Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2014
Almost anyone who buys a camera these specifications does not need 80% of the advice in this book. What I want is an in-depth look at how to get the best of a new camera model, not a rehash of basic camera technique. This book is a waste of money for all but the novice photographer.
I look forward to reading Gary Friedman's book. If it's anything like his book on the Sony RX-100, it will be much more focused on the camera and not yet a not another repeat of general photographic techniques/.
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
Unless you are a total beginner who doesn't yet understand concepts such as depth of field, exposure, etc. then buying this is a waste of money. There is very little useful information about the cameras which purport to be the subject of the book, and nothing that couldn't be easily figured out from an hour or two browsing through the menus. If you want a text that will elucidate some of the secrets of your mirrorless Sony, then I'd recommend you buy The Sony a7 and a7R: The Unofficial Quintessential Guide by Brian Matsumoto Ph.D and Carol F. Roullard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
I was struggling with the focussing options of the camera - the manual is too brief on this for me - and this book explains it all very well.
The book is well structured and covers the camera's menus in detail. I would recommend this Kindle edition.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
This book was written in too much of a hurry. I found it rather non technical, it was lacking in information about using brightness levels in the finder and monitor, shutter speed thresholding when in auto/ISO and numerous other areas. It was better than the instruction book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Brian Smith has pitched the narrative of his book exactly as befits the sort of person who would choose to own an advanced camera such as the Sony A7/A7r. Quite clearly he states it is not intended as a 'handbook'. Indeed he points the reader to various pages in the Sony User Guide which is supplied in electronic form with the camera. Brian guides readers how to use the many features of the camera concentrating on advice to speed up familiarity with the various controls and shooting aids. Essentially, he recognises the versatility of the camera and includes useful chapters on ergonomics and the thought process one needs to adopt to get the very best from a shooting assignment. The inclusion of information about the use of legacy lenses is a highly appreciated section of the book. A well thought out and useful book for A7/A7r owners.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
One of the best manuals I have owned.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
Not enough detail about getting the best from the specific camera - might suit a beginner to high performance cameras
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
Very informative and well written. Even an old hand like me found things in this book I was completely unaware of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
Great book for the A7 user. Not to in depth so an easy read for a novice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
great book for people new to these cameras
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)