Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
62
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Also known as Delivery: The Beast Within which is a bit of a plot giveaway but the DVD cover is a complete red herring.
Kyle and Rachel Massy are a young couple who are expecting their first child and agree to be part of a reality TV show having a film crew follow them documenting the events leading up to the birth.
All seems normal at first until the family dog takes a dislike to her then she has a suspected miscarriage after which you pretty much guess a lot of the events as the odd found footage cliché appears like distorted playback and strange noises but thankfully it doesn't go too far down that path, however like most found footage movies it gives away some of the ending at the start.
The two leads work very well especially Laurel Vail as Rachel who slowly during the pregnancy turns away from the bubbly young wife we see at first to an anxious wreck as she starts to believe there is something wrong with the baby.
Thankfully it doesn't follow the downward spiral that sinks many found footage movies and full credit for not wimping out out as there is an really unexpected twist at the end that works very well and caught me by surprise and helps give it a solid 3 stars.
There are no extras at all.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
I'm a huge lover of 'found footage ' movies, and when I watched the advert for this one on Prime Movies I felt it looked average but worth a watch. However by the end all I could do was state at the credits as they rolled by and boggle at the ending.

The movie centers around a couple, Kyle and Rachel Massey, who are participating in a new reality show called 'Delivery', which charts a pregnant couple's journey from discovery of conception to birth. The couple are happily bouncing around, telling family and friends and doing the basic check ups needed. Things seem to be going well, until Rachel ends up in hospital. When she returns home, the family dog tries to attack her, which is our first clue that something has changed. From then on its a gradual spiral downwards into Rachel's changing world, while Kyle fumbles along, confused and desperate to help but being powerless.

I was pleasantly surprised that we're not thrust into the same cliché demonic found footage content. There's the usual camera distortion and strange noises, a few odd goings on in the house but most of the story rests in Rachel's experiences. I was particularly impressed with Laurel Veil's portrayal of Rachel as she becomes more and more depressed and fearful, she doesn't force her character into a zombie servant of evil but keeps it far more real, giving you the impression of a young and scared woman who is confused and afraid, yet also not in control.of herself. Danny Barclay as Kyle also does a great job of a confused husband trying to get his wife through what he feels is simply a bad pregnancy, while desperately but unsuccessfully trying not to buckle under the pressure.

The premise for this film doesn't look great at first but when you hit that ending, you're taken aback. Yes, we are told that Rachel dies but that really makes no difference to the story since everything you expect just doesn't happen anyway. I found myself gripped on this one, it wasn't as immersive as it could have been thought and I'd have preferred one or two jumpscares, but that doesn't make this a bad film by far. Really enjoyable and keeps you watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
I was very pleasantly impressed with this "found footage" movie. Generally the huge surge of these types of movies, tend to produce very bad work, but this one was actually surprisingly good, with a good shock ending too. Give it a go and see what you think,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The film opens by letting you know Rachel (Laurel Vail) dies in the end which would normally be a plot spoiler if you make it that far. Rachel and Kyle (Danny Barclay) are having a baby and opt to allow a camera crew follow them around to film for a TV reality show. We watch the first episode which is why it looks professionally done. The rest of the footage doesn't make it to production.

After Rachel has a near miscarriage, strange things happen like the dog growls at her and an old Hispanic woman attacks her screaming "devil" in Spanish. Yes, this all builds up to an ending, you might want to miss. For those who loved "Devil's Due" you might as well waste your money on this one too.

Everyone else: Not worth renting.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Anyone planning to make a film broadly categorised in the found-footage sub-genre of horror must be a glutton for punishment, as it's pretty much guaranteed the end result is going to receive some poor reviews on the basis of being 'just another' found-footage film alone. DELIVERY isn't just another found-footage film. I'd be more inclined to call it a mockumentary, but either way, this isn't your standard 'idiots film things when they should be running away' film. This is an exceptionally well-executed piece of mock-documentary horror.

The film follows a young couple expecting their first baby. As another reviewer has noted, it is revealed in the first few minutes that the expectant mother isn't alive today. Calling this a 'spoiler' is ludicrous. It's clearly a planted narrative device to establish a sense of dread - and it works. The first half hour of the film thereafter runs as a pilot for an abandoned network TV show in which cameras follow the young couple through the early days of their pregnancy; the satire of scripted, engineered and falsely edited 'reality' television here is fantastic, right down to pointless shots of city highways and a hilariously cutesy opening credit sequence. However, the pregnancy takes a downturn towards the end of the pilot episode and the rest of the film is constructed from unused, raw footage that was never edited for air.

Needless to say, at this point things take a turn for the horrific. Those who have compared this film to DEVIL'S DUE clearly are incapable of making the distinction between Hollywood, studio-sanctioned horror and a well-made, modestly-budgeted independent feature. There are no laughably bad scenes here in which unwitting victims are pulled around on wires to absolutely no effect, and, thankfully, very minimal use of CGI. DELIVERY Is a very different beast; this is a slow-burning, tense, methodically frightening psychological horror film which is original in its hints at the exploitative underbelly of reality television while playing on the age-old demon baby trope that goes back to ROSEMARY'S BABY, IT'S ALIVE, ERASERHEAD and hundreds more. Yes, this element of the plot does occasionally become somewhat derivative, but DELIVERY is an homage made with love, not a hack job designed to cash-in.

Overall, this is a film comprised of excellent performances, wonderful direction, biting social satire and a truly palpable sense of mounting dread that concludes in an unforgettable climatic scene. I first saw this film at a festival, in a packed-out cinema filled with hardened horror fans. The room was deathly silent throughout the entire film (a rarity today, even at festivals...) before the film's concluding shot filled the room with shocked gasps. If that isn't an endorsement, I don't know what is.

Perhaps my only criticism would be of the DVD itself, which has more to do with Metrodome than with the filmmakers. This is, like many Metrodome releases, a bare-bones disc with no extras. But the film itself is truly worth the money - DELIVERY has got to stand with THE BLAIR WITCH PROJECT, THE LAST HORROR MOVIE and THE BORDERLANDS as one of the greatest 'found-footage' horror films of all time.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
Another found footage in the vein of Paranormal Activity but under the guise of a non-paranormal documentary that went very, very wrong. Held my attention until the very end and stayed in my mind for the rest of the day. It's maybe playing up to the cheap shocks and familiar horror tropes a bit too much but it's entertaining regardless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
I'm old-fashioned, I admit. I like my horror films to actually contain some scares.

This slow, scare-free travesty has only a surprise ending to recommend it, but the words 'too little, too late' spring to mind. The story of a haunted pregnancy shows us nothing new, and relies on cheap fizzles of the docu-camera to indicate something uncanny, that, and words of foreboding.foreshadowing from the docu-makers and family in the 'present' - which it uses like a carrot held out that if you stick around, something scary will happen, honest. It doesn't.

No. This will not do. It's going straight to the nearest 'CEX' shop and if they sell it for more than 20p, let buyer beware.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
This is 1 of few films released at the moment with the whole ROSEMARYS BABYs-ish handheld found footage style films. Its good and certainly beats DEVILS DUE and the far worse CURSED. Plus the ending is great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
Unfortunetly this has one of the most annoying film formats of all, it's a horror film set out like a reality show so every five minuets theres someone gassing on constantly. Essentially its the pilot episode of a show called 'Delivery' and the episode that never aired so its kinda like Paranormal Activity meets Rosemary's Baby. I hate reality shows in general so as you can imagine this ruined this for me. Apparently the demon Alastor (which isn't actually a demon but a generic term for evil spirits that specifically torment their victims) has impregnated a first time mother. Naturally there isn't that much happening in the way of spooks or dread the whole thing is constant 'technical issues', raw meat eating and screaming on the soundtrack that sounds reminiscent of The Well to Hell hoax, theres also the lovely insertion of the Thaumaturgic Triangle which is almost as in your face as when the Paranormal Activity movies kept putting them behind paintings or drawing in sandpits. Suffice it to say I don't like this film at all, in fact I can honestly say I absolutely HATE it, just when I thought the 'Found-Footage' sub-genre of Horror couldn't get anymore stupid something like this is created.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
Absolutely brilliant for a low budget movie , the cinematography was remarkably good , as well as the acting and script.The ending could have been better nevertheless there was enough suspense to keep me glued.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)