventus or the other teams that Pirlo played for when he was younger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
A first class book full of interesting intelligent stories of a wonderful footballer and how to be an example of what books should be like.not the biggest but has true quality rather than quantity.highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Very good read, better than expected to be honest. Love Pirlo as a player and follow Juve so have a good grip on Italian football and the man himself. Although quite short the book is translated well and the content is articulate. Pirlo's personality comes across and it made for a very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
Pretentious ! Wonderful football player ...... but doesnt he know it . Lost all respect for the man when he put down a fellow professional for shadowing him in an international match . Are the opposition supposed to let him play as he likes ??? To be fair I havnt read a footballers autobiography yet that wasn't pretentious . Thin on jaw dropping insight into one of arguably the worlds best players ,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
Naff title. Why was the book not called simply Pirlo, because, along with Elvis, Madonna and Beyoncé, Andrea Pirlo has single word brand recognition, to the international football fan at least? The cover of the English edition, but not the Italian one, reflects this with “Pirlo” in large letters and the title of book lurking shamefacedly in small print in Pirlo’s hair.
The title does serve one purpose. It starts to prepare the reader for the arrogance and swagger of the words inside. Just as with Pirlo’s football, the style is the thing in this book. The style of the prose captures perfectly the unbreakable swagger and almost boundless self-belief of the footballer.
Not speaking Italian, I cannot tell who is responsible for this. Is this how Pirlo really speaks? Is the ghost a writer of brilliance, who has worked deliberately to create a prose version of Pirlo’s game? Or is the English translator the genius here?
The book is at least 90% style. It is not a biography, more a series of semi-random reminiscences of the great footballer’s life, appearing in a series of short staccato mini-chapters. It contains few revelations. I think we all knew that Gennaro Gattuso is no intellectual or that Chelsea’s new manager, Antonio Conte, is quite mad in his desire to get the best out of his players. And we probably did not want to know about Pippo Inzaghi’s pre-match ritual.
As a Liverpool supporter, I read the book hoping for some insight into the 2005 Champions League Final. No such luck. All we get are words to the effect that it was just one of those things in football.
So there we have it. Pirlo is not a loyal man; he flits from club to club never looking back. He has limitless belief in his own abilities as a footballer. He is not a deep thinker about the game; do not expect him to be following mad Conte into management. But he was one hell of a player and his book is cut above the normal football memoir, being stylish, fun and short.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
Pirlo's not just a great player, but he's a good bloke and has a very good sense of humour too. It's light and undemanding reading but is a cut above most footballers' efforts. Both OH and I enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)