Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
26
4.3 out of 5 stars
Easy Money For Writers And Wannabes
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.99


on 28 January 2015
If you want a book about writing letters and sending pics to the letters pages of magazines, this book is fine and full of inspiration, but you probably won't make much money, since the majority of magazines that used to pay out quite a lot for letters and readers pics, have cut costs. Many now only pay for the 'best' contribution (e.g. star letter/winning pic) in each category.

Incidentally, Full House magazine went out of print in the spring of 2013 - almost a year before this was published. The author suggests that you write to them. Good luck with that! I did expect something a bit more than fillers for letters pages, but it's nicely written and upbeat style, so if that's what you want, it's fine. Cheap and cheerful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
This is a book that you can read quickly - and then get on with making use of the many, many helpful tips and advice. The author never 'preaches' about what you should or should not be doing, but rather shares the benefit of her extensive advice and experience. I suspect that if you once follow up on her tips, and get something published, you'll be hooked for ever!
The advice is clear and straightforward; it's up to you what you do with it.
Very worthwhile.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
I loved this book. Full of useful tips for budding filler writers. Written with humour, it had me laughing out loud in parts. Well worth reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
Writing fillers is a great way to bring in a few extra quid, whether you're a full time writer or a weekend scribbler. This book gives plenty of ideas and ways to go about finding the markets. There are lots of examples of the author's own published fillers. As you read through you find yourself thinking of snippets and items you could send in yourself - it definitely inspires!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
This is an easy read and will set your mind buzzing with lots of ideas generated by everyday life and observation.
The author uses her successful fillers to show the reader how varied the opportunities are. You will never look at a magazine in the same way again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
A little thin on content - really more suited as an article or section in a larger, writers' publication. It is padded out with a lot of the author's personal information. Entertaining but a bit disappointing otherwise.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
I bought this book having seen it promoted on a writing website. As I am just getting started, the idea of writing fillers is appealing. Cobbett's information is clear and every paragraph gives you something to think about. I read reviews that said it offered nothing new. Well, in my experience of learning, you get to the point that you have enough knowledge and it is only action remaining.

From this book, i have enough knowledge to get started. It does require a change in behaviour.... Now, that will take the time lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
For the unpublished writer, filler writing can be an easy way into the world of the working writer.
Maggie Cobbett has written the perfect guide, with examples of fillers she has sold.
With magazines shortening their articles more and more fillers are on the increase.The demand is unceasing, and as Maggie emphasisis a filler accompanied by a photo is the package most editors are seeking. I sold a lot of jokes as fillers, and it can be very lucrative.
Bill Naylor "Misadventures of a Zoo Keeper."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
Great little book, full of practical ideas and suggestions. On completing it, I thought, may as well give it a whirl, so wrote a short piece for Readers Digest "It just couldn't be true" section. I didn't even receive confirmation of my email, so forgot about it - then about 6 weeks later I received a cheque in the post for £50 and they published it in the April 2015 edition. Thanks Maggie for the tips and hints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
If you want to writer fillers and tips read this it is another of Maggie's excellent works. Can't wait to start!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)