Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2004
I first got the chance to watch this film in Media Studies and I must admit I approached it with much trepidation. My first thoughts were that it would be typical of the teen horror genre but Ginger Snaps is definately not! It combines the much-used 'teen slasher' genre with the age old monster movie to create a hybrid that keeps the suspense and interest flowing throughout!
The lesser known lead actors are perfectly cast in their roles as two misfit teen sisters with a fasicination for blood and death. You'll definately be on the edge of your seat as the film comes to it climatic, and shall we say, unexpected ending. Ginger Snaps is a rework of a formula that has provided us with entertainment for years and it's definately a rework that works. It didn't do too well in the US but I urge anyone considering to buy this film to give it chance, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
The Fitzgerald sisters are outcasts, bound together by a suicide pact. However, after a fateful encounter with a wolf one night, their friendship will be tested as the race begins to save Ginger and those around her.

Hard to write an unbiased review of this film as I've always had a soft spot for it. An interesting take on the Werewolf genre with puberty symbolism abound and some genuinely fun characters. Emily Perkins and Katherine Isabelle are fantastic and breeze through their roles.

The Scream Factory release is a bit of a mixed bag. Picture and sound are OK, an improvement over DVD and certainly welcomed. Where this disc falls short is the extras. A couple of documentaries which are nothing to shout about and the usual commentaries and trailers. For fans of the film it's worthwhile but I'm not sure how Scream Factory categorises their "Collectors Edition" as I'm always left wanting more.

Good film, average disc but certainly better than a barebones release!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2006
I began watching 'Ginger Snaps' because I'd been intrigued by the DVD cover over the years (sounded like an OK premise), and there it was on TV one night, so why not give it a go.
Imagine my surprise, those of you who aren't werewolf movie fans, when it started shaping up to be one of the most brilliant movies about adolescence I'd ever seen. Ginger (Katharine Isabelle) and Brigitte (Emily Perkins) are two eccentric and somewhat Gothic teenage sisters in some awful town in Canada whose hobby is to stage fake deaths of themselves. One night, two things happen to Ginger; she starts menstruating, and she's attacked in the presence of her sister by some kind of terrifying beast. (Not a lot of difference, some would say.) This whole metaphor (sexuality-as-lycanthropy) is then pursued with stunningly grim wit for the first seventy-odd minutes of the movie. The girls' parents (Mimi Rogers, excellent, and some guy I don't know, equally good but barely in it) are oblivious of the fact that their elder daughter is growing a tail and developing a fondness for eviscerating the neighbourhood dogs. And while Ginger is coming to terms with her new life as a werewolf, she's also suddenly interested in boys, and not in hanging out with her somewhat dorky younger sister. Brigitte has to start growing up quickly, if only in order to curb the alarming bloodlust of her increasingly vulpoid sibling.
So, up until then, it's completely brilliant. Then, in the last twenty minutes, it all (IMHO) falls apart. Instead of following the logic established so beautifully early on, it becomes about running away from a person in a rubber wolf costume. The wit, style and invention drops off, and Plot rules with its characteristically leaden hand. It's a damn shame, because the performances of Perkins, Isabelle and Lemke in particular are excellent, and Karen Walton's script (for that first two-thirds, anyway) is top-class. IMDB reports that Walton is currently adapting for film one of the best Canadian novels of recent years, Michael Turner's 'The Pornographer's Poem', so I'll be looking out for that.
I gather that they went on to make a sequel and a prequel. It could probably go on forever. I'd watch them, too, if only because of the charm of the main characters, two of the most touchingly foul-mouthed misfits ever to sulk their way into this viewer's heart. I wish this film had been around when I was a teenager. I would have understood a lot more about girls, if nothing else. I just wish it had been less of a werewolf movie.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2007
ok so what goes down?
well the film is about two sisters, who are depressed and are thinking about honouring their suicide pact they made when they were younger until one of them gets bitten by a werewolf and slowly but surely starts to change.
the other one then decides to try and fix the scenario as her sister starts to become more the beast and less her sister.
thats pretty much it. its good fun as it doesnt muck about to much...the scenes all fill a purpose there isnt much filler and the film moves along nicely.
the actin is pretty dammed good,the direction is snappy and the film looks fantastic. the script is very clever in its twisting of the lycan ideas and relating it teenage awakenings.
the girls look good..especially katherine isabelle and the boys similarly look handsome.
every box is ticked to make this film well worth a look!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 January 2007
Man this film rocks!! Generic ? Nah. This horror movie has some witty twists and turns that'll blow you away. Guaranted. GREAT 4:3 aspect ratio with almost unnoticeable vertical line distortions, sharp, bright picture with great definition ( especially noticeable during dark scenes), potent and dynamic sound in both 5.1 and 2.0 modes; this film is superbly edited and directed, and my copy sports a mind-numbing HOLOGRAPHIC cover that shows the transformation of the actress to a werewolf !!! Man this dvd is for show and keep, andd I actually use it to test TVs and players as my reference. A must have for any horror film fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My Thoughts: Ginger Snaps is a wonderfully written horror film with interesting characters and a great sense of sarcastic humour. As an independent horror goes, this was done pretty well, even with a limited budget and as for a werewolf movie, it has a good originality to it, making it slightly outside the norm of what we expect from a standard werewolf flick.

The dialogue is perfect and well paced for a teenage piece and the story uses less focus on romance and more focus on family relationships and the bond between sisters. A rather interesting theme the writer has here is that the stages of becoming a werewolf are parallelled to the stages of puberty, perhaps a subtle metaphor for puberty being able to turn an impressionable girl into an insatiable and uncontrollable monster. Some girls may find the thought offensive, some others may agree. Regardless, this is a great movie that every horror fan should watch at least once.

The Story: Sisters Brigitte and Ginger Fitzgerald are two sisters living in the suburbs of Bailey Downs, Brigitte, younger, quiet and highly intelligent is slightly in contrast to her outspoken, rude and darkly spirited sister Ginger. With the intent to prank class-mate Trina Sinclair after a fight at school, the two girls go out at night despite the danger of 'the Beast of Bailey Downs', an unseen force that is ripping the neighbourhood dogs to shreds. Their mistake of going out against their parents wishes costs them dearly when Ginger is mauled viciously by an unseen animal and the two manage to escape barely with Ginger alive.

Barely an hour later, Brigitte is horrified to find Ginger is already healing after having been mortally wounded to the near point of death. Regardless of Brigitte's concern, Ginger desperately pleads her sister to forget about the incident, not wanting their parents to find out. Forgetting about the incident is a bleak reality, when Ginger starts to grow strange hair from her wounds, her hair begins to streak with white and other frightening changes begin to occur leaving Brigitte with no other explanation than her sister may possibly be turning into a werewolf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Ginger Snaps is no doubt a cult classic which tells the story of two teenage sisters who are obsessed with death and have made a pact to die at the age of sixteen, however all of that changes when the older sister Ginger gets brutally attacked and bitten by a werewolf. During the next days the younger sister Brigitte starts to become suspicious and anxious of her sister's change in temperament and subsequently starts to have a thirst for blood which makes her kill local dogs and people. She also infects a jock after they have had sex. Brigitte turns for help to local doper and werewolf expert Sam. During the next 28 days hell breaks loose as Ginger starts to develop more and more into a creature of hell herself and the sister's relationship starts to break apart. All ends tragically when Brigitte has to kill Ginger who gradually becomes a full werewolf.

A new intruiging take on the werewolf subgenre. Superb perfomances by the two actresses Katharine Isabelle and Emily Perkins The supporting cast such as Kris Lemche does what he can with his perfomance as local drug dealer and herbist Sam but his character has not much to do which makes his character sort of useless. the same goes for the mother character played by Mimi Rogers whose comedic timing is kind of awkward. John Fawcett as director and co-writer of the film tells an incredible and original werewolf story with elements of puberty and teen angst which are blended fantastically well. special and make up effects might be a little poor , but this film was done in a low budget so credit needs to be given to the filmmakers who have made such a grand horror masterpiece.

One of the last best horror/werewolf films of the last decade and this film shows how Canadian cinema can produce such unique films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
Ginger Snaps has to be one of the most underrated horror movies in existence. Ginger Snaps uses the transformation into a werewolf as a metaphor for puberty. When Brigitte's sister Ginger gets attacked by a mysterious creature and starts to change into a werewolf, but all the adults around them think she is just experiencing puberty.

It has all the makings of an independent movie, the lack of CGI helps with that. But it's the absence of the flashy computer trickery that makes it so different to other horror movies from the past 10 years. It has more charm than other recent offerings from the horror genre, even in spite of the hundreds of obscenities uttered throughout the course of the film.

The make-up and prosthetics are extremely well done when considering the budget. The werewolf at the beginning is very convincing and the small changes to Ginger's face and body never look overly done or fake. In fact, Ginger looks a little scary and menacing in some later scenes.

Emily Perkins and Katharine Isabelle are both brilliant in their own ways as the sisters. Isabelle in particular shines as the titular character Ginger who's personality changes incredibly rapidly and throughout. The two play sisters so convincingly that it's a wonder why the two haven't scored more starring roles since the movie's release.

Although I'm yet to see the two sequels I'm pretty adamant that this would be hard to top. Congratulations to the makers on producing a decent, interesting horror movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2006
This is undoubtedly one of the best werewolf movies in recent times, and as it says on the tin it is a cult classic. There is enough gore for horror fans and i have to say that the obsession with death/suicide in the film disturbed me, particularly the opening credits. But this is still great stuff - only 4 stars because picture and special features not great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 December 2004
A couple of sisters (Emily Perkins, Katharine Isabelle) with vivid imagination are misunderstood. One gets bit by a "you know what" and the fun begins. Naturally her changing nature is mistaken for a different type of change in life.

All the elements are there:
Caring (haven't got a clue) parents.
Blond with nasty attitude antagonist.
Drug dealer that does werewolf studies on the side.
Lots of neighbors with tasty pets.
Occasional gratuitous sex scene (the camera breaks away before the sweaty parts.)
You get the idea.

Will a cure be found and they all live happily ever after?
Or is it curtains for the victims(s)?

The movie does have its unique way of mixing the standard elements to come out with the average "nipper" story.

The only social redeeming value is the sisters' fidelity.

This is the first in a series that gets worse before getting better.

Werewolf in a Girl's Dormitory
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)