Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
55


VINE VOICEon 28 October 2014
The BBC has so much material in their vaults that it does beggar belief at times just how long some of it takes to re-surface....but thank your lucky, lucky stars that they do...and in this 3 CD / 1 DVD box set are some glorious performances from Bill and the band along with some rather dubious ones.....but, at the end of the day, that's what makes/breaks a live set!
The first album from '74 holds some good early performances but also includes some rather dodgy (and way off key) keyboard moments, but, as in the saying "The Show Must Go On", Bill and the boys are completely unfazed and go on to complete the number irrespective! But it's the second and third albums that produce (for me) what BeBop Deluxe were all about - rocking, intelligent music presented by a powerful and well polished band at the height of their powers - and listening (and watching) all here, I still fail to understand why the band did not go onto the dizzy heights...but then, that's rock n' roll I guess.
All of the favourites are here and in the third album we see the stripping away of the more formal rock arrangements and the progression towards more electronic music from the Drastic Plastic era....brilliant stuff....and worth every penny (even though I did hang on until this came up cheap... :) )
A must for any avid collector of great 70's rock music!!
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2013
Having been a fan of both Be Bop and Bill Nelson for more years than I can count, this was a very necessary set for me to buy! And I was not disappointed. The recordings are first rate, sound quality is excellent. The song selection is also very nice, lots of the hits are here. The DVD that is included is also excellent as it has a lot of footage of the band from Old Grey Whistle Test and them actually performing live and not lip syncing. Also by buying from the Amazon UK site, I saved about $20.00 from what Amazon US was charging! If you are a fan you will not be disappointed!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2015
Talk about having a stupid grin on my face - I haven't heard this music since my late 'teens (a very long time ago), and it's a great pleasure to make its re-acquaintence. Futurist Manifesto is a worthy retrospective of one of the UK's great undervalued bands, not to mention its' leader, Bill Nelson. Founded on Nelson's endlessly inventive, fluid and stunning guitar playing, Be Bop were always a tight band - and they really make his songs shine. But this is beyond mere nostalgia - this music has vaulting ambition that calls early Bowie and Jimi Hendrix to mind. Bill Nelson was one our greatest guitarists, and like his other great contemporary Steve Hillage, both men later put down their guitars to explore other musical paths - presumably feeling constrained by the burden of guitar-hero status. This set has all the 2004 remastered Be Bop albums plus plenty of extras from the archives - if you just want the albums, just get the Original Album Series, which replicate the original record sleeves (though sadly not the gatefolds). At this small amount of money, I got both. A great band that cries out for re-discovery - or if you weren't around at the time, discovery. Modern Music indeed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2013
As someone who began to listen to Be Bop Deluxe a few years after they played their last shows, I have enjoyed listening to this box set and watching the DVD. It compensates for not having been old enough and I am pleased this has now filled in certain gaps in my knowledge about them. At the price it is a good place to begin if you want a compilation and the presentation of the box lends itself to the futuristic nature of their act... it's what the jewel case was made for...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2016
the only problem i have is that when these older sessions are recorded for cd release they tend to sound a bit to clean and and tinkered with by the sound people,i prefer just the raw sound as it was at the time,just my preference though as i would take live over studio everytime
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2013
great value for money box set , but alas no booklet, and where is the john peel session from 10-2-76, which is on the tramcar to tomorrow cd , odd omission.
still, be bop will always have 5* in my book
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2015
Wanted to find "Lovers Are Mortal" from the "Sight and Sound" concert for YEARS (I taped it from the radio when it was broadcast - but it doesn't exactly sound like Hi-Fi any more). Finally... after waiting 36 plus years, it's been released. DELIGHTED!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2016
Be-bop Deluxe, Brilliant! Very underrated band should have been massive in the 70s, I would put Bill Nelson up with the best guitarists, superb set of CDs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2013
AMAZING, FANTASTIC RECORDINGS AND A GREAT DVD TO GO WITH IT, I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR YEARS FOR A BBD BBC SET TO OFFICIALLY COME OUT AND IM GLAD IT DID, ALSO THE DVD IS GREAT TO!!!!!!!!!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2015
Brilliant compelation of Be Bop Deluxe at the Beeb. Bill Nelson is so underated. Brilliant guitarist in a fantastic band. Should really have been much bigger and deserved more success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Axe Victim
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)