Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
45
4.4 out of 5 stars
Hooray For Love
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


on 17 August 2017
great item and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Great value just love all on this CD prompt excellent service, having tried to purchase in my local town shops to no avail all sold out came back ordered direct from Amazon next day delivery bonus... Was able to download onto my IPad "free" from this purchase. How's that for value......
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
Exelent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
Not what I expected. Not to say it's bad. Just not me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
His last album, Let's Go Out Tonight was excellent (5 stars) so I expected a lot from this. But there's nothing original here, and the edge that was on the last album doesn't appear here, just mostly standards as others have done many times before, perhaps going for the Michael Buble audience. We'll be seeing him live later this year, and I hope he plays songs from the previous album as well. Haven't given up on Curtis, but I think he can do better.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 April 2014
Each album he makes gets better and better. His total confidence shines through in this CD.
Backed by just a five piece band, including himself of course on tenor sax, the sound produced is just magnificent. Three new songs written by Curtis and seven standards. Each given a unique treatment making them sound as fresh as ever.
The duet with Cyrille Aimee, "You Make Me Feel So Young" is definitely a highlight of the disc - in fact she is so good I'm searching to buy her Cd material now.
A very classy album - 40 minutes of pure jazz pleasure - most tracks giving opportunity for some excellent solo work.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
I saw Curtts live in Copenhagen a fortnight ago, where he did TWO sold out concerts with the Danish National Radios Big Band. It was absolutely AMAZING.

Afterwards Curtis spent 45 minutes signing CDs, all the while being very gracious to EVERYONE, having his picture taken, talking, and laughing with us. The CD went straight on the car-stereo, and a swinging time ws had all the way home.

The record is a nice mix of 'golden oldies' and Curtis Stigers originals, and I couldn't sit still while listening to it.

BUY THIS RECORD!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
To quote the great Jazz club sketches off The Fast Show......"Curtis Stigers.......nice!" This album is amazing...such mellow tunes that are very easy on the ear...highlights for me personally are The Way You Look Tonight and Valentine's Day (the best track on the album). Buy this CD, you will not regret it...it will be the best few quid you have ever spent on an album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Heard some of the songs in the recent visit to Ronny Scotts. Curtis and his band were brilliant that night. The CD however is somewhat cold,,,,,too clean,,,, not enough density of sound for me. Also the overall content is too depressive, in spite of the title. shame as I don't think I will give it too many plays. Will still go and see him again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2016
Fabulous album. Curtis Stigers has such a mellow voice. Great selection of songs from the melancholy You Don't Know What Love Is to the more upbeat title track Hooray For Love and my favourite The Way You Look Tonight. Heard him sing many of these songs in concert and he was fabulous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

One More For The Road (Live)
£6.99
Real Emotional
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)