Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 13 August 2014
A confession - I've never been a big fan of Daltrey's voice. I admire him rather than love him and have always found his style a tad one dimensional compared to some of the other iconic rock vocalists (the ultimate perhaps being Mr Percy Plant). In this setting, though, it really works. Not quite the glorious menace of Mr Brilleaux, but still a gruff, raw R&B joy, Daltrey responding brilliantly to the backing of the indefatigable, inexhaustible, irresistible Wilko. The only thing that would top this is a Volume 2, recorded in about a year's time, with Wilco still going strong. And then a Volume 3, 4, 5........
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2017
This comes with a download as well, so the vinyl record remains unopened.

Having grown up with Roger Daltrey from The Who, I was pleased to be reminded of his great smoky voice. I'd not known Wilko Johnson before this album but his playing is superior.

The title song Going Back Home sounds like it should come from the deep south, especially with the mouth organ pulsating through the middle of the song.

All songs have a good beat to rock to for all ages.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2014
...because your foot will be tapping so hard you may aggravate your condition. Sadly never saw the Feelgoods in the Wilko era but have seen Wilko a few times live over the last 10 - 15 years playing small pub venues supported by the equally legendary Norman Watt-Roy on bass. Guys like them are what music is all about in that they do it for the sheer love even after the fame has passed.

Was a bit worried when I heard about this collaboration because I just couldn't picture Daltrey's voice working with the material - to me he has a rock voice, not an R&B one - but I was pleasantly surprised to hear it does.

I even thought before buying it, and hearing it, that it would be one to listen to once and then keep on the shelf. Basically I bought it to put a few more bob on Wilko's pocket for his hopefully extended old age. But now I've heard it I know it will certainly stand up to repeated listening.

It reminds me a little of "The Original Blues Band Bootleg Album" - in that it's a bunch of white English guys that grew up in the 50s and 60s listening to black American R&B and falling in love with the music. They play it with a passion that really grips you. Wilko is a genuine original in a music business sadly lacking in such these days.

I hope he recovers from his major op and that I get to see him live again, because if he does recover you can bet he will keep on playing till the end and keeping it real
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2014
Yes, Wilko is on his way to snuff it, but what a way to go, I have had a life threatening illness and my attitude was on the other extreme, I salute you sir. Back to the music, what an album, it is just everything the names on board suggest. From the first note, you have the distinctive guitar sound of Dr Feelgood with more energy, yes impossible I thought, but I had been a kid in a town just an hours drive from Southend, and to see Feelgood live was an experience, this has brought back those years, thank you. Roger Daltrey's voice has also come into a new faze of maturity, and the two musicians seem like they have worked together for life. Don't past this by, it is one great CD, good for parties or on your own and just wanting to jump with the feeling of life. I'm now GOING BACK HOME to listen again and look out for a long or short, but defiantly happy life. This just brings joy with every song, well nearly. Don't think, shall I buy it, just, DO IT.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2016
Great to see Wilko Johnson fit and healthy and doing what he does best , making great music.I've followed Wilko from the mid 70's with Dr Feel good and beyond and to hear he'd got cancer was a real blow, but never write him off this guy's a fighter!. Ably assisted by the great Roger Daltrey this is a terrific album of some original tracks and re working of Dr Feel good classics, Daltrey certainly does the Feel good tracks justice as Lee Brilleaux was one of the best vocalists ever so well done Roger great job. Look forward to the next album , fingers crossed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2014
To be honest I've never really been a fan of roger daltrey or wilko Johnson in the past. Nothing against either of them but not my bag, for want of a better term.
When I heard the single on radio it immediately stood out though, something simplistic but very different about it. Different but in a way familiar. Real unpretentious, unadorned rock n roll. Catchy tunes but in no way cheeses or naff or cliched. They sound like they belong together, that gritty voice and the stripped back telecaster growl are perfect partners.
Right down the fabulous packaging the album feels like it's been around for ever, like you you just dug it out the back of your dad's collection!
Difficult to ignore the story of wilko's health problems surrounding this album and one can only hope this is not his last album, but should it turn out that way....what a way to go.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2015
A surprisingly enjoyable collection of songs which I hadn't very high expectations of when I bought it. The Feelgood classics are slightly mellowed and Roger Daltrey's gravelly voice is what I imagine Lee Brilleaux would have sounded like, had he still been with us. He adds a tunefulness that, with the best will in the world, Wilko lacks, so the result is closer to the original Feelgood than Wilko or the post-split Feelgood sounded. Saying that sounds as if this is just a hark back to the 1970s sound, but it is more than that and the newer songs have their merits too, One track, 'Climb out your window', sounds just like the Saw Doctors, another band I enjoy listening to. Overall, it's very impressive that either of these two can produce such convincing high-energy R&B and my only complaint is that the whole experience is too short.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2015
Pretty decent r n b work out. Daltrey in better voice than for years. Material a little unadventurous. You have to see Wilko to appreciate him properly : he ain't for studios!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2014
Wilko Johnson is one of the all time greats, Roger Daltrey is one of the all time greats.Why it has taken the sad news of wilko's impending death from cancer to get the two together is a mystery to me.
Genius guitarist coupled with vocals to die for combined to leave the listener wanting more, which sadly there probably will not be.
i was lucky enough to see wilko johnson and the solid senders perform at Bradys ( formerly Eric's ). i also watched Dr Feelgood at three different venues. Therefore i am biased. But if you like good music and you're thinking of buying you will not be disappointed.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2014
This is an absolute diamond of an album. Wilco Johnson and Roger Daltrey are not a pairing that immediately comes to mind, but a shared love for Johnny Kidd & the Pirates brought the pair into the studio to record ten of Wilco's numbers from his Dr Feelgood days and later along with an interesting Dylan cover.

Roger Daltrey's voice hasn't faded, in fact it seems to be getting even stronger as he gets older, and he attacks Wilco's lyrics with obvious gusto. This isn't a singer trying to "channel" Lee Brilleaux, this is Roger Daltry, he doesn't have to pretend to be someone else, and he takes ownership of these songs with small but suitable changes to their performance that gives them a freshness without loosing their "pub-rock" roots.

Wilco's guitar, well you could recognise that Telecaster jangle of his anywhere, and he attacks the strings to match Daltrey's singing.

Latest news is that Wilco is now free from cancer, long may this last because I would love to hear some more albums of R&B classics from these two old masters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)