Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
66
4.5 out of 5 stars
Octonauts Gup-O and Dashi
Price:£12.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 4 August 2017
Both of my children love playing with this in the bath years later and the oldest one says she's too old. It's lasted amazingly having been submerged every night and I see many more years in its future. Excellent toy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2017
Hours of fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
Great as decribed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
Very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
Decent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 August 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I'm usually wary of licensed products but this is Fisher Price (on Cbeebies but not a BBC branded product) and is well made. Interestingly I'll start with the packaging as for once, the ties used to secure to the open display box are not wire and are very easy to remove once pulled under the cardboard tags inside, a plus for an excited child!

On land, the Gup-O trundles along quite nicely, nothing too clever but in the bath, with a flick of the fin, suckers come out from beneath and the Gup-O can be stuck on smooth tiles, bath sides or even the bottom.

The separate baby orca toy sinks to the bottom rather than floats and the character and her helmet are easy for a small (3+) hand to work with. Dashi sits in the cockpit and can be secured via a small hole in he back but this is a little too fiddly.

In the bath, the Gup-O neither sinks or floats however, more of a sideways list - it's not advertised as anything other than sticking so more of an observation! No propulsion in the water either, just a child's imagination.

Good fun, nice and chunky and well constructed, not a floating bath toy but fun in and out of the bath.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 August 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a wonderful addition to our Octonauts family - we have the Gup D, the Octobuggy, Barnacles On-the-Go Pod and the Deep Sea Octo-lab and this latest addition is already a firm favourite with my Octonauts fans!

Like the Gup D, the Gup O (presumably O for Orca) can be used as a toy anywhere in the house - including in the bathtub and this makes it double the fun. The fact that can be "parked on the side of the bathtub or the tiles on the side of the bath is a real hit with my children and it is as simple as 8 mini suckers on the bottom of the Gup, which can be clicked down using the dorsal fin or clicked again when you want to retract them and go back to moving it around and flapping its tail.

Dashi is lovely in her purple Octosuit and well made like all of the series of Octonaut figures in the series made by Fisher Price and the addition of the removable helmet and you also get a little all-black orca to add to the fun.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The small human who playtested this found it to be 'quite good'. This was followed by a 'but...'. Basically the problem is that figure(s) do not stay in the 'vehicle' and so keep falling out, particularly in the bath (which for a marine rescue service is not exactly impressive). A good thing is the suction cups that hold it to the sides of the bath, much fun is to be had pouring water on it to make to fall off. Cleaning is a bit of a chore after bathtime, you have to stuff a towel in to get it all dry. The price of £17+ seems very high, £10 would be more reasonable considering it's size and lack of 'exciting' functions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 August 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My three year old daughter loves Octonauts and has most of the Fisher Price toys - not least because I also enjoy Octonauts and am quite fond of playing with the toys!

My main criticism of this Gup is that the figures do not properly fit into the cockpit - this is a bit of a problem with most Gups, but is particularly evident with this one. Basically, Captain Barnacles doesn't fit at all while Dashi and others fall out as soon as you start playing.

Also, as my daughter tends to act-out stories from the books and programme, she doesn't play with this one as much as the other Gups since it barely features (I haven't found an single episode with it in!).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 12 September 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a simple toy for toddlers but isn't a complete success. It is not really waterproof, so though it can be used at bath time, it can't really be used in the bath. Construction is a bit plasticky and there are some small pieces so be careful there with a young child. There is a mechanism underneath that allows you to alternate between suckers (to stick on a wall) and wheels (to run across a hard floor) but the mechanism is flakey and often sticks half way (and feels that it will break if you force it), meaning that is does neither one things or the other well. It needs some re-designing, I think
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)