Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2017
Awesome album from an awesome band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
exellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Brilliant ,thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Really good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
Great album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
In 2009, I'd have laughed at the idea of being a fan of a band fronted by a 17yr old blonde actress turned singer. Then I heard Make Me Wanna Die, loved it and loved the subsequent album Light Me Up.

This new album shows a band that have matured in terms of song-writing and playing abilities. The opening two tracks are out and out hard rock tracks before 'Heaven Knows' slows things down a little with a chorus of school kids in a similar vein to Alice Cooper's 'Schools Out'. 'House on a Hill' is a great rock ballad before 'Sweet Things' turns up the volume and pace with guitarist Ben Phillips contributing vocals.

I won't go through every track but there are no 'skippers' here for me. Ben Phillips is allowed to show his guitar skills more on this album and Taylor's vocals are near perfect throughout, whether screaming on 'Sweet Things' or on the gentle acoustic 'Waiting For a Friend'.

The Deluxe version includes acoustic versions two tracks - Going To Hell is live which makes it even more impressive.

Another reviewer criticized the album for not knowing whether it was hard rock, soft rock or pop with too many slow songs. That's rubbish! This album demonstrates the quality of a band that is equally at home in each of those categories and an album of the same types at fast tempos would quickly become boring.

'Going to Hell' is a worthy successor to 'Light Me Up'.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Disappointingly not as good as their first album. Most tracks have potential but never quite make it for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
Waited quite a while for this album and have not been disappointed in the slightest, in my opinion on a par with the first album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
Much darker and more rock oriented than the first album (with just the one "country" influenced track at the end), Going To Hell sees The Pretty Reckless develop and tighten their sound. Taylor Momsen's vocals are more confident and assured and the band's sound frames itself around them in a more focussed way than before.

As another reviewer said, this is most certainly not the difficult second album. It is strong, assured and sets the tone for The Pretty Reckless in the future. Well worth the purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2016
Not bad but they have done better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)