Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 June 2014
This is the board I've been using for some recent budget builds I've done using the newer socket AM1 processors.
The Gigabyte board is quite a basic board in many ways, but has the essentials you'd want for a micro ATX build.

Spec wise pretty low key (expected at this price point)
The good news is that you have support for DDR3 1600/1333 MHz memory up to 32GB, up to 16GB per slot (2 slots). But that will work out pretty expensive, still there is potential to soup up the ram later on if required. For most builds I've done 4GB up to 8GB seems more than enough, but if you're making an office pc then 2GB will be just fine too.

There is support for 4k monitors, though I've not tested this yet
Back panel has 2 x USB 3.0 ports, and 2 x normal USB 2.0. It's good to see even budget boards offering USB 3.0 2 should be enough

Only slight downer is that there is no USB 3.0 header on the board, but strangely it has 3 x USB 2.0 connectors giving you up to 6 USB 2.0 outputs directly off the board (overkill really). I'd have preferred that USB 3.0 header because many micro ATX cases have USB 3.0 ports now and a lot of card readers out there with it too. You'll have to consider adding a card to the board if that's important (or look at higher priced alternatives)

Other connections are limited only 2 SATA ports on the board that covers your optical drive (if you will fit one) and a hard drive. There is a normal D-sub port for a VGA monitor output (if you require DVI you can pick up an adapter easily enough) most will use the single HDMI output for a monitor.

Capacitors, some are solid, some normal I don't see it as an issue for a board of this type

Overall no problems to report so far, it's a good board for the low asking price, just make sure you don't need additional USB 3.0 ports or lots of SATA connectors. For a basic build though this does the job quite nicely.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
The GA-AM1M-S2H is a good little motherboard, it isn't too big or hefty, it's just the right size for some-one building a basic computer, even a gaming computer. It is cheap, affordable and great quality. The BIOS is easy to understand and looks neat, although I'd have to say my only complaint is that I was sometimes a little unsure where to place leads like the power switch lead. The instruction booklet I received was also for a different model of motherboard, depicting an AM3 type socket when this motherboard sports an AM1.

You cant expect to turn this into a beast for gaming, but you'll certainly make a decent set up with this at its core.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
I paid £21 for this board ,its has a new UEFI very simple to use . I dropped a Atlon 5350 into it and a GT 730 into the available PCI-E slot .Its the perfect HTPC it uses little to no power. Full load it uses 55-60 watts :-) . Even with such low end hardware i was really surprised at how well it handles games . It plays 90% of games on high settings 720p and also plays some games at 1080p low/medium fine .I have been able to get most games running fine only Watchdogs was unplayable ,it seems to be a very bad optimised game even on my i5 3570k & GTX 670 it runs terrible and has my machine screaming . Alot of people have criticized the AM1 Platform ,i think its great for really cheap media PC's that can even manage some light gaming . Grid Autosport, Dirt 3 , Trine 2, Skyrim , Crysis 3 ,Mortal Kombat, Titanfall 'All tested and work perfect . Im going to install my GTX 670 in it for the fun of it and see how much the CPU actually bottlenecks . This Gigabyte board is really simple and has not giving one bit of trouble my only gripe would be that the Asus AM1 board lets you overclock the Athlon 5350 and Gigabytes board does not .First world problems aye. Really hoping AMD release a tiny 8Core kabini chip for this platform .
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 October 2014
This is the board I've been using for some recent budget builds I've done using the newer socket AM1 processors.
The Gigabyte board is quite a basic board in many ways, but has the essentials you'd want for a micro ATX build.

Spec wise pretty low key (expected at this price point)
The good news is that you have support for DDR3 1600/1333 MHz memory up to 32GB, up to 16GB per slot (2 slots). But that will work out pretty expensive, still there is potential to soup up the ram later on if required. For most builds I've done 4GB up to 8GB seems more than enough, but if you're making an office pc then 2GB will be just fine too.

There is support for 4k monitors, though I've not tested this yet
Back panel has 2 x USB 3.0 ports, and 2 x normal USB 2.0. It's good to see even budget boards offering USB 3.0 2 should be enough

Only slight downer is that there is no USB 3.0 header on the board, but strangely it has 3 x USB 2.0 connectors giving you up to 6 USB 2.0 outputs directly off the board (overkill really). I'd have preferred that USB 3.0 header because many micro ATX cases have USB 3.0 ports now and a lot of card readers out there with it too. You'll have to consider adding a card to the board if that's important (or look at higher priced alternatives)

Other connections are limited only 2 SATA ports on the board that covers your optical drive (if you will fit one) and a hard drive. There is a normal D-sub port for a VGA monitor output (if you require DVI you can pick up an adapter easily enough) most will use the single HDMI output for a monitor.

Capacitors, some are solid, some normal I don't see it as an issue for a board of this type

Overall no problems to report so far, it's a good board for the low asking price, just make sure you don't need additional USB 3.0 ports or lots of SATA connectors. For a basic build though this does the job quite nicely.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
I have awarded this motherboard 3 stars because on one hand, it's cheap, well equipped and has an easy to use UEFI BIOS, plus it arrived quickly and included 2 SATA cables. However...

I had a massive headache installing Windows 7. Everytime I tried I got a message saying "windows cannot install to disk 0. Ensure drivers are enabled in BIOS settings" which turned out to be misleading gibberish (like all Microsoft error messages) and implied that there was a hard drive issue (spoiler alert: there wasn't). Many hours of attempts and googling were in vain until...

... I decided to basically look at everything on the gigabyte download page and I noticed on the supported CPU list that all are supported with F2 BIOS... And my board shipped with F1, which turned out to be the cause: once I had flashed to F2, all was well...

However (again), using Q-flash was not as straightforward as expected. When you download the BIOS from gigabyte, you get a 1.88MB .exe file, which you then have to right click on and extract all files, which will leave you with a 4kB F2 file, which is actually what you need. That solution also took quite a while to find!

TL;DR: board itself is fine but if windows won't install to a clean HDD, flash the BIOS to F2... Which is a faff!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
Great basic motherboard. Made a low powered system for media and surfing the internet use. Fitted a quad core Sempron 3850 and is very responsive. Only downside has only 2 sata ports, but you can use PCI-E cards for adding extra. For the low price is very well made and has a good Bios.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Nice board for a low power media centre but needs the Athlon 5350 and at least 8gb memory
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
simple,cheap,perfect for a HTPC,hooked up to an SSD and 1tb HD and does the job,no fancy features which reflects its price
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
Great AM1 motherboard.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
had no problems so far
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)