Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
118
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.28


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2017
I enjoyed this book. It was nonsense of course, the reviews about its political slant are spot on. But, for all that, it was an enjoyable read, about the same as perhaps watching a die hard movie. You have to suspend reality to enjoy the story!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
If like me you are quite happy to accept the author's cod politics as part of good sci fi tale then you will enjoy this book. Just don't bother with the daft attempt at an explanation of the thinking behind the story lines at the end of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
Such a shame that the author took his wonderful ideas, his sense of humour, an interesting storyline, and then chose to use them beat his personal politics and prejudices into his readers. To those of us not born on US soil, those with a greater tolerance maybe of others, all this book manages to do is convince us that should we ever find ourselves in a position to populate a galactic civilisation, the last country we will call on would be the USA.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
As always an interesting story with good character developement and world building similar in theme to several other authors work but still worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Main plot is standard 'plucky humans use military strategy and tactics to overcome numerical advantage of aliens'.
What makes this a little different is the moral lessons the leader of a new state learns - that leadership is a very hard burden, mistakes _will_ be made, and some compromises are impossible to avoid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Good read, I prefer a 3 book series as I like to see how the characters develop over time rather than a single book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
I struggled with the arrogance of the main character and the unrealistic speed with which they seem to be able to build and recruit their new nation. I have enjoyed Christopher's previous novels but this one did not gel for me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Very Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
Another great read from Mr Nuttall. When will the concluding series be released?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Interesting concept.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse