Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
Refuse To Lose
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 9 May 2014
Young Jarekus Singleton is going to score big with this his first major blues label disc. Complex rhythms, very strong guitar work and modern street wise lyrics some done in a hip hop/ rap rhythm all add to the charm of this magnificent release that should catch the ear of many and comes highly recommended to those with a modern blues ear. Every song is a winner and Jarekus' youth and personal charm should help him break out into the big time!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
There is no shortage of excellent blues guitarists out there, but vocally perhaps a few of them fall a bit short. Not Jarekus Singleton. He seems to have the full package and on this evidence is possibly the best blues singer/guitarist since Robert Cray. As well as powerful, goose bump inducing riffs, Singleton delivers lyrics that, although not perhaps the most poetic, are certainly heartfelt and delivered right from the soul. I'm hoping he performs in the UK in the near future.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 July 2014
Jarekus Singleton is a 30-year old from Mississippi with roots in both church music and rap who has now released his first CD on Alligator Records. This is a really good record, original but with nods to both the blues tradition and also his rap and gospel roots, he can certainly sing and his guitar playing is also very good, with the band - James Salone on organ, Ben Sterling on bass guitar and John Blackmon on drums - playing its part with their driving, funky arrangements that perfectly underpin both Jarekus's vocals and guitar solos. His songs deal with both relationships and modern social issues ("Blues game" must be the first blues song to mention texting and tweeting!) and the production by Singleton and Bruce Iglauer make this a great sounding record. I'd probably go for "Purposely" as my favourite track but the standard is high throughout - a name to watch out for in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Just a great cd of original blues. Good songs, vocals and the playing is sublime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
one of the best blues albums of the year
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
Gift - Very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Average album, the guitar playing is faultless but the lyrics lack maturity in my opinion and that results in me hitting the next button a lot a lot. I'm sure that will improve with age though! The stand out track for me is Blame Game, I love it and it's the reason for the 3rd star. I hope you go from strength to strength Jarekus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Perfect!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
Not totally convinced on this artist I was expecting something like the late great Albert Collins
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)