Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 7 May 2014
A quick book to read, an interesting story but not absolutely amazing. I felt that it was over too quickly although you do spend a good while in the earlier lives of the two main characters. If you want a short book to read then I would recommend it especially if on offer but don't expect to be overwhelmed by it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
Carols books are always most enjoyable to read, let's have more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
item as described timely delivery , thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2017
Enjoyed it - brought memories of the left bank
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
I was transported to Paris then to a little island off Cannes as I read this story, a lovely afternoon's relaxation. Genevieve and Paul meet again at the Hotel Paradise after 12 years and she relives her past affair with the man she thought was the love of her life. The descriptions are so sensual, intense and immediate that the reader absorbs the Mediterranean ambience, filled with joy, passion, drama and grief. You can almost see and smell the dusty rooms, the herbs in the garden, the sea crashing on the rocks, the vivid sunshine ... Lovely book with a satisfying depth to the final message.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Beginning and concluding in the present day, most of the story in Hotel Paradise occurs twelve years earlier when a young couple, who met by chance in Paris, make their way south to an island off the Cannes coast following an unknown path of adventure.

Genevieve and Paul find themselves in a long forgotten, dusty hotel that might just be ready to awaken to their touches. There is passion, a sense of adventure, hurt, grief and many other emotions, and the spell of the place fills their heads with dreams and ideas for the future. Then a newcomer arrives on the island, but will this upset the balance and with it their dreams?

Throughout the book there is no doubt about the location, Carol’s beloved Mediterranean coast. She describes the food, the markets, the flora, the wildlife, the coastline, the weather, the sounds and the scents. I feel I know the shores of this island despite never having visited it. I think it’s familiarity comes from the pages of one of the Olive Farm books and Carol’s descriptions make me feel I am returning to somewhere special. It has made me want to delve back into her earlier books (again).

This is a neat, perfect example of a short story. A quick morning read on a beach or by the fire – actually, it doesn’t matter where you are, just sit back and let Carol take you to the Mediterranean.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
An Easy read with interesting story line, full of hope, atmosphere and drama associated with love and heartbreak. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed Hotel Paradise, an easy read. it transported you to the sunny Mediterranean on these grey cloudy days of an English spring. Although it had a death and heartbreak it also had a happy ending and I love a happy ending.
Highly recommended
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
From Paris to the shores of the Mediterranean, this latest from Carol Drinkwater will not disappoint; it is, if anything, even better than her previous bestselling Kindle book "The Girl in Room Fourteen".
Treat yourself, you won't be sorry you did.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
She has done it again. Straight to number one. What a brilliant achievement. This is one of the most skilled short stories I have read in a long while. It is no mean feat to write successfully in this genre. Carol has a natural ability to keep us gripped to the end with her heady tale of love & passion set offshore on one of the small islands in the bay of Cannes. All the familiar sights, sounds & smells of the South of France are wrapped up in this delightful story. A web of events cleverly pulled together with the right amount of intrigue & suspense culminating in a joyful conclusion. I treated myself to a couple of hours of Carol's magic. Why don't you do the same ?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse