Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
128
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2014
In 2009, I'd have laughed at the idea of being a fan of a band fronted by a 17yr old blonde actress turned singer. Then I heard Make Me Wanna Die, loved it and loved the subsequent album Light Me Up.

This new album shows a band that have matured in terms of song-writing and playing abilities. The opening two tracks are out and out hard rock tracks before 'Heaven Knows' slows things down a little with a chorus of school kids in a similar vein to Alice Cooper's 'Schools Out'. 'House on a Hill' is a great rock ballad before 'Sweet Things' turns up the volume and pace with guitarist Ben Phillips contributing vocals.

I won't go through every track but there are no 'skippers' here for me. Ben Phillips is allowed to show his guitar skills more on this album and Taylor's vocals are near perfect throughout, whether screaming on 'Sweet Things' or on the gentle acoustic 'Waiting For a Friend'.

The Deluxe version includes acoustic versions two tracks - Going To Hell is live which makes it even more impressive.

Another reviewer criticized the album for not knowing whether it was hard rock, soft rock or pop with too many slow songs. That's rubbish! This album demonstrates the quality of a band that is equally at home in each of those categories and an album of the same types at fast tempos would quickly become boring.

'Going to Hell' is a worthy successor to 'Light Me Up'.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
OK I'm a very ancient rocker and haven't been impressed with any new music for a long time. Started leaning towards more folky music recently, don't hate todays music just not grabbed me by the throat and shook me about for a long time.
Also hate American soaps especially teen ones so never heard of Taylor Mumford, but boy can this girl sing, I couldn't believe she was so young when I first heard "make me want to die" on UK radio.
The whole band are incredibly talented musicians too. I got the first album when it first came out and was impressed that a band could have such a lot of diverse set of songs still under the rock banner. If there was any criticism it was that it was a little short and maybe their sound was a little under developed.
This album makes up for this in all ways, their song writing has matured and as Taylor herself has said they wanted to take their time and get it right..... and they have.
Listen to this album you will hear a little of all the old school rock bands wrapped up in a skilled modern music form. Plenty of influences there as they have admitted but executed with precision and passion.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
Much darker and more rock oriented than the first album (with just the one "country" influenced track at the end), Going To Hell sees The Pretty Reckless develop and tighten their sound. Taylor Momsen's vocals are more confident and assured and the band's sound frames itself around them in a more focussed way than before.

As another reviewer said, this is most certainly not the difficult second album. It is strong, assured and sets the tone for The Pretty Reckless in the future. Well worth the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2015
Excellent rock album. I'd first heard of the Pretty Reckless a long time ago but never really noticed them until my daughter lent me a copy of their first album. I found it to be excellent and then bought this one for more of the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
Like some other reviewers I am an old rocker but there are some great modern bands about. The Pretty Reckless is among the best of them. All of the band members are obviously exceptionally talented and can produce differing styles of music to a very high standard. The two bonus tracks are different versions of songs earlier on the album but they are a worthy inclusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Absolutely cracking rock album! Had long considered buying some of this band's music, and really glad I finally did.

From the catchy 'Going to Hell' and 'Heaven Knows' to the haunting 'House on a Hill' and 'Absolution', I don't thing there's a single bad track on this record.

Great songwriting, sublime riffs and Taylor Momsen's stonking voice: awesome stuff! A must buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
If you saw them at Download festival the other day, don't let the posing bag put you off, this album is much better than the way they played/she sang the songs. In much the same vein as their first album, Going to Hell has some excellent songs on it. Some are first play, instant likes. Worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
Although the first album is the better of the two, this is still worth purchasing. Think it generally sounds heavier and Taylors vocals are excellent,unike some female vocalists who front rock bands. Its lyrical content is good and personally I think it was worth the long wait. Definately one for your cd collection !!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
The Pretty Reckless were one of the few band's that I instantly fell in love with. Although I really like this album, it lack's something from the previous. It is still a really cool CD though which I'm happy with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
An album I've been looking forward to and though there aren't as many really rocking songs as I thought there would be,i certainly am not disappointed.
It kicks of sounding very much like the rock you would expect and hope for,with track 2 keeping the pace up nicely,making it clear they have a real passion for this. Track 3 Is brilliant,but my one small disappointment is it sounds like it's going to be a thumping anthem and last 7 or 8 minutes,but it's only about 4. That said,it's a brilliant unexpected twist for the band,taking things in a new direction. The tracks move along nicely with some rocking songs and several slower paced ones,but TAYLOR MOMSEN has the vocals for it. The last track is a slow one,which will no doubt become more and more popular,it just ends things on a surprisingly calm level.
I certainly have nothing against them trying out several slow tracks here,they all sound great and will no doubt grow on most listeners unconvinced by the initial play. For me,this was a brave way of moving on. some more rocking,stage thumping,crowd roaring tracks,but with plenty of passion for the slower paced rock.
I suspect there will be plenty of lighters in the air for these slower moments when sung live,i just hope there aren't too many for fans of their heavier stuff. The heavier stuff does indeed still pack a punch,going places they haven't before aswell as visiting familiar ground and embracing a reliable friend.
This may not quite be the expected 2nd album,but it's a hell of a ride. It's an offering to rock your socks off and calm you down again. In short,the pretty reckless still sound pretty damn fantastic.

As an added note,the 2 bonus tracks on the deluxe version are very nice to have,but are just alternative versions of tracks already heard,so be warned,no original material with the bonus 2. However,these 2 are still great to hear.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£0.99
£6.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)