Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 July 2016
While not quite providing me with the ending I had hoped for, City of Light maintains the high quality of this series and was an excellent read.

After having nearly lost his life dealing with just one Incarnation, Simon must now find a way to battle the other ten. On top of this, he has struggles inside Valinhall that he must deal with and all in all, our hero is forced to reach much further than he ever has before just to survive, let alone win.

Leah, already struggling in her new role as Damascan Queen, has the extra weight of dealing with a new Ragnarus Incarnation that threatens not just the life of her people, but her position as queen as well.

Meanwhile, Alin must struggle to keep hold of his own personality and nature while his new powers continue to develop.

Overall, all three story arcs are fast paced, action packed and intriguing, which is what I would have expected from them. Will Wight proves once again that he can write engaging, well-imagined fantasy, and he finishes off a strong trilogy of work leaving me wanting more, which is surely the goal of all good ongoing series (and thankfully there is more to come as the author's note at the end mentioned he will be returning to this universe).

So, I can happily recommend this final book and this series as a whole. It is a well-told trilogy with strong characters, an interesting magic system, and plenty of intrigue and action to keep the pages turning.

It's an easy 4 stars for this book, and 4.5 stars for the series as a whole.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
Like the title says, it follows on pretty much seamlessly from the previous book, but with no new surprises or twists.
It's perfectly good, for some light weight, by the numbers fantasy, but I think the idea was pretty much explored in the first two books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
This trilogy was really quite brilliant I loved every minute of reading this book and will be looking for more of will Wight books in the future
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
I really enjoyed this trilogy. I couldn't put them down until they were all read. Great storyline. Well worth it's five stars
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
I have now read the complete series and couldn't put this book down until I finished it.

The pace of the book and detail is good and the storyline is worth a read unlike some of the other fantasy novel series on Amazon in this price bracket that seem to put out a book every two months and have no idea where they are going after 10-12 books. This is a full story with an ending and plenty of scope for future expansion. I look forward to reading more by the same author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
This is valid for all three books of the trilogy:
Reads like a video game: develop your hero's skill by solving different tasks /rooms. Get objects to get more power. If hurt go to the healing pool. Kill more monsters / bosses. Grind on.
And like a proper video game more than half the time there are fights, fights that last whole chapters.
All in all, not enough story for me and too much repetition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
really really enjoyed this trilogy.ive already written a review for the first two books, but to recap, book one the house of blades was a good read, light, enjoyable and a good introduction to the world of the travelers gate and the main characters,the second book the crimson vault took it up another level, much more action and much more on the main characters, thefight scenes were fantastic and the scene was set for an all out war... Welcome City of light. if you like your fantasy epics full of battles wit and edge of your seat cliff hangers then the final installment will not disappoint, finished the book in one reading and i'll happily recommend it to anyone.make sure you read the first twobooks or you wont have a clue what happening in regards to the gate traveling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Not quite finished yet so may update...
It's a good follow on and we'll worth the read. I think the author has tried really hard to give the characters depth and substance by exploring their backgrounds and emotions, however sometimes this seems to slow the story progression and you end up thinking, "just get on with it".
I love the idea of the gates and territories though, pretty original. Would read more of these books (and may have to, there is a lot to finish in this book yet).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
Ok. This will not win any literary awards. But it has a well realised world and magic system, Will Wight is doing something different with the genre and it is damn good fun to read. A tale of how a young boy matures into a warrior, it avoids the cliches (he does not get the girl, and he does not go into battle alone at the end or make stupid decisions) and it is all the better for it. V readable and addictive. Please fix a few typos by the way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
If you liked the previous books you'll enjoy this one. Its still pretty superficial, both in terms of characterization and in terms of events, but if you got this far you'll be expecting that.

I did find that this book in particular shied away from anything dark, you'd get some pretty nasty events but the author kept them just off-screen and they never seemed to impact the main characters.

On the plus side things do come to a conclusion and its a very easy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse