Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
25
4.4 out of 5 stars
Platform: PC|Edition: Deluxe Edition|Change
Price:£4.08 - £36.99

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2015
Bought this as a gift for my girlfriend.

One of the most underestimated RPG's ever she said. The turn-based battle system is one of the best in this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
Very efficient postage and product as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
A wonderful game with a particularly beautiful soundtrack.
However, in order to play it you have to install Ubisoft's software 'Uplay', and then download the game from their truly awful servers. It took me about ten tries to actually get the game to install (it would freeze at 99% every time), and when you submit a complaint they will try to blame it on you and say you didn't install the software right, but it's their severs that are the problem.
If you have as much trouble as I did in installing it, try to re-install it at a different time of day, that's what worked for me, early-ish in the morning seems to have more chance of success.
But, yes, once installed the game it is amazing and really worth playing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
Game is beautiful and fantastic, plus the deluxe edition is RIDICULOUSLY cheap for what you get. Highly recommended even if you just want to game.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
"Child. Tuck yourself in bed. And let me tell a story of Lemuria, a long lost kingdom. And a girl born for glory.
In Austria was a crown land ruled by a duke, Aurora was his daughter. Child of a duchess mysterious. Beloved by her father.
He raised the girl alone, they were rarely apart. 'Til the duke felt lonely, and misplaced his heart.
It was the Great Friday before Easter, 1895. Players performed for the duke, his new bride at his side.
That night Aurora went to sleep. The fire burned down low. She caught a chill that spread. Her skin was cold as snow.
At dawn they found her vacant. Aurora's light gone out. Her father wept and pleaded, but there could be no doubt.
For all intents and purposes Aurora was dead.
And yet...
Once upon a time, she awoke in a strange land instead."

This is how Child of Light begins, setting the tone for a magical fairytale in a gorgeous watercolour world.
I loved the story, the battles, the characters... basically everything!

Give this game a chance!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
Beautiful game for all ages
Perfect game for children or those young at heart
It has received great ratings all around
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
I liked many aspects about this game the emotional story, aesthetics/graphics, touching music and the turn-based Grandia-like battle system, which has some real-time element. However, being digital only, having to make a uplay account and the lack of voice acting detracted from my experience of this game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
Doesn't matter if you are a casual gamer or not, this is a MUST have. The edition contents are excellent for the low price you pay and its pretty good quality overall. I have played thousands of games but this one became a top 3 after the 2 hours i played it. Music, storyline, characters, i mean, EVERYTHING is perfect on this game 10/10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
First things first this is a download through Uplay game so there isn't a disk in the box.
The game on my rather slow internet didn't take too long to download.
System specs: Haswell i5 4670K, GTX 760 EVGA superclocked, 32GB DDR3.

The box contains:
A rather thin artbook, A5 nice paper about 10 pages or 20 sides, artwork is lovely though.
An A2 sized poster art of the game characters by Yoshitaka Amano (concept artist for Final Fantasy and numerous other things) this alone for me was worth the price of this boxed set and is that good I will be having it framed, again nice thick paper quality.
Two leaflets with the game codes (the game download and two DLC) installing through Uplay is a breeze.
And lastly a light up keyring of Igniculus which after playing the game is a character you will probably come to love.
After reading the hype I had my doubts about Child of Light but all have been dispelled I can say that this game truly lives up to it.
The game itself is a side scrolling rpg with turn based combat the game plays slick and intuitive and is very quick and easy to get to grips with.
The normal (default) difficulty will suit the more casual players so I reccomend if you like a challange to up the difficulty. The game feels old school in play style and in the casual difficulty quite relaxing and I really liked that.
The design of the game is fantastic it looks like pen and ink watercolour and very reminicent of childhood books of the 70's and 80's its like playing art, there is no other way to put it, adding into this a story and dialogue in poetry and a superb strong emotive and evocative score (Aurora's theme really stands out in my mind) makes the experience all the more enjoyable and emersive.
The game is full of suprises and nice touches like Aurora's flowing hair and animation quirks, the handling of light and the incidental background animation, some things are genius the igniculus character that would be a mouse pointer in some games plays a pivotal role, solving puzzels, aiding in battles and offering hints and the moment you get wings and fly the game just takes off.

While there is some threat and danger it would be fine for children to play.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
The box was slightly squeezed on one side but it is nothing to make a huge deal out of it as the components inside were intact.

The game is absolutely brilliant and deserves the extra cost for this deluxe edition.

The game also came far sooner than I expected which was a nice surprise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)