Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 7 May 2017
I'm not sure how to review this one - as although I was very intrigued by the premise and blurb, I definitely did not feel that the story followed through quite as promisingly. But, Mud Vein was the first of Tarryn Fisher for me, I think, so I also don't want to claim judgement without reading more of her writings.

Mud Vein is an interesting novel though - avoiding as such the cliche love story boy meets girl, and promising something far darker - however I found the main female, Senna, very unlikeable for various reasons and think that that affected my attachment to the book as I was reading it - rather than holding my breath waiting to find out her ending, I was anticipating the finale which is unusual for me in itself.

Senna wakes up in a cabin, in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by cliffs of snow and can't even get out. She is alone - but not alone - there is someone from her past there, but why? And how? What does it all mean?

They have provisions; enough food and heat for a certain length of time, but who has put them there - and who knows the story of their past? What has the 'carousel room' got to do with it....

I don't really know what else to say. I would recommend reading just out of interest - and intend to go through all the other reviews now to see what has been said; am I alone in my reactions, or do other readers feel the same way. I just felt, I don't know ... Senna's reactions to what had happened should have been far more mentally disturbing (how would you react?) and then the ending - the reveal of the Zookeeper.... it just, left me feeling a little lacking.

but, as I said above, I will definitely be checking out more of Tarryn's books to see if those catch my attention better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2014
Mud Vein by Tarryn Fisher
5 stars!!

“It’s your darkness that pulls me in. Your mud vein. But sometimes having a mud vein will kill you.”

I really do not know where to start with this review. This is one book that was hard to read and is going to be extremely hard to review. With Tarryn Fisher you always know to expect the unexpected and this book is no different. While personally I didn’t like the ending it is what I have come to expect and I can see why Tarryn chose to end it that way, you know that with Tarryn at the other end of the keyboard it will never be what you think or want. One thing that you cannot deny though is that this book is flawlessly written, it will have you captivated from the start and will have you second guessing, third guessing and eternally guessing who the captor is, but such is the genius in the way it is written I bet you will be wrong time and time again. I for one never guessed and I watch a lot of crime type programmes and thought I would have seen through the plot, but alas no, I was wrong, each and every time.

If you are going into this thinking that this is a dark and erotic book then think again, I would say more of a dark, psychological thriller…more like a horror film and definitely not a romance. Actually, I think that this would make a great film, one that I would definitely watch. You are kept on the edge of your seat at all times, never knowing what is around the corner and it is that constant state of suspense that keeps you hanging and turning the pages. The words truly draw you in and you feel their fear, you feel their hunger, you feel their mental torture, you just FEEL and I love a book that makes me FEEL.

The blurb gives nothing away, only the beginning of the book. Senna wakes one morning with what she thinks is the mother of all hangovers, after all she was out celebrating her birthday. She soon realises she has no idea where she is and automatically thinks she has woken up in a strangers bed. She soon realises that she wishes that is what had happened but in reality her nightmare was truly beginning. She was caged in a totally desolate house surrounded by snow and an electrified fence, there was some food but there was also someone else…someone from her past…but why were they here? Why were they together? Where were they? Who had done this to them? And more importantly how were they going to escape this hell hole?

Totally and utterly isolated and while not knowing who to trust, these two have to work together to survive. It is obvious they have history but we are not let in on why or how until the book flashes back to the past. Slowly but surely their back story is seeped out and you begin to understand, their pasts are painful, can that all be put aside in the name of survival?

Senna is a novelist, so in a way she is used to her own company but she really has had a s*** life. She has never conformed, never fit in, she can come across as aggressive and this has led to a solitary, lonely existence. She is dealt blow after blow and you begin to wonder if any sane person would be able to cope. There are people that are willing to help, friendships to be made, but Senna keeps them all at arm’s length, she refuses to let anyone in no matter how hard they try or persevere. Sometimes I just wanted to jump into the kindle and slap her about a bit, I wanted her to believe in herself, believe in the intentions of others, see people for who they were and what they wanted to be, but she was so damn stubborn. She would rather have been a recluse than believe that there was a happy ever after for her, waiting for her, she wouldn’t let anyone penetrate her broken mind or heart and it broke my heart, badly!!

“The more people you let in, the more bad you let in.”

“You’ve been silent your whole life. You were silent when we met, silent when you suffered. Silent when life kept hitting you. I was like that too, a little. But not like you. You are a stillness…Your silence, Senna, I hear it so loudly.”

Flitting from past to present this book puts you through the wringer both mentally and emotionally. I was so absorbed, I felt their isolation, I lived through it and it does end up haunting you. I was thinking about this book for days. You find yourself imagining it was you in their predicament, I was forever thinking, and what would I do? The monotony, the quiet, the hunger, the lack of trust, the constant state of being scared and frightened, it has you on the edge and as much as I wanted to read about the past I couldn’t wait for the book to switch back to the present.

This is definitely a book you know you have read, but I do feel it is what I call a “marmite” book; you will either love it or hate it. If you love that suspenseful, thriller type book, you will LOVE this book. If you appreciate flawless, genius writing, you will LOVE this book. If you want your head screwed with, you will LOVE this book.

“The truth is for the mind”
“Lies are for the heart. So let’s just keep lying.”

Once again, I have to admit that Tarryn is a genius; she obviously has a “dark side” that has been put out there for all to see. I hope, like me you appreciate this book for what it is…a masterfully written, total and utter mind ****. It is highly addictive and once again I will say this needs to be made into a film. I can totally see this on the big screen.

“Every time you want to remember what love feels like, you look for me.”

Amazing job Tarryn!

[...]
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2014
Well this book was recommended to me within a book club I belong to on Facebook. I have not read anything else by Tarryn Fisher and went into this blind. At first it moved rather slowly for me, but within a few chapters, I was totally hooked! I found that I was zoned out to this book until I finished it. Although I didn't finish in one sitting, due to starting it at a stupid hour, I was done in two days as it just gripped me and I couldn't put it down.
So, how to describe Mud Vein??!! Well it's not a love story, or is it??
Initially Senna displays no feelings and therefore I displayed no feelings whilst reading it. Which I thought was kinda weird as I usually cry.....at a lot of things, but I actually felt at some points I was in Senna's headspace and reacting how she was!!! However towards the end I was actually feeling despair!! So emotional and so sad that I sobbed like a baby!! So for me that is amazing writing!!!
It is also one of those stories that flips from present to past and back to present time again which for me just keeps it refreshing and interesting and me on the seat of my pants as to what's coming next. This story also makes you think!
It's not all love and mush and easy reading, no! This story grabs you by the balls and takes you on a roller coaster of a ride!! This story is not for the faint hearted. It is dark and twisted and truly heartbreaking.
I absolutely loved the female lead, Senna! For all that she goes through, in her own way she remains strong and stubborn. I also loved the male lead too, Isaac. He was just wonderful and a doctor!!!! With just a hint of bad boy, but it's his display of unconditional love that just leaves you breathless! Sigh!
Mud Vein is a gem of a read however it truly did break my heart and unlike other stories, it didn't put it back together again, therefore I am suffering a pretty bad book hangover!!

So in conclusion I loved this book even though it shredded me and I am so thankful that I have found my soul mate.

5 STARS Brilliant xxx
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2016
"Voices have been, and always will be to afraid to speak with as much volume as a book. That's why authors write - to say things loudly with ink."

The main character in this book, Senna, is an author and it's her discussing writing in the above quote. This book really does say things loudly and the overall quality of Tarryn's writing is exceptional.

I really wanted to give the book 5*. I was intrigued and impressed by the writing, but at one point I couldn't believe what happened with the plot. Part of it seemed like it wasn't given as much thought as the rest of the story and left me feeling rather disappointed. Hence giving 4*.

On the whole though the book is well written and the two main characters (Senna and Isaac) are engaging and their relationship complex. You should listen to the song that Isaac puts on CD for Senna too, as it adds something else to the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2017
I honestly can say without a shadow of a doubt don't ever stop writing Tarryn Fisher. I am in awe of her ability to have me hook line and sinker every time I read her books. I absolutely loved the way she can write something so deep but it manages to resonate with you in a way you didn't think possible. I don't believe is spoilers so do yourselves a favour and read this book, see for yourself the power of Tarryn Fishers writing,the real slim shady. Then go and read her other books too believe me you will not be disappointed, her writing will grab you in a tight vice until the very last word.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2014
I believe in soul mates!

Tarryn Fisher is one of my go to authors without even reading the synopsis.

This book is so complex and emotional that I feel I can only write a few lines in my review. I find that I'm speechless in a lot of ways.
Tarryn without a doubt deserves great success because of the brilliant way she portrayed this story, her research must have been in abundance, her intellect is to be in awe of and she is a true writing genius.

I found I went so deep into the thoughts of these characters every time I picked this up and I got lost. I loved it and 'I got it'. I really felt deeply what Tarryn was writing about and it was excellent. It certainly won't be to everyone's liking but if you like dark and gritty, mind baffling and suspenseful then this is a must read. If you want a feel good book then it's not for you.

Strangely enough though, this book made me feel good.

I believe in soul mates!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2014
Sometimes, I get to the end of a book and I think I could have written something as good if not better than that.

I got to the end of Mud Vein and thought never in a million , trillion years could I write something as heart breakingly lyrical as that. The plot had the hairs all over my body stood on end from beginning to end.

If you only read romance that gives you a warm and snugly happy ever after, this book is not for you. If, on the other hand you are prepared for your world to shift on its axis grab it and devour!

Outstanding! Bravo to Tarryn Fisher.

" Birds are the only things that grow wings. We're just left to muck through the mire like a bunch of emotional cavemen."

" To find that person, to find your soul piece, or your great love, we must count on our paths diverging, the tangling of lives, the soft whispering of one soul recognizing another."

" Love is a possession,; it's something that you own from the layers of people in your life. But if my life were a cake it would be un-layered, unbaked, missing ingredients."

I wept buckets and have a new found fear of carousels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2014
I finished this book some time ago and I am still at a loss for what to say really. The book has a unique story line so if you are looking for something different this one is for you. I found it a little slow to start but it was so well written I stuck with it and then once it started, it started, with a bang and when I finished it I thought about it for days. It's a dark storyline that keeps you guessing from the outset right to the very end. Its a twisted and bizarre plot line but so worth the read.

I loved the way the relationship between the characters played out and even once I finished the book I was still left wondering Infact I wanted to smash my kindle when I finished it, however I think I liked the fact it wasn't a happy ever after ... I think !!

The book seems to have mixed reviews and I read it purely because I loved the love me with lies series I think it's worth the read just for who beautifully written it is even if you don't like the outcome. Such a talented and beautiful writer hats off to her !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2014
Judging by the reviews, this book is a bit like Marmite – you’ll either love it or hate it. I LOVED IT!!

As I read it, it played out like a film in my mind’s eye. Senna is a deeply troubled girl who likes to keep things simple, controlled and regulated. Isaac is her quiet saviour.

I loved how this story unfolded with snippets of the past to try and make sense of what is happening in the present. This is an emotional, sometimes painful and despairing read, with glimmers of happiness but, ultimately, there’s acceptance. I can’t describe this novel as ‘enjoyable’. It is more like an experience. Compelling, spellbinding and deeply psychological. I feel like I need to read it again - something I rarely do - to look for the clues properly. It would make an awesome film with the right director. A definite read for those who are looking for an unconventional love story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2016
A good mind bending, twisted read. Full of disturbingly creepy elements of rape and kidnap. It turns into a full on who done it or more who did it, trying to work out who is behind Senna's nightmare situation or could it all be a figment of her weirdly crazy imagination. Reading this book, getting along nicely and then bam, it was like hitting a brick wall I was not expecting and then bam another bid brick wall. And to think that was bad, it gets much, much worse.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here