Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2016
In this useful little book, David Green, the Director of the think-tank Civitas, argues that the EU opposes the principles of democracy and self-determination. He points out that nobody can remove the EU Commission from power.

He points to the EU’s growing powers and authoritarianism. He shows how Cameron’s promises to restrict freedom of movement, repatriate powers and end the EU commitment to ever closer union are empty and doomed to failure. He cites Viviane Reding, vice-president of the EU executive and Justice Commissioner, who said, “Freedom of movement is non-negotiable as long as you are a member of the EU and the single market.”

Again, European Commission President José Manuel Barroso said, “What is difficult, or even impossible, is if we go for the exercise of repatriation of competences because that means revising the treaties and revision means unanimity.” And, “Our approach is not an ideological one. It is not about weakening the EU. It is not about giving up on integration or on ever closer union.”

Green shows that the EU is not about cooperation between nations to achieve peaceful relations. Instead, as he sums up, “the EU is a new form of imperialism.”

He notes that “Historically nations tended to be run by elites intent on expropriating wealth and power. Many countries still are. Democratic accountability under a liberal constitution has successfully contained the abuse of power in Britain and many other countries.” Many would doubt this success, given the City of London’s current expropriation of wealth and power.

His conclusion remains valid – to achieve democracy and sovereignty we must leave the EU and declare our independence.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
To listen to the debate about the EU these days you might think it all comes down to jobs and GDP. Quite apart from the fact that the UK would have a far more competitive economy outside the EU, however, there are greater considerations which we risk losing sight of at the moment.
That is why David Green's clear-sighted analysis is so valuable. He reminds us that whatever the economic advantages might or might not be, we must not let go of the democratic system we've developed over so many centuries. It may not be perfect, of course, but we do have a model which forces our politicians to always watch that they acting in the best interests of voters. The same cannot be said for the European Commission or the pork barrel politics of the Council of Ministers. (Labour's John Mills, in an introduction, makes the point too that it is this lack of democratic accountability which has led to a series of economic calamities by the EU, not least the euro.)
It is not a long book, but it compresses a huge amount of learning and distils powerfully why Britain cannot carry on down the EU path. Well written, tightly argued and very persuasive.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
If you want to know we should have nothing to with the gentlemen of the Brussels nomenklatura, read this. The EU is an employment bureau for the aspiring tyrants of Europe who would be derided bya democratic nation. It is the explanation of how the union works that we should have had with the Maastricht announcement. What they mean by union will keep you awake nights.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
Really worrying that our liberty and laws are slowly being erroded in the name of the EU project and closer political union. The EU has always been about setting up a European Super State and our politicians seem to be either oblivious or uncaring that our sovereignty is steadily melting away in favour of unelected beaurocrats in Brussels. Most of the UK public either seem to be blind, stupid or uncaring about what is happening. I am just glad I am of an age where I won't see this Big Brother state in being before I die.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
As you would expect from David Green, this book offers a well-argued case for the essential differences, with much emphasis on law, between 'Britain' and the EU. He really means between 'English' democracy and the EU, however, as Scotland and England have always had different legal systems, something which is not explained. Scottish law derives from Roman law, although Scotland was never part of the Roman empire, while English law derives from Anglo-Saxon customary law. Also, like many British Eurosceptics, Green passes quickly over the obvious fact that the UK is precisely the kind of state at the EU aspires to become, that is a Union state in which the individual nations are submerged. Since the devolution Acts from 1998, Scotland and Wales have surfaced, nationally, while England still lurks beneath, like a whale that no-one knows how to deal with. The 'free state' is a valuable concept but it requires an engaged citizenry to support it. Britain's current political system instead encourages only apathy. We have what Jack Straw called a 'representative dictatorship' and Graham Allen (Labour MP) calls 'executive sovereignty'. Allen calls for a 'revolt of the shires', that each county (or 'region' as he might prefer) should start taking back control from Westminster, making alliances as necessary with other local centres. Unfortunately, the English are no more impressed with local than they are with central government - because both prefer to starve the people of free democratic choices. In other words, we in England need to put our own house in order before pinning the blame for our troubles on the EU, and that means that Englands a national focus, its own Parliament or at the very least a 'parliament with Parliament' at Westminster.
22 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
A short book, but it's 5 chapters cover the history of our country in terms of what made us the way we are; essentially our unique Britishness. but also how we developed our laws and a fair and just society! The book goes on to show how this unique society is incompatible with the EU and its undemocratic processes. We can only take back our long won freedoms by leaving the EU. In the EU who guards the guards? Out of the EU the British people are able to guard the guards because we can elect a new government every 5 years!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
Well researched and quite revealing. It is clear that the issue is more than simply which option brings slightly more money. I can now see why the EU and British democracy will never mesh. Staying in the EU brings a price that cannot be measured in pounds. It requires massive destruction of all the things we hold dear. The benefits to a few large companies and wealthy individuals bring little or nothing to the rest of the population who will be expected to live with the consequences. A 'must read' before the referendum.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Found the book an excellent as an essay of what we have lost.Unfortunately I was conned in the 70's it was all lies ,and I don't think Cameron will give us a referendum in 2017 even if elected, so I will still vote UKIP
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
The small book traced a clear trail back in history, showing clearly the differentiation between British and European constitutional systems.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
"Everyone should read", the pros and Con's of the Common Market are a tad more complex and thought provoking that portrayed for proposed referendums. As we import more from EU than we export it is fair that our membership is more important to them than us and YES we should renegotiate to retain the essential democratic spirit that has always differentiated us from the rest.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse