Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
36
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

....... You Got The Best !! Kiss 40 ha ha, is that 40 years or 40 compilations?,fantastic career spanning 2 cd set,whilst never going to satisfy everyone,yes i would have had a different track list,most of us have our own favourites,this is as close to a track list that should suffice,its not aimed at the die hards,although there a couple of lesser known tracks plus the unreleased demo to keep us happy.

Sound quality is excellent,most noticeable on the likes of 'Let Me Go Rock And Roll','Down On Your Knees' & 'God Of Thunder (demo),much better than on their previous releases,the demo is a fun 'Gene' tune,clearly cannibalised for 'Christine 16',surprise surprise it follows on next.

When you can only chose 1 track per release,then you've got a difficult job on your hands,they've done it well,the compilation flows pretty smoothly and a plethora of live tracks helps get a few fan favourites included.

As a pointer to their career,it effortlessly shows that they have rocked when required,gave it some heavy when neccesary and been 'Pop' if the mood took them,throw in solo albums and tear stained ballads ,then you've had the lot.

The packaging is the only real disappointment,no liner notes,they could have given the full story right up to the Hall of Fame induction,still there a some decent photos,not many you wont have seen before.

Still i'll give it 5 stars,i was always going to get it,if you haven't tried the band before,you could do worse than start here.
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
All the hits are here and a few little extras which are all realy good I know some people will say there is to many kiss best of albums out maybe true but this is 40 years and I don't see many of these new bands lasting that long so go and buy this its kiss at there best
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
Well I didn't think I would ever buy another Kiss compilation, but then again I didn't think I'd still be listening to them after 40 years.
This is pretty good value for the money, and a great retrospective of the many incantations of the bands music. Take the point another reviewer made that its a shame there aren't a couple of new tracks for a bit of interest, and I'm not sure I can spot much in the way of remastering that hasn't been available elsewhere before. Maybe not 'The Best', but overall, not bad at all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
I have never been a fan of Kiss but I knew I was onto a winner with this one because a band can not stay at the top so long without good stuff , so this has two or three top tracks from their albums and I have to say it is pretty good stuff indeed I reccomend it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
Great idea. Release the best track from each of your albums and solo from over the years and the odd unreleased track to tempt the die hard fan and you have a great concept. Covers all the phases of Kiss history from the classic to perhaps not so classic line-ups. glossy booklet with montage of photos over the years but though a little comment on each track would have added that extra something to the package...not that I am too upset. Well worth the price of £8.99 paid for on release. Now, where is Kissology Vol 4?!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
OK so it is another best of by KISS I hear you say, well yes and no. Yes this is a best of package but this time with a difference, this collection contains one song from every major released KISS album from the last 40 years, with the added bonus of a couple of demo tracks and some previously unreleased live versions.
The KISS machine has been rolling for 40 years now, with no signs of stopping. Some Members may have departed the tour bus, but main stays Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons are going to Rock 'n' Roll All Night, Party Every Day well into the foreseeable future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
The selections for this collection have all be remastered from the original analogue source tapes (where these exist).using the latest mastering techniques and you can really hear the improvement as these tunes have never sounded so good!

The previously unreleased stuff is a nice touch, live versions of Cold Gin, Crazy, Crazy Nights and Deuce.rock hard and the demo of Gene Simmons "Reputation" is pure rock 'n roll fun

The packaging is kept simple with lots of photos of KISS throughout their forty year career, good to see ALL members of the band given credit.past and present.

Despite the omission of songs like Love Gun, I Want You, Dr. Love and Black Diamond it still serves as a breathtaking and exhilarating souvenir of four decades of this bands legendary output. A great value 2 CD package.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
This is a good set of the music from kiss. However like many others I would like to see more unreleased songs from this band. You do get a whole second disc of those on the 'love gun' deluxe edition. This one has several live songs on it that were not released. So if you already have most of kiss's output then you will just be buying this for a few tracks. But if you don't have anything from this band this a very good compilation cd set . The sound is very good on the tracks here too. Most naysayers are right though that they need to put out more unreleased tracks instead of more compilations like this. But this was for their fortieth anniversary release. There last release 'monster' was very good I thought. So if you want some newer stuff from this band grab that one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
There are lots of kiss compilations available but this one does go right up to the latest album and has a number of unreleased live tracks on it. Only minor gripe is that there are a few tracks missing that should be in every kiss compilation (black diamond for eg!) but with as many great songs as the band have there was always going to be some missing. A great introduction to anyone wanting to discover kiss!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2016
Spans their entire history but some of the best songs are presented here in live versions, which is not good, because the studio originals sound so much better (that's why you record in a studio).

"Forever" is probably my favorite Kiss song of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)