Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2013
A good horror story, lots of blood and gore. I thought the film would have ended after disc one, but the second film was a good follow-on. I think the second film was much better in some ways than the first and this was the film I had seen some while ago. The third film of the trilogy was the best of all as it told you why it had all happened. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The only problem I had with this box set was getting it to play in English. Only one of my players (I have three) allowed me to get rid of the subtitles and foreign speech. So if your player doesn't have this facility, don't buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2015
one of the best vampire series of all times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Exactly what it says on the tin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
At the end of "Phases," the second season episode of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" where Willow discovers that her boyfriend Oz has become a werewolf. He thinks this is a major complication, but Willow replies: "Well, I like you. You're nice, and you're funny, and you don't smoke, and okay, werewolf but that's not all the time. I mean, three days out of the month I'M not much fun to be around either."
The relationship between lycanthropy and menstruation is explored for pretty much everything it is worth in "Ginger Snaps," a macabre hybrid of the horror and coming-of-age genres. The screenplay by Karen Walton has lots of bite, in both directions, and even when the ending goes all horror show, director John Fawcett manages to not lose the focus on all the levels this film is operating on. This might not be a great horror film, but it is certainly a memorable combination of gags and gagging.
The story is about too sisters who are bored to tears in their suburbian Ontario track development. Ginger Fitzgerald (Katharine Isabelle) is 16 and Brigitte (Emily), called "B," is 15, and for fun they stage and photograph tableaus of their own deaths. Their mother (Mimi Rogers) is concerned, not because of their fascination with death or their goth wardrobe but because neither girl has had her first period. The girls are social outcasts, which only strengthens the bond between them and it clear that all they can really count on in this world are each other, which is good. Because they are going to need that bond big time when the fur begins to fly.
That is because on the night of the full moon Ginger gets her first period and is attacked by a werewolf. Now she is growing hair and other interesting things, not to mention more and more irritable (the tagline for the film is, of course, "They Don't Call It The Curse For Nothing"). We are not sure how this story is going to play out except for one thing: Trina Sinclair (Danielle Hampton) is going down for her treatment of the Fitzgerald sisters (one teen queen should never take on two goth sisters, especially in any support involving sticks and hitting). The story also involves Sam (Kris Lemche), the good boy who is trying to help "B" find a cure for Ginger's problem and Jason McCardy (Jesse Moss) the bad boy who is introduced by Ginger to a whole new level of badness. Then there is mom, who provides her own twist as she starts to put the pieces (literally) together.
"Ginger Snaps" works best when it is exploiting the horrors of puberty through the lycanthropy metaphor and when the bond of sisterhood comes into play. It is not until we get to see a werewolf up close and personal that we realize how low-budget this film really is, but that is a small price to play for being witty and showing some flair (even if the title is a rather lame joke).
The "Ginger Snaps" DVD version is totally stripped down. You get the movie and the trailer. There are chapter stops but no list of scenes and no alternative languages. However, you do get most of the neat music that plays over the end credits while you look at your two options.
"Ginger Snaps" was enough of a cult hit to take the next step to horror movie trilogy. This involves both a sequel, "Ginger Snaps: Unleashed" (aka "Ginger Snaps: The Sequel" and "Ginger Snaps 2") and a prequel, "Ginger Snaps Back" (aka "Ginger Snaps 3," "Ginger Snaps III: The Beginning," and "Ginger Snaps: The Prequel," which finds Brigette and Ginger in 19th Century Canada having more werewolf fun.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2003
I have stayed up many nights watching many cult and sci-fi films hoping that I would find a half decent one. Ginger snaps is a film that I can relate to, being an unusual, rebellious teenager who is constantly being victimised and picked on by the entire studant body. Watching this film reminded me of myself and the situations I had been put it.
Ginger and her sister Bridget are two sisters who are obsessed with death and make film projects on the topic for school, their parents, to put it blankly are useless. Their father is too scared to take action against their rebellious bad ways an dtheir mother believes that children must learn from their mistakes, meaning that she lets them do whatever they want.
Ginger is attacked by a werewolf on the first night of her period, leaving Bridget to help fend off the beast and get Ginger home. Ginger becomes infected and starts growing a tail in, hair, fangs and she starts to kill people and animals. Ginger is extremely confident, whereas her younger sister Bridget lacks it greatly. Bridget would love to be her sister and will do anything for her, even die.
Sam a drug dealer falls for bridget and helps her find a 'cure' for Ginger. Sam and Bridget never get to reveal their feelings for each other as things with Ginger get out of hand when she becomes a full werewolf.
There is plenty of black humour mixed with violent events mostly perpertrated by Ginger herself and the script is very well written.
All in all this is one of the best movies I have ever seen in my life! and the music for the film is mysterious and gothic! and totally BRILLIANT
buy this movie!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2004
Beyond a doubt, my favourite werewolf movie, and a striking confirmation that 'teenage' horror can be graced by lean, character-led productions, good writing, and good acting, and not reduced to couch-potato indolence by Hollywood's fast-food diet of big budget, star-studied, slash and gore, titillating trivia. Do you get the impression I'm serious about this one?
"Ginger Snaps" takes the concept of the werewolf - a myth we have lived with since prehistory - and transforms it into a chilly tale of modern adolescence. It, at once, affirms teenage fears and plays upon them. Emily Perkins (Brigitte) and Katharine Isabelle (Ginger) are two teenage for whom puberty has been delayed, much to the consternation of their mother, who is constantly trying to feed them up on a healthy diet ... and checking their laundry for evidence that they've finally become women.
The sisters inhabit a world in which the intellect is numbed; the most terrifying demand made of teenagers is that they fit in. Outcasts - they are hated by their status-seeking classmates - the girls remain the closest of friends, darkly dressed, fashion-rejecting Goths united by a death pact and a fascination with the macabre, and haunted by the boredom and sterility of existence in the suburb of Bailey Downs.
On the night of Ginger's first period, the girls are attacked by a creature which has scented her blood. As they flee, it is knocked down and killed by a van. The girls escape ... but from now on, there's something not quite right with Ginger. Brigitte can see it, Brigitte works out what has happened, Brigitte sets out to save her sister, to find salvation not in religion, but in science and a drug remedy for the curse which has infected Ginger's blood.
This is sophisticated horror. Emily Perkins and Katharine Isabelle are magnificent in the lead roles: there is a tangible chemistry between them. Perkins creates a dark angst and torment, steeling herself to throw off her timidity and protect her sister; Isabelle exudes arrogance and an erotic cool, makes a seamless transition from social reject to sultrypredator.
The real horror of teenage years, of course, is boys and what happens naturally. How do you cope with it? How do you cope without it? How do you cope with relationships? Can you fit in with everyone else and avoid rejection, or are you forced out, left a terrified loner desperately trying to find friends and a role? Screenwriter Karen Walton uses the werewolf as metaphor for this. Her script has wit, and a feminist bite. Most teenage horror gives menstruation a wide berth - perhaps only 'Carrie' explores the issue with any consequence.
It is obviously a Canadian movie. This is not a put down. Anything but. Canadian cinema can often be counted upon to come up with something much more sophisticated than the Hollywood studios could tolerate ... or imagine. A low budget movie - Walton and director John Fawcett fought for years to get this made - it is yet proof that a good script and good acting are the vital ingredients in a memorable film.
This is a film about teenagers, but it is not a 'teenage' movie: I'm back to my harangue about so many teenage horror movies simply being devices for a load of scantily dressed celebrities and beautiful people to run around screaming, bleeding, and wise-cracking - it's a marketing device to get teenage bums on seats and into the Malls to buy the spin-off produce.
"Ginger Snaps" is a genuinely well-written and well-performed story. It works because it is character-led, because it addresses real human fears and worries seriously: you don't have to be a 15 year old to enjoy it. This is sophisticated, intelligent cinema. If there is a criticism, it is of the last 10-15 minutes of the production where it becomes an overtly 'horror' movie. Not that this seriously detracts from the overall enjoyment and impact of the film. It remains an honest, askew vision of teenage angst, adolescent sexuality, and human fears, and is also a sincere exploration of love, loyalty, and sisterhood.
The wit is savage, as razor-edged as a wolf's fangs. With puberty comes a superfluity of blood and hair growth. "Ginger Snaps" is a black comedy which uses the theme of transformation as something which happens to everyone - although this is a decidedly female perspective, we are left in no doubt that boys face puberty with as little knowledge and as much fear, despite the bravado. Adolescence is fraught with problems of relationships - finding friends, losing friends, facing the dangers that you might offend someone, do the wrong thing, wear the wrong thing, be isolated and excluded. For those who do feel left out, life is one long night of rejection, with nothing to do but howl at the moon and hope someone, someday will understand you and love you. Now that is real horror! For Fawcett and Walton the source of all human horror lies within the human body and human mind.
I say my only criticism is the last few minutes, when the monster appears? I'm still not entirely convinced this isn't a deliberate decision by Walton and Fawcett. This film has a very solid grounding in reality, having an almost documentary feel in places. If the real horror is within us, maybe creating a brief sense of unreality only drives the fears in deeper and makes the movie just a little bit scarier? In retrospect, the ending did leave me with a sense of disjunction which possibly heightened the film's emotional impact. Judge for yourself - I still rate this the best, the very best of the werewolf genre.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 April 2010
Ginger Snaps (2000)
Snappy acting

A couple of sisters (Emily Perkins, Katharine Isabelle) with vivid imagination are misunderstood. One gets bit by a "you know what" and the fun begins. Naturedly this is mistaken for a different type of change in life.

All the elements are there:
Caring (haven't got a clue) parents.
Blond with nasty attitude antagonist.
Drug dealer that does werewolf studies on the side.
Lots of neighbors with tasty pets.
Occasional gratuitous sex scene (the camera breaks away before the sweaty parts.)
You get the idea.

Will a cure be found and they all live happily ever after or is it curtains for the victims(s)?

The movie does have its unique way of mixing the standard elements to come out with the average "nipper" story. The only social redeeming value is the sisters' fidelity.
---------------------------------------------------------------
Ginger Snaps 2 Unleashed (2004)
Living off reputation of Ginger Snaps

The original "Ginger Saps" had a unique approach to biting and sisterly love. I will not go into detail incase you missed the original. I would also suggest you watch the original first.

This movie however is just a run of the mill standard blood and guts cliché. You have the common wierdies and the standard abuse, a few tasty and tasteless scenes. Lots of anticipation and a little action. The decease sister plays very minor parts with no direction. And "Ghost" Tatiana Maslany is practicing to be the new Patty McCormack ("The Bad Seed" 1956).

They even run the obligatory "stay in the car" scene to ground.

A third movie is made "Ginger Snaps Back" they get back on the track of two sisters. It is much better and looks like they threw some money and thought into it. You can skip "Ginger snaps Unleashed!" and it will have no impact on viewing "Ginger Snaps Back"

------------------------------------------------------------
Ginger Snaps Back - The Beginning (2004)
Beware the red and the black

Third time is the charm. This is the third movie "Ginger Snaps Back" in the ginger snaps series and in my opinion the best. The first "Ginger Snaps" of course always get the privilege of being unique as a different more caring wolfy sisters. The second "Ginger Snaps 2" however was nothing more than an exploitation film relying on the reputation of the first film.

They seem to have found more money for this prequel and took acting lessons as this film was beautiful and well organized. There were a few overdone "Blair Witch" type scenes but they did not distract form the over all feel. It was a bit darker but would have been impossible to make otherwise. You may also notice that they had to go out of their way to show the sisters periodically as the story and some of the other actors were acting rings around them.

During the early exploration of the continent (1815) a group of people built a fort on the edge of the known world. Through a series of misfortunes and events two sisters Bridget and Ginger are lead to the fort by a mysterious native. There they encounter some odd characters and something unspeakable howling outside the fort.

Is it safer inside or out side the fort?
What is seen in the future and must it come true?
Is the bond of sisters stronger than any adversity?

Werewolf in a Girl's Dormitory
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2006
Pretty good stuff. A bit of a teen-flick with plenty of claret splashed about. Two sisters, loners at school, are attacked by a werewolf; the elder (Ginger) is infected with 'werewolfitis'. She begins to change, and we get to see the effects of this from the younger sister's point of view. Whilst Ginger is busy growing a tail, devouring the local pet dogs and enjoying (newly acquired) attention from the lads at school, young sis is busy trying to find a cure and clearing up / hiding the evidence of her sisters 'problem'.

I enjoyed this a lot. A lot of BAD werewolf films have been made, and this is not one of them. I like the personal approach the film takes, and could not stop feeling sympathy for Ginger and her sister at the climax of the film. There is a lot of dark humour in the film and gallons of the red stuff, so be warned; not for the kids!

If you fancy a slightly different take on werewolfs mixing it with moody teenagers, check this out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2003
With the recent spate of 'Scream' clones, this film comes as a breath of fresh air - highly original and truly scary without the tongue in cheek note of it's current horror competitors.
The film is about 2 inseparable sisters who are considered 'freaks' by their classmates due to their preoccuptaion with death and are suffocated by their overbearing mother - their relationship changes when one of them - Ginger - gets bitten by a werewolf and we head into the territory of folklore and myth.
The young cast are exceptional, I particularly like Emily Perkins as Brigitte and Kris Lemche as Sam. And the special effects, whilst a little hit and miss, more often than not convince.
For anyone who enjoyed American Werewolf in London and The Howling - this is a must-see!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Creepy,entertaining and well done teen horror movie shame it's not well known
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)