Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
202
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.03
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2017
Very enjoyable read,the book has been superbly translated the language is very rich. This one doesn't follow a predictable pattern but shares enough of Pirlo's thoughts on key figures in his career to keep you turning the pages. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Disappointed with this book = too short. I expected more from one of the all time greatest footballers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
Wow!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
I enjoyed it, though it's debatable whether or not it's actually an autobiography. You don't really learn an awful lot about Andrea Pirlo as a person, and it's incredibly non-linear, as he plucks snippets of situations from all over his lifetime in no real order. I like his writing style regardless. It's a little over-the-top, like something Eric Cantona would probably write, and some sections read like the memoirs of a tortured artist. I found it interesting just how many clubs he flirted with and nearly signed for, and how his heart often lost the love for particular football clubs, including his boyhood club. The book lacks detail and direction, but it makes up for it by containing swagger, in plentiful proportion.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 April 2014
Short, sweet, insightful and an easy read. Really enjoyed this book due to Pirlo's honesty and insight into Italian football.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
A lovely insight into a class footballer and now it seems a class act off the pitch too. Some funny stories about other stars he has played with. Enjoyable enough that I read it in one sitting. Would recommend it to you too.... Unless you happen to be klass jan huntelaar then you might want to skip a chapter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Found the flow of words a bit baffling at times. Paints a fuller picture of Pirlo than i knew. One overriding factor for me is how human pirlo comes over. A consummate performer. Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
I picked up the kindle version as I've always been a fan of Pirlo and it's definitely worth the low price. A short, to the point read giving a great insight into the mind of Pirlo at different stages throughout his career, I'd recommend it to any football fan.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
Naff title. Why was the book not called simply Pirlo, because, along with Elvis, Madonna and Beyoncé, Andrea Pirlo has single word brand recognition, to the international football fan at least? The cover of the English edition, but not the Italian one, reflects this with “Pirlo” in large letters and the title of book lurking shamefacedly in small print in Pirlo’s hair.
The title does serve one purpose. It starts to prepare the reader for the arrogance and swagger of the words inside. Just as with Pirlo’s football, the style is the thing in this book. The style of the prose captures perfectly the unbreakable swagger and almost boundless self-belief of the footballer.
Not speaking Italian, I cannot tell who is responsible for this. Is this how Pirlo really speaks? Is the ghost a writer of brilliance, who has worked deliberately to create a prose version of Pirlo’s game? Or is the English translator the genius here?
The book is at least 90% style. It is not a biography, more a series of semi-random reminiscences of the great footballer’s life, appearing in a series of short staccato mini-chapters. It contains few revelations. I think we all knew that Gennaro Gattuso is no intellectual or that Chelsea’s new manager, Antonio Conte, is quite mad in his desire to get the best out of his players. And we probably did not want to know about Pippo Inzaghi’s pre-match ritual.
As a Liverpool supporter, I read the book hoping for some insight into the 2005 Champions League Final. No such luck. All we get are words to the effect that it was just one of those things in football.
So there we have it. Pirlo is not a loyal man; he flits from club to club never looking back. He has limitless belief in his own abilities as a footballer. He is not a deep thinker about the game; do not expect him to be following mad Conte into management. But he was one hell of a player and his book is cut above the normal football memoir, being stylish, fun and short.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)