Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
278
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£3.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 February 2016
INTRODUCTION:

In buying 3D blu-ray movies, one has to be careful. Sometimes, it only comes with 3D blu-ray, with no 2D blu-ray. It is wise to read the top of the front cover carefully. In the past, 3D and 2D are housed in their separate BD-50 discs. Now with the latest releases by Entertainment One: I Frankenstein, The Legend Of Hercules and Pompeii, on the top of the front cover is clearly stated 3D blu-ray + blu-ray. To my surprise, both 3D and 2D are in ONE single disc!!! No wonder the price is relatively a little cheaper (about $20 vs $29).
I hope this is not a new trend, compressing two movies into one disc! If you have 3D blu-ray player & TV, a menu will show up allowing you to choose 3D vs 2D. But if you do not have 3D TV, this menu will not show up. It is automatic default to 2D.

VIDEO (3D):

I, Frankenstein (3D) arrives on blu-ray with MPEG-4 MVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. Post-conversion to 3D was done in the View-D™ Stereo process created by Prime Focus North America and India. The picture exhibits a colour palette cloaked in golden-brownish hues, with dark shadows and solid blacks. Contrast is well balanced. The 3D effect is effectively dimensional with excellent perspective and depth, with a focus on the positive parallax and occasional out-of-screen effects. The action sequences are non-stop, with the enhanced dimensionality created by the 3D conversion. This is an exciting, visually dimensional picture that delivers an engaging 3D experience. (4.0/5)

VIDEO (2D):

I, Frankenstein (2D) arrives on blu-ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. The digital source is relatively clean. Clarity is good, but lacks the depth in the 3D version. (3.5/5)

AUDIO:

I, Frankeinstein only comes with DTS-HD 5.1 Master Audio track, instead of the 7.1 in the theatre. The soundtrack is infused with a strong, driving orchestral music score that is nicely recorded with a wide and deep soundstage that extends to the surrounds for strong envelopment. Atmospherics and sound effects aggressively define the soundfield with directionalized impact. Deep bass is a constant strong sonic effect. Dialogue is clear. (4.5/5)

MOVIE:

Based on The Darkness Studios graphic novel I, Frankenstein created by Kevin Grevioux, the thriller takes place 200 years after Dr. Frankenstein's shocking creation came to life. Celestial forces name the creature Adam, and arm him with weapons to defeat the demons that are constantly seeking his destruction, also to uncover the secret of his longevity and use it to sustain their own immortality. The gargoyles were on the opposing end. The script features one of the most random pairings of supernatural creatures to ever hit the screen. (2/5)

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I hope that this is not a new trend – to put both 3D and 2D blu-ray on ONE disc. For high definition movies, this is not acceptable. I wonder if the quality would have further improved if they were on separately discs, and not compressed together. As to this movie, the plot is inexplicably random, paper thin, and dumb. Fortunately, the 3D post conversion is not as bad as I thought. If you have a 3D TV, the 3D version is definitely preferred. I personally did not mind the mindless fun for 92 minutes. For 3D blu ray, it is still relatively cheap.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Disappointing film, good cast, half way descent sfx, just no script worth reading. The cast seem bored even the normally excellent Bill Nighy has no energy in this.
if you must see it rent it
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
The reviews on Love Film / Amazon tempted me to add this to my rental list - Big mistake.

I only lasted 20 minutes into the film before I hit the eject button (and I have made it to the end of some pretty average films in the past so this is not like me).

I then looked up the review of this film on Empire Magazines on line site, they gave it 1 star a rating - one which I would fully endorse.

Poorly paced and a little puerile in my view, didn't even get to see Bill Nighy's apperance.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
A film should be entertaining, right? I, Frankenstein is not!
The sipid, but childish Van Helsing, was at least fun to watch, and had no pretensions.

This mess of a film, starts off well, with a nod to the original source material of Mary Shelly's book...

But that's it! It's downhill as soon as this 'original' starts.
Dull dialogue, with fake cut-glass English accents (from almost every speaking character) that are just unbelievable!

Miranda Otto, trying hard to reprise a role reminiscent of something from Lord of the Rings. But dialogue dull-as-ditch water, makes sure you don't care what she says!

Pointless action sequences, that are obviously pandering to both Twilight and video-game fans... Awful.

All wrapped in a plot, I lost interest in, immediately after the opening monologue....

Too dull, stupid and pandering, to do justice to it's source material!!!
Avoid!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
My expectations set abysmally low going into this, I was actually shocked by how enjoyable 'I, Frankenstein' turned out to be. Perhaps not classic cinema, but better than average on all accounts, with fairly decent (if occasionally hokey) dialogue, an excellent cast of main characters, and commendable use of special effects.

Beginning with a very terse introduction to the final pages of Shelly's original novel, Frankenstein's monster, referred to as Adam in this production, is merely borrowed for plot purposes here, so do not expect this to be a faithful adaptation. It was never intended to be, and is only an extended epilogue, taking place in the present day; though there are some subtle parallels regarding the ethics of certain scientific endeavors, and how that related to Victor Frankenstein's experiments two hundred years previous. In the here and now, Adam is sought after by demonic forces who wish to use his body, with all its preternatural strength, for reasons that are probably a bit spoilery, so I will say only that since he is a re-animated corpse, the demons /and/ gargoyles alike have made assumptions about the nature of his life.

The gargoyles, it has been mentioned, seem a strange adversary for the demons - this is actually not the case. In medieval Europe, gargoyles were utilized as protectors of churches, as their countenances were thought to ward off evil spirits. This aspect I found refreshing, as while many of the demons were beautiful and alluring on the outside, goodness within was not always equated with an outer appeal. Kudos to the producers for that subtextual nugget of gold.

Aside from battling the demons, the gargoyles true mission is to defend mankind from the demons whose sole purpose is to destroy humanity. Neither are initially portrayed as allies to Adam - they are essentially both using him for their own ends because there is one aspect both gargoyles and demons have not accounted for.

I cannot agree there was no character growth in this movie. On the contrary, once Terra (a scientist unknowingly in the employ of Wessex, a.k.a. Naberius The Demon Prince) comes onto the scene, Adam's interactions with her eventually force his entire outlook upside down. Everyone has misjudged Adam, but none more than he has himself. The final revelation played heavily upon the overall theme, that is to say, that "all life is sacred", which is the reason I suspect so many reviewers are having conniptions over this movie. Based on its own merits, and not of other franchises, which it bore no resemblance to, this was a good, solid film in the vein of old school good vs. evil movies.
99 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 April 2015
Aaron Eckhart is a good actor, but like many gets some terrible roles perhaps by bad script choice or ill advisement, anyway he is wasted in this dark fantasy tosh.

Plot wise he's Frankenstein' s creation who battles demons in just about watchable effects laden scenes that seem to have been done in every fantasy movie since the creation of CGI.

Bill Nighy plays the evil baddie and they fight in some GGI enhanced showdown that resembles every showdown in a fantasy film since the invention of CGI.

Theres some gothic sets enhanced by CGI effects and almost remnants of a plot that are enhanced by CGI effects.

All in all pretty dull,, humorless, wooden acting from a decent and respectable cast, but hey it does have lots of effects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
So people comment on 'omigosh there is no story, o dear the plotline, gargoyles?'
I think the film is great! No it doesn't have an edge of your seat storyline and yes the dialogue is cheesey and B Movie status...BUT it has awesome CGI and its a movie about fighting demons for god sake! If you want realism and intense storylines then go watch something boring like Pride and Prejudice. This movie is for sitting back and enjoying mindless demon killing and good movie fun where you don't have to think, you just watch!
It's well worth it for this price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Not quite Mary Shelley, but highly entertaining all the same. A very different take on the original story but very enjoyable with good effects and a modern twist
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
The film starts out smartly in 1795 with first person narration by the Frankenstein monster himself. After a run in with some demons, Frankenstein opts to head up north and film "Frankenstein Theory." The demons that want him are lead by Naberius (Bill Nighy). It seems Naberius' boss is Satan himself, and I don't mean the hockey player. The reason why they want Frankenstein is unclear, but later reveals itself...and how.

Since the powers of evil want Mr. F. Stein, so do the powers of good which are gargoyles. They are lead by Leonore (Miranda Otto) who now has elven ears, but too late; Viggo Mortensen isn't in this film. They want Frankenstein who she now names Adam (Aaron Eckhart) because that sounded significant to the script writers who haven't had a brilliant idea yet.

The film moves to the current age (pun intended) where Mr. Wessox (Bill Nighy again- wink wink nudge nudge) leads a group of re-animaters (Yvonne Strahovski).

The special effects were decent. When demons die they burst into flames like flash powder and nothing around them burns, sort of like CG fire. Indeed, the fighting was the best part of the film because when someone had to read a line, the film died. (pun almost intended). The dialog was simply horrible and the cardboard characters had no sense of humor. The slow scenes were tough to sit through, tempting the average person to go to the theater restroom and enter a different cinema.

The kids may like it.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
A film so wretched that the Underworld series (from which this was undoubtedly ripped-off) look like masterpieces by comparison even though they too are unremitting rubbish. Avoid at all costs and Bill Nighy, for crimes against cinema, hang your head in shame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse