Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 9 May 2015
This book was compelling, awesome and awe inspiring and should be read by everyone, especially hawk politicians who would take us to war.

It is beautifully written with a remarkable attention to detail especially of life and death in a Japanese prisoner of war camp and the building of the Burma,railway. It moved me hugely and I am so glad I found the courage to read it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2017
Wow. Amazing panorama covering hideous cruelty, everyday living, and love. Amazing story, often hard to read, with very real characters described and intricate story-threads well entwined and resolved.

Once I've got over the power of the characters, can't wait to read his other novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
A very moving book, thought provoking in so many ways. A wonderful balance between freedom and imprisonment, physically and mentally. A story of love, lust and forgiveness is interwoven throughout. It's a book that describes life as a prisoner war in the starkest terms. It's difficult to understand why wars still persist all over the world when there are such examples of mans inhumanity to man
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2017
this is one of the greatest books i have read about the war and is such a good story. Highly reccommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
A harrowing but deeply moving story. Well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2017
This was my first time reading this author was pleasantly surprised. Would recommend this though s bit graphic for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2017
Absolutely amazingly good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2017
Excellent item and great service!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2017
Wonderful story if a bit Grimm at times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2017
Beautifully written, a compelling read, you can feel the despair and anguish on every page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse