Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
25
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2014
These three albums contain most of the world of jazz greats in the late fifties/early sixties and even though I usually don't buy any 'live' recordings for their poorer audio qualities, I couldn't really fault these seriously in that way...they're okay as it happens...not perfect, but okay. Their outstanding quality is the collection of jazz greats, personalities and music...for a moment there, you might be transported to the Lorillard's festivals and hearing what, so many years later, was the best in the jazz genre...excellent value for money, I say, and have already put some tracks into my jazz show system...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
This is good in that it brings together a varied and interesting selection of jazz and jazz musicians who played at the Newport \Jazz Festival between 1956 and 1961, although the vast bulk of the recordings are from 1956-7 at a bargain price. The weakness is in the lack of information about the artists taking part and the composition of groups, length of items, and even the year of recording. Unusually the original record numbers are given, but in small print in pale blue on a red background, so are very difficult to read. It is reasonably easy to discover the appropriate information from the internet, but a little thought and clarity in the information provided would have gone a long way. Fortunately this does not detract from the quality and interest of the music.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
I chose the 'I love it' rating because the music on these 3 cd's captures an array of Jazz singers & musicians in an era of originality & virtuosity. There is no homogenised or computerised synthetic sound & it's such a delight to hear a 'live' music sound so very distinctive & unique. One cd out of this collection is worth the price paid & here we get 3 cd's to enjoy. The sound quality is fabulous & lovely to hear a diverse selection from 1956 - 1961. Bravo!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
From the dark days of the gloom of the Cold War not all was negative.
This CD is a great example of how music & jive was before that Rock & Roll music dominated the whole world play..
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
If you looking for a good overview of the newport jazz festival
this certainly fits the bill this is a brilliant wide ranging selection
covering all styles of jazz good recording quality but could have
done with more info on the featured artists
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
As previous reviewers have said, a mixed bag. But well worth it for the live recorded gems in it, not available elsewhere so far as I know.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
Brought for a present but they were pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
excellent cd very very good buy with many tracks of different artists up till now ive been unable to obtain well pleased.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
As a collection from the Newport Festivals it filled in many gaps in my collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
As an historical document this is an interesting album. The recording quality is very good on most tracks, particularly the instumental.Excellent value for money. Personally, I prefer instrumental jazz to vocals, but there are some classic vocals by Nina Simone, Billie Holiday, Dinah Washington, Ella Fitzgerald etc. which I am glad to have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.08
£5.81

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)