Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
30
4.4 out of 5 stars


on 2 October 2017
Authour strugged to string a sentence together. Avoid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2017
really good read. I want more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
All three Gollancz Elite novels are great reads but if you want a book that makes you feel like you're in the Elite Universe then this is it.

It's chock full of space battles, bounty hunters and pirates. Descriptions of various space stations and space ships (one of the main characters flies a classic Fer-de-Lance), and great imagery of different star systems and planets throughout the Galaxy.

For my money, a must read for any Elite fan.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
This is the first book that I`ve read that is based in the new Elite Dangerous universe. I`m impressed. Could have easily changed the ship type names and the names of some of the star systems and stations and it would have passed for a really good space novel. I found it a very refreshing read, and enjoyed it a great deal.

I would recommend this book to anyone who has played the game and also to those who haven`t........yet.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
I found this a gripping story, fast paced and full of tension between the main characters. The fact that it's set in a highly believable version of the Elite universe is a bonus.
I did find it a little strange that most of the male characters are described negatively but guess that's because the two main characters are women who's views have been shaped by their histories.
Excellent stuff and I look forward to reading more work from this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
Bloody Brilliant!!! Definitely for anyone who loves piracy, bounty hunting, betrayal and intrigue. The characters are well fleshed out and I found myself caring for them despite their imperfections. Plan on visiting the fringe systems and pirate stations mentioned in this book! It'll be interesting to see if one particular system is as dangerous as it's portrayed in this book! Really couldn't put this down. Gavin, you'd better sort out the sequel double quick or I'll be getting out the voodoo doll, understand??;-).

For fans of the Elite universe or not, a great read! Looking forward to more.

Cmdr Tor Grall.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Not sure why but it took me a while to get into this book, I'd pick it up, read a chapter and put it down again without that 'just one more chapter' feeling. I kept going in this vain for about the first third of the book but I persevered, and I'm glad I did because before I knew it, I'd suddenly found myself hooked, strapped in and rocketing through the pages to the end.

The book is well written, it does contain the occasional swear world and has some violence but nothing TOO graphic.

MILD SPOILER ALERT: I would have liked a epilogue if i'm honest as I felt like i'd been left a bit hanging at the end there, but I suppose it has set up a potential sequel
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
1st the book, then the game and after reading this surely the potential for a film..!
An excellent book that kept me guessing to the very end. Vivid pictures and an interesting story. Without spoilers it finishes leaving you wanting more. Mr Braben a sequel..?
Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 8 February 2015
The 34th Century. A routine bit of piracy goes badly wrong, leaving the crew of the Song of Stone wanted by both the authorities and the most lethal criminal gang in inhabited space. When a bounty hunter famed for being relentless and efficient gets on their tail, events rapidly spiral out of control.

The Elite video game series has always had a good relationship with its tie-in fiction. The original game, released in 1984, had very simple graphics so relied on the manual and flavour text to fit in a lot of the background. Key to this was The Dark Wheel, a novella written by Robert Holdstock (who won the World Fantasy Award the same year for his seminal Mythago Wood) which brought the setting to life with memorable characters and a focused storyline about revenge and family.

For the release of Elite: Dangerous, the fourth game in the series, a whole line of new books are being released from several different publishers. First out of the gate is Wanted, a collaboration between Stephen Deas (best-known for the Memory of Flames fantasy sequence) and Gavin Smith (Veteran, War in Heaven, Age of Scorpio). This novel focuses on pirates, bounty-hunters and the dividing line between the law and lawlessness, key features of the Elite games which can also be used to generate good stories.

Wanted has a simple but extremely effective structure: chapters alternate between Captain Ravindra of the Song of Stone and Ziva, pilot of the Dragon Queen and one of the most renowned bounty hunters around. The characterisation of these two leading figures is strong, with the authors setting up each captain's motivations (Ravindra's wayward son and Ziva's relationship problems) and using them to drive the story forward. For a tie-in novel the risk is always that the iconic setting will overwhelm the story and characters, but there Deas and Smith avoid that, putting the central characters front-and-centre.

That said, they do handle the setting pretty well. There's always been a conflict between the Elite universe being set so far in the future and the relative low technology of it all, with no artificial gravity and ship-to-ship combat being carried out at close range rather than with drones from thousands of miles away. The two authors do a good job of staying true to the game setting whilst throwing their own innovations and extrapolations of technology into the mix.

On the weaker side of things, some of the secondary cast could do with being fleshed out more. The motivations of the villains is also under-developed, especially as the maguffin the plot revolves around is never really explained. On one meta-level it's irrelevant, as it's simply the excuse for the story to happen, but on another it means that the stakes are never properly defined.

Still, Smith and Deas deliver more than what was expected here: a punchy, rip-roaring space opera with some clever bits of science, some nicely-handled character relationships and a book that leaves the reader intrigued to try both the game and the other books in the setting. Elite: Wanted (****) is out now in the UK and USA.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
I really enjoyed this and the finale (without giving too much away) had me gripped; I couldn't read fast enough!

Action! Adventure! Space pirates! What more could you want?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse