Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
109
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£12.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2013
Patton was released on blu-ray in the US around 5 years ago. The disc received huge criticism from internet reviewers for it's waxy faces, excessive noise reduction, unnatural look and total absence of grain. Fox in the US took this on board and remastered it last year to the approval of just about everybody who saw it, who saw huge improvements with a natural, film-like appearance. When the film was announced for a UK release in 2013, I naturally assumed that we would get the new version, why would Fox issue a discredited 5 year old master of the film when it has a new universally praised version available?

I was wrong, this is the old version, which Fox in the US saw fit to remaster and reissue, but we in the UK are apparently not worthy of viewing the fixed version. Frankly this is disgusting by Fox, who seem to think it's OK to knowingly release inferior product. Avoid this disc. Unfortunately, the corrected US version is coded Region A only, so must of us won't be able to view it, so I suggest anyone interested in getting the best available release of this film gets in touch with Fox directly and gives them a bit of good honest feedback about this release.

It's a terrific film, but Fox's shabby behaviour means this is a one star product.
1010 comments| 109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 1 January 2003
"Patton", is massive by any measure. Number of Academy Awards won, 8, inclusive of best picture and best actor, the man chronicled, General George Patton, the World War that is documented in the film, the cinematic scope of 150 degrees the view takes in, or the sheer size of the numbers of persons and material that was put on the screen. Winning 8 Academy Awards while The United States was torn by the ongoing Vietnam War was no small feat for this film that documents one of the larger than life participants in that human conflict, one of the great warriors of the 20th Century, or of many other centuries depending on your view of the man. His was a towering personality and every event, every decision matched his ego, with the result that he was wildly successful, a man given to horrendous missteps, and either loved, feared, or hated. The bottom line was that if you were fighting you wanted Patton fighting for you, not against you.
One of the reasons this film was not narrowly defined as a war film was that it was about this one man. It is true there are classic war sequences as when he nearly yells, "Rommel you magnificent.........I read your book". But the film really is about a personality, and one that was rapidly falling out of favor when generals were no longer needed as warriors, when they were becoming diplomats, and in some cases planning a run for high political office as the war ended. Patton's ideas about continuing the war with the Russians may seem simplistic, but his attitude, one that was contemplated by other noted and respected men at the time, provides one of the greatest counter-factual discussions for historians, specifically what if we had not treated the Russians with the deference that we did, what if Churchill's party was not removed from office, what type of peace would then have emerged, and from it, what type of post WWII world?
Like the books that have profiled the man, the film is also comparatively massive at just a bit under three hours in length. With rare exception, contemporary films now hardly ever contemplate such a running time, for it means too few turns of the audience in a given theater. The fact is, that the films just are not as worthwhile, for when they are, people will happily sit through them and be oblivious as to there length. One only has to look at the newest installment of, "The Twin Towers", to see that a 3 hour film fills as many theaters as it is allowed to play in, and is breaking and making new records as the days pass. Hollywood geniuses take note, quality is still not only appreciated, it is recognized, the dumbing down of films is done in Hollywood by those that create the mediocre movies, it's not indicative of what film fans are desirous of seeing.
George C. Scott was a remarkable actor, and while not defined by any single film or stage performance, "Patton", was certainly a role that generally followed closely with a discussion of this actor's career. It sounds like the worst cliché, but when on screen, the man becomes Patton, as I suppose most performances that are truly special, and are still in demand 33 years after they are made all are.
I recently watched, "A Bridge Too Far", another filmmaking epic that was more of an ensemble film as opposed to a star vehicle like, "Patton". It was made in 1977, seven years after, "Patton", and by comparison the film looked terrible. The DVD I watched was re-mastered via THX, and the picture and sound that resulted were excellent, and makes the same treatment for films like, "A Bridge Too Far", imperative. Any film that people still are willing to pay for and watch that is in its fourth decade of existence benefits enormously from improving the picture and the sound via THX and other technologies. "Patton", takes advantage of this technology, and other studios should take note, and make the investment in other films that have firmly established themselves as classics.
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
You don't need to be an American to enjoy this incredible portrayal of a larger than life, stranger than fiction biopic of a WW2 General aspiring for greatness whilst leaving a wake of controversy for his leaders to deal with. I'm not going to go into the plot because that is not what's important here, George C. Scott is what's important here in what's easily one of the greatest lead actor performances that I have ever seen. Scott is mesmerising and so I will say buy this just for that.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
This version of the Patton DVD (1970), PAL region 2, that is, only for viewing in Europe, has been vandalized by lewd language and wholly made up language in the subtitles (English for the hard of hearing). It is amazing that such a version could be sold! As I have written in my review on IMDB.com under the headline "Subtitles", the English for the hard of hearing subtitling that I chose to use when I watched my DVD has wholly made up phrases that are not actually being said by the actors. Example:(about 1 hour, 1 minute, 30 seconds, Sicily landings)"Hier landet Patton mit seiner Siebten Armée am Strand von Gela" becomes something like "Here's the gangster Patton ...." in the English subtitling! Example:(about 46 minutes, Patton's tank army crushes Rommel's ditto in North Africa): a soldier (Jenson) in the movie says "I cannot reach General Bradley on the phone", but it becomes "I cannot raise G. B. ....." in the English subtitling! Magnifying glasses should be used to find and weed out such lewd and made up subtitling in a new version of the DVD. This DVD, PAL region 2 version for Europe, has simply been vandalized. I will keep the DVD that I bough, so I can have it for cinematographic purposes as an example of a very good movie having a very bad technical quality to the point of vandalizing it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
It is really difficult to review this as a "film." Because I have long felt (since the days of VHS) that George C. Scott's portrayal of "Patton" is the finest screen portrayal there has ever been in the history of the cinema ! It is quite breathtaking; I suppose Peter O'Toole's "Lawrence of Arabia" is the next best. Yes, O.K., the film overall is not that great and Karl Madden is totally miscast. But it is all about George C. Scott and he is a "Tour de Force."
There is no other reason for watching the film. It is a modern classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In considering Scott's performance in this brilliant film I was put in mind of Cassius's words regarding Caesar, whom he describes as bestriding `this world like a colossus'. That might be seen as something of an exaggeration but for the fact that he features in virtually every scene. Similarly, though principally by his admirers, the same might be said about the eponymous general whom Scott embodies as though born to play this one role alone. In a remarkably nuanced performance, given the characteristics of the man he plays, Scott allows the more sensitive side of Patton's character to appear from time to time and even, though for the briefest of moments, elements of self-doubt and self-recrimination as, for example, he is informed of the plight of American troops landing amphibiously during the battle for Messina or kissing the forehead of an American captain following a ten hour vicious encounter with a German armoured column during the Battle of the Bulge.

However, central to all that happens for the last two thirds of the film is the infamous `slapping' incident following which, on Eisenhower's order, Patton has to apologize to the assembled `offendees' including the doctors and nurses, in addition to the slapped soldier, but still manages to accuse the latter of cowardice in so doing! He certainly had a way with words but not one best geared to achieve his ultimate purpose, which was to occupy a pivotal role in the upcoming thrust into Nazi Germany. In fact he is relieved of his command of the 7th Army (Western Task Force, Operation Husky) and has to make do with being merely a decoy back in England to fool the Nazi high command into thinking he was preparing to lead the assault on mainland Europe via the Pas de Calais.

Eventually, after more or less being on his `best behaviour', Patton is given command of 3rd Army, who play a supportive role in Northern France following Operation Overlord, while Omar Bradley (played by Karl Malden) is given command of 12th Army Group. One can only wonder, in terms of shortening the war, what might have transpired had Patton kept his mouth shut, his hands to himself and their roles been reversed.

The film doesn't seek to mitigate any of Patton's `transgressions' and Scott's towering performance shows Patton in all his belligerent glory. He receives excellent support from Malden in the other major role and, to a somewhat lesser extent, Michael Bates, as Monty. But what the film does do is to convey, unambiguously, Patton's sense of personal destiny as if he'd been born for this moment in history: a trait he almost certainly shared with Churchill.

The combat scenes are handled magnificently and the viewer gets a real feel for the sweep and scope of battle with men and machines being manipulated by both sides like pieces on a chessboard. Added to this is the gloriously (now) iconic score by Jerry Goldsmith. All in all an epic war film that, by the end, leaves one with the feeling; `they don't make `em like this anymore'!
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
Ever controversial, but ever successful in Battle - that sums up General Patton. He never shrank from controversy, and was always bold and outspoken in his Life. The film does do justice to the overview of the man, but it cannot - even in its extended length - put across the whole story of a distinguished General.

His life and Military Roles are well described in a paperback called "General Patton:A Soldiers Life", which fills in the gaps in this film of a remarkable story. His effect on the Allied Command, and results in battle, were so broad and deep that no film would ever have the time to portray all of the story, but this attempt is a good one which should wet the appetite to go get the Paperback.

Sadly his fiery temperament was his downfall in the end after the War, but even that didn't detract from his place in History - you could argue it enhanced it. You might hate the fiery temperament of the man, but its very hard to detract from the abilities of Patton the General ..... unless your hatred of the man leads you into looking utterly stupid, by attacking Patton the General.

We all should be so lucky to leave such a legacy and place in history when we finally make the final journey after death.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
Seen this film when i was 8 years old when it was just released, left an lasting impression on me, i kind of modelled a bit of my personality on Patton, thankfully seen the light and model myself on Jesus Christ, thou brilliant film, well acted and still not outdated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2001
An enthralling account of part of the life of one of the Second World War's more colourful characters. Combining excellent battle scenes with a personal insight into Patton's psyche, this film is a must see for those with an interest in this period of history. George C Scott's portrayal of Patton is superb, and it is encouraging to see that the screenwriters have not substituted historical accuracy for artistic licence as is so often the case.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2005
Although sometimes a bit economical with the order in which certain events took place, the whole film captures the personality and dedication of Gerge S Patton very well. Some stunning photography, and the brilliant acting by Gerge C Scott add to a film that you cannot help watching over and over again, even after all these decades.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)