Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop now



on 23 September 2017
This is the 4th book in the Angela Marchmont series. While not the most serious of crime novels, they are well written with likeable characters and they are a very enjoyable read. If you've had enough of Agatha Christie, give these a go! I'm looking forward to reading the whole series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2017
Love these books.Really enjoyable old fashioned detective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2017
Most enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2017
I Cancelled this book 2 mins afterpurchase/Message came it was cancelled# No mention of
cancellation or credit on order page or e-mail. Please cnfirm this cancelled
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2017
Angela does get herself into awkward situations. Thankfully Freddie is there to help out again. Clara Benson's books are well written and avoid that dreadful cosy coyness of other crime fiction authors. Now I don't usually like novels with female main characters but Angela is not twee and sentimental. Neither is she of the feisty servant genre. Freddie has much of the Bertie Wooster about him, but has a brain. Very enjoyable and I will buy more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2014
By the time I had finished this, the fourth in the series, I began to suspect that the story of 'Clara Benson, unpublished in her lifetime', might be bogus. [Is it a coincidence that the words of 'Land of Hope and Glory' were written by a Mr BENSON and sung famously by Dame CLARA Butt?] The style of writing is a good approximation to 1920s English, but a few idioms are a little 'off'. The period feel is very good, but some of the scenarios seem a little 'advanced' for a lady writing in the 1920s or 30s. However, whether this is a genuine Golden Age story or a clever pastiche, it's still a good read. The mystery is never as deep as in, say, an Agatha Christie, but the author knows how to tell a story and the nostalgia element is good. The development of Mrs Marchmont's back story from volume to volume is satisfying (although it's another stylistic element which smacks of more modern detective series). I wouldn't want to put anyone off these books - they are a good, light read.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2014
This is the fourth book I have read by Clara Benson featuring her lady sleuth Mrs Angela Marchmont. This one was as thoroughly enjoyable as the previous books, and I have already purchased book 6. There is such clarity in the writing. The plotting is good and the characters are wonderful. There is humour too, which I like. There are some schools of thought which throw doubt on the provenance of authorship. Whether this is justified or not hardly matters. The books are wonderfully written and highly entertaining, all that a reader of cosy country house murder mysteries requires.
I wish some enterprising producer of TV series would see the milage in a stylish lady sleuth like Mrs Angela Marchmont. If Mrs Bradley why not Mrs Marchmont?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2014
I love these stories by Clara Benson, they are so soothingly written and resolved. Set in England and in pre-war days they are the "comfortable murder mysteries" that are a joy to find. I hope more are published soon, I shall keep looking for them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 27 March 2014
Angela Marchmont is on her way to stay with friends on Romney Marsh in Kent when thanks to a combination of thick fog and sheep on the road her Bentley with chauffer, William, at the wheel, lands in a ditch. Neither of them are hurt but while they are scrambling out of the ditch, Angela finds the body of a young woman.

Naturally she is curious about the body especially when it seems clear that it is a case of murder and it is being investigated by her friend Inspector Jameson of Scotland Yard. This is a typical Golden Age mystery with plenty of intertwining strands and plenty of people with secrets they need to keep. The book is well written with excellent dialogue and plotting as well as interesting characters.

Angela herself is really growing on me and I’m looking forward to reading more of the mysteries in which she manages to involve herself. If you enjoy Agatha Christie, Ngaio Marsh et al then I’m sure you will enjoy Clara Benson. This is the fourth book in the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2014
This story reminded me of the Mrs Bradley Mysteries that was televised a few years ago with Neil Dudgeon as the chauffeur and Diana Rigg as Mrs Bradley. It was so similar I checked the author to see if they were the same but they were different.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse