Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
94
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£14.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2011
Seth Brundle (Jeff Goldblum) meets Veronica Quaife (Geena Davis) at a party, he's a brilliant scientist and she's a journalist. Seth tells Veronica about something he's working on that would "change the world as we know it", convinced by this she goes back to Seth's apartment/lab to see his invention. Once inside Veronica is shown two "designer phone booth" looking objects, Seth then teleports Veronica's tights from one telepod to the other. Skeptical at first, she soon realises that Seth has discovered a new way of travelling that could make all other forms of transportation a thing of the past. The pods are only able to transport inanimate objects, so Seth and Veronica come to an agreement that she will document him as he works on the project, so that living tissue can pass between pods. During the documentation, Seth and Veronica fall in love, much to the annoyance of Veronica's former boyfriend and editor, Stathis Borans (John Getz). One night after finally perfecting transporting living tissue between pods, he and Veronica are celebrating when she has to leave to stop the jealous Stathis from printing the story early. A drunk Seth starts thinking that maybe Veronica and Stathis were working together to get the story, so he decides to go through the pod himself. Unfortunately for Seth, a housefly got into the pod and his DNA is spliced together with the fly's. The movie then follows Seth as his body begins to turn into a six foot fly, and the relationship between Seth and Veronica who love each other deeply but are horrified by his appearance.

The acting by Goldblum, Davis and Getz is fantastic, I don't think any of the three have ever given better performances. When director David Cronenberg announced that he wanted to cast Jeff Goldblum, he was told Goldblum wasn't a bankable star but he insisted that he gets the part. Geena Davis was Jeff Goldblum's girlfriend at the time, it was Goldblum who suggested Davis for the role which was also met with quite a bit of opposition until Davis gave an outstanding reading. Cronenberg himself turned down making The Fly because he was supposed to be filming Total Recall, Robert Bierman was then set to direct until a tragic accident led to the death of his daughter. The film was put on hold but Bierman later decided that the material was too dark and he still wasn't ready to make the film, by this point Cronenberg had left Total Recall and was free to direct. Along with Videodrome, The Fly is in my opinion Cronenberg's best work. I am a fan of his earlier movies such as Rabid, Shivers, The Brood, Scanners, The Dead Zone, Dead Ringers and Naked Lunch. I'm also a big fan of his more recent drama movies, Spider, A History Of Violence and Eastern Promises, but none of those have intrigued me as much as The Fly. Cronenberg who is a decent actor whose performance I really enjoyed in Nightbreed, has a small cameo as a Gynecologist.

As good as the acting and directing is, this is the sort of film that would fall apart if the effects weren't top notch. Thankfully the make up effects are outstanding and the giant fly puppets towards the end of the movie hold up really well. It took Jeff Goldblum five hours to have the make up applied, it's brilliantly grotesque and would probably be done today with CGI which would have lost the human inside feel that we have here. The Fly isn't particularly gory but it is gruesome, such as when Seth's ears, teeth and nails fall out and when he has to vomit on food so it can be digested. The Fly is also one of only four horror remakes that I consider to be superior to the original along with The Thing, The Blob and Invasion Of The Body Snatchers which also starred Jeff Goldblum. The original is a very decent movie but was also a little silly with the human head on the fly and the giant fly head on a human body, it also seemed like a film the whole family could watch on a Sunday afternoon. This version is definitely not for children, and is the only film along with The Exorcist that I've read stories of people vomiting in the cinemas. The other great thing about The Fly is despite the horrific events and images we're shown, deep down it's a tragic love story.

The Blu-ray is excellent, the picture isn't what would be referred to as demo worthy like Avatar, but I never expected it would, it was shot for $15,000,000 back in 1986. What good Blu-rays are supposed to do is to show us the film the way the director intended it to be seen, and I'm pretty sure Cronenberg didn't want the film to be crystal clear with colours that pop off the screen, it wouldn't suit the feel of the film at all. The picture is clean and crisp and looks far better than it did on DVD, in certain scenes there is a thin layer of grain that isn't intrusive and certainly never detracts from the movie. In some close-ups of Jeff Goldblum after he's started to change, the detail is fantastic. Every pore on his face is visible and I'd never noticed the few thick fly hairs on his face before. I was delighted with the upgrade and the sound was also much improved from the DVD. The DVD I owned was a bare bones double pack with the disappointing sequel, so I was very happy to get the Blu-ray regardless of picture quality just so I could get the extras I'd never previously had. There's a 136 minute in depth making of called Fear of the flesh, everything you could possibly want to know about the film is shown here. A very interesting commentary from director David Cronenberg, trivia track, the Brundle museum of natural history, deleted scenes, extended scenes, film tests, written works, promotional materials, still galleries and high definition trailers.

A great film and a great Blu-ray. There's English, Danish, Dutch, Swedish, Finnish, French, German and Norwegian subtitles. The Fly is a film that fans of horror, sci-fi or romance, if you can look past the graphic imagery should definitely enjoy. A genuine classic.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2010
Let me state from the beginning that this is my favourite film of all time. I am a huge movie buff and have a massive library of dvd's, and yet somehow this still remains my number one. There are many reasons for this- the film races along at a terrific pace throughout and is the perfect meld of sci-fi, horror and drama. The direction by David Cronenberg is simply sublime. Jeff Goldblum, Geena Davis and John Getz are all perfectly cast in their roles. The effects are still strong and hold up nearly 25 years after the films initial release.

The story follows Seth Brundle (Jeff Goldblum), who is working on something quite big- a pair of telepods that allow for instant teleportation. The film begins with him inviting the lovely Vernonica Quaife (Geena Davis) back to his apartment/ lab to see what he has been working on. She is amazed at what she finds and the two of them decide that she will follow him and write a book about his invention. Before long the two fall in love, and her boss (John Getz) gets extremely jealous of this; beginning an intriguing love triangle. In the meantime, something went wrong when Seth Brundlefly teleported himself for the first time. Something got in there with him and went undetected, causing genetic splicing between himself and a housefly. From thereon things get extremely weird, and gory...

I cannot rave about this film enough. Jeff Goldblum gives one of the truly quintessential lead performances in his role of Seth Brundle- from his nerdy, awkward beginnings to his horrific demise in the final third. I won't spoil anything for the uninitiated other than to say this is like a superhero movie gone wrong. Instead of becoming selfless and heroic as a result of the splicing incident, he becomes hell-bent on self preservation. The movie has been seen as an allegory for everything from AIDS to heroin addiction.

As for the blu-ray transfer - it really is quite impressive. The effects look terrific in high-definition, and though it will not become a show-off disc it is a vast improvement over the previous dvd releases. The extras are the same as the special dvd edition that was released a few years back, and there is the addition of a new trivia track. When you consider that one of those extras is a 3 hour-plus documentary about the making of the film, this becomes a no-brainer. I highly recommend both the excellent movie and the wholly decent blu-ray release.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2006
I had the good fortune of watching this again on DVD the other day (the cinema reserve 2 disc set - superior quality) after only seeing it once when it was first out on video.

When I first watched it, I was 12 and repulsed by the more gruesome elements which stuck in my mind for ages afterwards (the arm wrestle, the poor baboon, the whole brundlefly metamorphosis).

Watching it now as an adult, it is quite a different film to what I remember - it is a deeply moving and satisfying piece of cinema which is at times horrible to look at, but always manages to keep the viewer right in the centre of the narrative.

The grotesque elements are there but they don't seem thrown in purely for shocks - there is a story resonating beneath the onscreen mayhem and at no time does the film become too gross or too predictable. Cronenberg has a definite story to tell us and he weaves his magic to make the film both involving and satisfying.

It is a horror film, but the real horror are the subtexts of the film - Brundle's realisation of what's happening to him and not being able to stop it; Veronica's pregnancy and so much more. The special effects are extremely good and this isn't a film you should go into if you've got a weak stomach, but it is an enjoyable, horrifying and fascinating trip into what happens when something goes wrong in the lab, very wrong!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 June 2007
I agree entirely with the previous reviewer that the Limited Edition Box Set is of a poor standard. The box itself, cheap plastic which will have a limited life span due to its flimsy design. Also the plastic pod inside will have to be handled with care if it wants to last.

As for the movies themselves, they are absolutely first class. Each film has an outstanding print, and that is despite that the first three movies were made from the late 1950s until the mid 1960s. The original Fly remains a classic, although it looks dated. But, the strong storyline, and a superb cast hold it together. The Return of The Fly is a B Movie which were popular with cinema audiences during the 1950s and is worth seeing. This one does have a happy ending though. The wonderful character actor Vincent Price appears in them both, and I am sure his fans will love these. The Curse of The Fly is rarely shown on television nowadays which is a pity because it is a rather decent B Movie made in England (at Shepperton Studios which stands in for Montreal). Two fine British actors, George Baker and Carole Gray supported by Irish-American actor Brian Donlevy (Quatermass) make a fine job of this little known movie. It does have a few shocks, with some great make up effects, and a rather surprising ending.

The remake of The Fly dating from 1986 is superb. Its a classic in its own right. Wonderfully directed by Canadian David Cronenberg who doesnt limit the shocks and make up effects throughout does a superb job. Of course, mention must be made of Jeff Goldblum and Geena Davis, two very fine actors indeed who carry this movie throughout to an amazing end sequence which even after twenty years when the movie was first released, still shocks today.

The Fly II is a mediocre follow up, although it does have its moments. Still, apart from the poor quality packaging, its a decent buy if the price was reduced. Although to be fair to Amazon, they do offer this set at a reasonable price which is far less than the original.

The seven discs contain all five Fly movies, with numerous extras. Great picture and sound; shame about the box themselves.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2006
Jeff Goldblum stars as the ingenious yet over-ambitious scientist/inventor Seth Brundle. During a unique teleporting experiment he accidentally merges his DNA with that of a common house fly. A journalist (Geena Davis) documenting his scientific endeavours can only watch in horror as Seth's often horrific and shocking transformation into the fly begins.

Great acting all around which is becoming increasing rare in the sci-fi/horror genre. Goldblum's portrayal of going from the caring inventor who only wants to do good in the world through his decent into madness as the hideous fly is flawless. Geena Davis' performance as the journalist who falls in love with Seth is also very persuasive.

With Cronenberg realising that a transformation into a fly would not be a beautiful thing he has managed to create a repulsive, gradual, and no holds barred transformation into the fly. The brilliance here is the fact you feel sympathy for this misunderstood monster which Cronenberg has captured perfectly.
Even nowadays this film would still hold an 18 certificate purely because of the final and over-the-top transformation into the fly, and some parts leading up to it. The greatest triumph with this film is the sympathy you feel for the doomed inventor. It's rare that a horror film such as this has the key ingredient of sympathy that too many movies in this genre lack. Although this film is horror, the horror elements take a back-seat to the relationship between the journalist and the inventor.

The DVD itself I had no problems with. However, it did lack in the special features department. Only containing a six minute behind the scenes featurette which is really just the retelling of the story from the actors, producers and the directors point of view with only a short insight into the production. The same can be said for the cast and crew interviews. The main language for this film is English but does you do have the option for subtitles in Czech, Danish, Finnish, Hebrew, Hungarian, Icelandic, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish and of course English.

Fans of the original may be surprised by the different interpretation Cronenberg has taken of the same story. Instead of an instant transformation from inventor to the fly. The fly is completely absorbed into the inventor making the transformation slow and gradual but only creating one monster, another difference from the original.

In my opinion this is an unforgettable film and a classic of this fading genre. Today horrors are all about the violence. Here we have an enjoyable movie that has elements from many genres: science fiction, romance, drama and obviously horror. But don't be put off by this; what you get is unbearable tension that is so rare from many recent films. For £5 it is definitely a movie you need to add to your collection.

Sam
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Along with the John Carpenter version of The Thing, this is one of the few modern Science Fiction/Horror Movie Remakes that is actually BETTER than the original.

The 1950's version of The Fly is fun and low budget and schlocky and spawned 2 inferior sequels.

But in the hands of Canadian Horror Maestro David Cronenberg the 1986 remake is a modern horror masterpiece, and easily David Cronenberg's best film, just like The Thing was for John Carpenter.

As well as a great script, superb photography and special effects it has a fantastic central performance from Jeff Goldblum in possibly his greatest role, able supported by Geena Davis who is also superb.

Watch out for a surprise cameo by David Cronenberg himself as a surgeon!

A definite, five star must buy.

Very Highly Recommended - a Classic of Horror Cinema.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
QUALITY
The Blue-ray offering, whilst not being the most pristine i have seen, is more than adequate.

PLOT summary
If you don't know the plot then in a nutshell - scientist (Goldblum) meets journalist (Davis) at party. Persuades her to return to his place to see something that will transform the world. Shows her two "pods" and demonstrates that they are teleportation pods. The system still needs tinkering however. After some mods, scientits tries teleporting for himself. Trouble is a fly got into the pod with him. The dna of both the scientist and the fly are spliced together....grotesque changes begin to happen......

ACTING and ATMOSPHERE
The acting here is excellent by all concerned very powerful performances and yet, if this is not an oxymoron, beatifully restrained which adds to the tension within what is, underneath, a tragic lover story. The overall atmosphere of the film is rather claustrophobic being set mostly in one apartment..this allows the tension between the characters and the growing feeling of quiet horror to be focussed.

buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2009
Well the movie is excellent. It's a really nasty horror flick with an excellent storyline & is well acted & directed. I find it frustrating when I read reviews from people expecting all bluray movies to look like a 2009 summer blockbuster, this was made over 20 years ago. Bluray is not all about sharp, saturated looking picures but about showing the movie as close as possible to how the director intended it. Movies are highly compressed from the origional print which leads to a loss in quality, Bluray disc's are huge which means far less compression & much higher quality. That's what bluray is about. This movie looks fantastic for its age, I'm sure as good as it looked in the cinema at the time, Maybe better. This version is presented in Full screen 16.9 aspect ratio, no black bars.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
Jeff Goldblum at his best in this laid back genius role, living in an apartment/laboratory experimenting with one or two "pods" with his "teleporting" projects, when a housefly gets involved by flying into the pod, the forthcoming results end up with a human size fly full of the slimy goo you get when you squash a fly, see this to believe it,
Geena Davis provides the glamour with a sublime pout of those perfect lips in her role as a local reporter,
The end has to be predictable of course, we can't do with life size house fly's in society.
Summing up this film is very well done, be afraid.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Oh my god, this was so disturbing. Brilliant, but very disturbing.

Jeff Goldblume was so believable as the sexy, mad professor. His hotness to begin with made it even more of a contrast when he became what he became.

I love stories involving cloning, and this captured my imagination the first time I saw it (years ago) and still does now.

The ending is incredibly sad and vicious, and the special effects are impressive considering the year The Fly was made in.

I'm not sure if I could ever watch it again but I would recommend it to anyone with an interest in science and gore.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse