Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 2 November 2017
My only problem with this book is that there are no more in the series - at least as yet...

Tom has an apprentice - and what an apprentice! And we revisit the characters and story of the first book in the series.

I cannot say for sure that the description of Cornwall is as good as that of the borders - but knowing how good the 'feel' of the borders was in the third book of the series I would think it is - it certainty feels right to me. And the story fits well into the history of the period, especially with regards to the Earl of Essex.

I would dearly like to know if the note in the last pages is ever delivered - and what the recipient thought of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
I really love all of Tonkin's Elizabethan series. The historical fact is so accurate and you learn so much as well as enjoying a good and relaxing read. In fact, I've found that I'm googling certain bits of info as I go along, so it's a much richer experience than 'just another historical murder mystery'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
This is the fourth of Tom Musgrave's adventures & is as fantastically gripping as the others.
Incredible descriptive test, well fleshed out characters & great attention to detail.
Hope there's more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
As advertised good prompt delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
I have read six of Peter's books now and will be looking for more of the same quality. Will now try one he recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
Same with all his books.. Must have really investigated the Elizabethan era to come up with what only can be described as sheer Brilliance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
I found this quite thrilling but did get a little caught up in all the descriptive narrative and struggled to visualise the action.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
A good quick read, a bit pretentious
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Another winner from Peter Tonkin, simply superb from start to finish everything a Elizabethan murder mystery should have and more ! can't wait for his next in this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Full of pace. An excellent story well told. A plot with intriguing twists that keeps one's attention. As good a book as all the others in the series. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here