Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
57
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2014
Having Lorne back in the police is a master stroke by Mel and makes this book an excellent read. I can highly recommend all of the Justice series but this one is a little bit special. From the murder team to the members of the family, the reader is made to feel that they know all of the characters personally as they are so well written. Fast moving and holds you to the very last page. Particularly liked the introduction of the new female "boss", can see her being developed in future books and love the relationship between Lorne and Katie.
Mel Comley,s books are all excellent reads. You will never need to or find yourself skipping a few pages, she keeps you hooked and drags you along from beginning to end which usually means late into the night as you can't bear to put it down.
Thanks and well done again Mel, can't wait for the next one!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
Lorne is back working in the police department, from which she had resigned , under a new boss. She had previously had problems with her superiors so it was interesting to see how she would slot back into the department in a lesser role than previously.

Having read the previous books in the Justice series I enjoyed the development of previous characters. I love Lorne's headstrong manner and her relationship with her ex-M16 second husband, Tony, and her daughter Charley.

The story encompasses murder and counterfeiting and was enthralling throughout.

Another 4+ read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
Number 8 in the series and one of the best (in my opinion) Lorne, still running the dog refuge passes the reins over to daughter Charlie and husband Tony when she goes back to work at the Met as a DS. Her immediate boss DI is Katy, who features in the last several books and the rapport between the two characters is as excellent as ever.
The plot is different and several loose ends come together with the help of Tony (ex MI6) when he goes under cover to help break the case wide open. Lots of action, excitement and also the continuation of the very absorbing personal life of Lorne and her nearest and dearest - Really enjoyed this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
This is the 8th in the Justice series and sees Lorne return to the police working alongside Katie, who is now of a higher rank. The finding of a corpse is the first murder and is followed by another when Lorne's daughter, Charlie, attends a friend's 18th birthday party and is gatecrashed by youths with tragic consequences, Lorne's husband and brother-in- law play an active part in the culmination of the first storyline which enhances the plot. The two storylines run concurrently and kept me enthralled. Another excellently written thriller by Mel Comley. I highly recommend all this series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Hostile Justice. Brilliant
M A Comley
Having read all the previous Justice books in this series I never thought for 1minute that they could get any better, how wrong was I this book is just brilliant. Follow Lorne as she is back in the force again, and already has a few murders to solve. Lorne, her husband Tony and daughter Charlie are evolving in to be must follow characters. If you have read the previous books in this series you are going to love this book, I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
5 stars. 31 March 2014.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Just when I thought things couldn't get better then here comes Hostile Justice, the latest in the Justice series. Lorne is enticed back into the police force after leaving 4 years previously to become a PI. straight away, before she has got her feet under the table there are 2 crimes to solve. Katy with whom Lorne worked with previously is now Lorne's superior but there is no animosity and they team together to solve the two crimes. Their patience is tested when they don't seem to be making much headway and all leads are a dead end then they get some information which sets them on the right track, with the help of from a barmaid and Derek who is a journalist and old time acquaintance of Lorne's. After reading all the justice series, which have all been brilliant, this one surpasses all expectation and cant wait to read the next one. Highly recommend All of Mel Comleys' books she is an exceptional writer. Once you pick up a book you don't want to put it down .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2016
Lorne, now surprisingly back in the MET for the third time, having accepted a demotion, she is surprised to see a new Superintendent has been appointed. The new team gets involved in cases concerning a dead body, youngsters at parties, a protection racket. Charlie has yet another bad experience, and Tony and Derrick help out. Good read, on a par with previous books. Now for the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
Great to see the lovely Lorne back where i believe she truly belongs, another great book by this brilliant author who really does tell it as it is, really hopeing this isnt the end of the justice series as i believe theres loads more to come from this great lady.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Hostile Justice is the 8th in the Lorne Simpkins series and yet another great book.

Not needing much persuasion,Lorne decides to go back into the police force. Not only does she have a disturbing case to solve for the police she also ends up involved in case that's a bit to close to home for comfort through her teenage daughter Charlie and a party she attends.

As with all Mel's books, Hostile Justice grips your attention from beginning to end and is pretty fast paced. She manage's to deliver a brilliant story line in every book in this series and Hostile Justice is no different.

Even though I really enjoyed this book, due to Lorne being back in the police force I found that Hostile Justice felt different than the last couple of books in the series and it took me a bit longer to adjust to her change of career and her not being at home as much or involved with the kennels which I missed reading about. The crime and thrills are still a plenty though.

As always can't wait to read the next one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
Whenever I read a new book in M.A. Comley's `Justice' series, I feel like I'm meeting up with old friends again.

In this new instalment, Lorne is back on the police force and working with her former colleague Katy Foster on a murder investigation. Events from Lorne's person life soon occur and the book moves along at a fast pace towards a thrilling conclusion. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.