Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
180
4.7 out of 5 stars
The Yes Album
Format: Blu-ray Audio|Change
Price:£21.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 June 2017
Classic YES. Of course it is and it's just brilliant stuff and is timeless. Well I think it is. I am kinda stuck on Starship Trooper. It's so fabulous. I think I might have been brain washed with this album as a child as my brother played it constantly. Everything on it is so familiar and somewhat comforting, like your favourite jumper that you can't possibly part with. The LPs of old are probably in an attic somewhere but glad I could replace everything with CDs. This is definitely not one I will use as a coaster - that's for sure. These are top notch, fantastic, musicians - nuff said I think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Bought this years ago, and am getting back into vinyl again, had to get it, its still brilliant..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
Got this downloaded version as my vinyl copy is starting to get old and would rather not play it too often, but still need my fix of my 70s prog rock reminding me of my younger days
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2017
Magnificent 5.1 edition helps fill out my re-collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
great music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Great album and very good service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2017
No probs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Of all of Yes's albums this one has arguably has the best songs on it, I approached with caution after purchasing the recent Close To The Edge re-issue which was sonically a real let down, this album is totally the opposite, the Blu-ray contains one of the best sounding 5.1 mixes I have ever heard, the instruments burst from the mix, Chis Squire's Bass and Tony Kaye's Hammond are a sound to behold, Wilson has a really good quality recording to play with, Bruford's drumming is a revelation, the sound of the toms just blows you away, Howe's intricate overdubs reveal guitar lines that were not apparent previously in the mix, of course the vocals are peerless as you would expect.

You are likely to be familiar with the songs if you are a Yes fan, if you are new to the band, this is a classic album presented in stunning clarity by a band at an early peak in their career (there were others), the extras include a live version's of America and a cover of the Rascals 'It's Love' , these show the band evolving pre Wakeman.

The extended studio take of 'A Venture' featuring Kaye's piano on this often overlooked track is beautiful, I loved the original but the longer version is a real bonus.

A special mention has to given to 'Perpetual Change' the instrumental section and the way it has been mixed leave you open mouthed, all in all if my enthusiasm comes across it's because this re-issue adds to the original issue and is not only as good as you remember it but better, you can't ask for more than that really,
11 Comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the 2nd Steven Wilson re-mixed Yes album. The 5.1 mix is better than the previous effort with a far better balance of vocal and instruments with Steve Howes guitar more upfront on this release. The dynamics also seem better compared to the previous.
The Yes Album has several classic tracks such as Starship Trooper and I've Seen All Good People that have remained on the play list for over 40 years. The bonus material are a good inclusion with the original mix in 96/24 kHz sounding brilliant in high res.
Another must get on BluRay Audio.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 1999
Steve Howe - Guitar, Tony Kaye - Keyboards, Jon Anderson - Vocals, Chris Squire - Bass and Bill Bruford - drums is a classic Yes line up. Not a lengthy album (they weren't in those days) at 41 minutes, but there's no padding here. The opening track 'Yours is no disgrace' sets the scene - nine and a half minutes of guitar mastery fused with keyboards to produce scintillating high-energy 'progressive rock'. From the start Chris Squire's distinctive bass sound is really noticeable and this features throughout the album. Next up 'Clap' not the best song ever written but it does give Steve Howe the opportunity to do a solo and show off his acoustic guitar skills to a live audience - who lap it up. Ending what was the first side (in the days of vinyl when there were two sides to an album) 'Starship Trooper' - a classic which soars and glides cleverly between electric guitar and acoustic and back again. Jon Anderson's voice becomes part of the overall musical effect. The track finishes wish a long slow build (3 minutes) of guitars and keyboards climaxing in a great crescendo particularly from Steve Howe and Tony Kaye - this track would have been best as the last of the album because while the rest is still great it can't match this. 'I've seen all good people' One song in two parts. Starts off gently, nice harmonies, acoustic guitar, (listen carefully and you can hear a chorus of "give peace a chance") changes to electric abruptly after 3 minutes with Steve Howe and Chris Squire leading the way and Tony Kaye following with 'rocky' piano. 'Venture' The main instruments featured on this track are rock style piano and bass - an unusual combination. Jon Anderson's vocals shown to best effect on this track. Not one of the best tracks on the album but still satisfyingly pleasant. 'Perpetual change' opens with Steve Howe giving his guitar neck a damned good riffing (if there is such a thing). Things soon smooth off with gentle vocals and careful guitar picking. This is a pattern which is repeated to good effect culminating with the eventual finale which sees Chris Squire, Steve Howe, Tony Kaye and Jon Anderson taking turns to shine - and they do! I haven't mentioned Bill Bruford on drums. What can I say, although it's an integral part of the music I find it difficult to get excited about drums in a rock group, nevertheless faultless drumming throughout. If you want to know what all the fuss was about back in the early 70's check this album out!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)