Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
13
4.9 out of 5 stars
Open up Your Colouring Book
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99

on 7 May 2014
Davey Scott has been making superb music for a long time , certainly over 20 years at least. i know this because i went to see The pearlfishers when i was on my honeymoon , at the Old Atheneum in Glasgow , August 1993. It was a superb show and i've kept up with his music ever since , there has been some fine fine listening involved over the years. He's made 7 albums in that time , the latest of which is this rather excellent effort : Open Up Your Colouring Book.
Highlights abound and i have a new favourite every time i put the damn thing on , right now it's the wondrous title track which seems to channel the spirit of a certain Brian Wilson in a perfect 4 minutes and 45 seconds of aural bliss. Seriously , one of the best tracks released in 2014 so far.
But there's a lot more. The whole thing begins for instance with four absolutely perfect tracks , making me think that this just may be his best album. It never lets up though and there's simply not a bad track on the full thing , a perfect pop construction which sounds amazing right now and will be even better when (if) the sun is shining through my window…………..
Thoroughly recommended for anyone who loves melody , joy and good times , this album will enhance your life. It gets better with every listen , you'll love it. Trust me !!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
Another gem of an album, from the unsung hero of easy listening indie-pop, if you like prefab sprout,, burt bacharach, shack,
trash can sinatras, please just buy it !,. David Scott, thank you for the music !
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
This is my first ever review despite being an avid cd purchaser for many years. I can not be silent about this release however. If Brian Wilson had released this the world would be talking about it for years. But he has not and David Scott has. So it will remain in obscurity. Never mind. My gain. The general public' s loss. Pure genius. The best release of the decade.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
David Scott is a natural successor to the Bacharach crown of superb arrangements and orchestration. You can just lose yourself in the Pearlfishers' recordings. This is great, which is enough.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
Every song is better than the one before it.
David Scott is a songsmith of amazing standards, thank you!
If you haven't bought it, buy it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
As the proud owner of the entire Pearlies' catalogue I am not surprised but delighted to report that David Scott has done it again. A fantastic collection of melodious and harmonious pop candy. Why they aren't huge I have no idea. Great work!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
david scott just gets better and better, like every great album this one takes several listens to get into but my goodness after that each song is so melodic, some songs have 1 or 2 melodies in the same tune.so to finish this is scotts pepper,looking forward to his abbey road and double white.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
David Scott and The Pearlfishers did it again. Open Up Your Coloring Book is a masterpiece. Every song is better than the one
before. Thank you for the music, once again David. The sun is shining when I listen to all your highlights. This is GREAT.
If you haven't bought it, by it and you will discover a new world of music. This album will enchant your life. It gets better with
every listen,you`ll love it. Trust me.

Bernt H. Lie. Oslo. Norway.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 May 2014
What an utter delight this latest cut from David Scott is (particularly as I'd no idea a new album was in the pipeline; I have Amazon's sinister-but-useful product recommendation system to thank for that which had noted I had bought the Pearlie's previous ones).

To those new to the 'band' (which is largely a one-man project) what you get are timeless, lushly produced and beautifully sung, played and executed sophisticated pop nuggets in the style of Brian Wilson, Bacharach, The Beatles etc. But rather than Scott's songs being slavish, ersatz homages to his influences (unlike, say, the albeit enjoyable output of The Wondermints) Scott once again manages to transcend the high bar set by them. Is there any higher praise?

A track-by-track breakdown is unnecessary: there's not a dud on the album - all sixteen of 'em (which is something that 'Q' magazine sniffily seemed to hold against it - suggesting that sixteen is more than enough 'creamy' pop for anyone to stomach at any one time - and it reminded me why I jacked in buying Q years ago). I would say though that, in the round, I consider this a mellower effort than any of its predecessors - but only by a tad. All the hallmarks of what makes Pearlfishers' albums so special are in evidence; the fabulous melodies, the poignant and moving lyrics, the aforementioned wonderful production and the supremely accomplished playing and arrangements throughout. What's more David Scott's voice remains as sweet, mellow and individual as ever.

It is difficult to compare Pearlfisher's albums against one another - as Scott's output is almost uniformly excellent - but I can confidently say 'Open Up Your Colouring Book' happily stands up alongside any of them. I confess I will always have a particular love for 'Across The Milky Way' (which I include in my Top 10 'Desert Island Discs') and it is not *quite* as varied or interesting as 'Up With the Larks' or 'Sky Meadows' (a review of which you can read here) but, really, that is no criticism; just simply a reflection of my own preferences.

In conclusion, if there is one criticism I could level at the album it is that it is all so predictable: predictably sublime that is. Do yourself a favour; if you like lush and thoughtful 'classic' pop of the highest calibre that may well cause you to shed a tear then buy this record (then go and buy all the others). As far as I'm concerned there are few, if any, artists out there ploughing this particular musical furrow to such exhilarating and life-affirming effect. Long may they continue!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
All Davey Scott's usual influences are there, Beach Boys .. Burt .. er Dean Friedman and it all comes together in a great new Scottish album, see if you can spot John Barry and a nod to Shelley (the sitcom not the poet)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Up With The Larks
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)