Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
34
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2014
This is an endearing, funny, charming and thoroughly British story of a group containing three generations of a family. from. a four year old to an 80 year old, a stroppy teen and four adults each getting into their own levels of mischief and misadventure, on an extended summer driving holiday in France, which is deliberately not too planned, finding campsites as they go along on their journey and trying to sample all that France has to offer. To get some of the jokes, it helps if you have experience of the ups and downs of camping in a large group, of trying to keep people of multiple ages and interests happy simultaneously, of driving in France, and of the cultural differences with our French neighbours that can be in equal parts frustrating and appealing. Typos are common with Kindle books, but they do not distract too much from what is a funny light read. I finished it in a day but it left me in a good mood, and quite keen to get back across the Channel.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
I had never read the comments on proof reading etc until after I read the book. Glad I wasn't the only one that noticed. Besides the strange grammar one of the main people in the book was Clare but sometimes she became Claire which confused at first because I thought we had a new person in the family but I got used to her name keep altering from one to the other after a while. It was quite funny in parts and I got through it eventually. I think for the money I don't regret downloading it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2006
I found this book hilarious and thorughly enjoyed it. I read it whilst camping in France myself and found it the perfect holiday read.
Thoroughly recommended to anyone and everyone especially campers
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
This is a great book. Take it with you on your next trip to France. When you have put up,your tent and into your first glass of red laugh with this strange family on their annual holiday to France; anyone who has decided on a camping holiday will sympathise with a grand dad who needs the loo constantly and gets lost finding one, wives who use war paint to chase French men, and Brits wearing thongs. In all a good read and huge fun.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
If you have ever pitched a tent or had a family holiday in France then this book will ring a bell with you.
A great, light-hearted holiday read following the highs and lows of a group of family and friends.
SP
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed this light-hearted and witty read. Having spent many holidays pitching tents with the family in various French campsites, the story is one that any self-confessed Francophile can relate to.

Prepare to laugh out loud!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
A hilarious book in which to families (including one young child, a teenager and Granddad) have the adventure of their lives by going camping in France. Written with wit and lots of laughter in mind - wonderful, funny book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
I found it easy to identify with this book after many camping holidays in France. The author has completely described the situations that many English people experience whilst using campsites in France I would recommend this book to anyone who has ever had the experience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
Very easy to read, relaxing and amusing and very different to many books about France. The characters were visitors who came to France, appreciated it, left and hopefully will return and provide more material for a sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
Very funny and in parts realistic. Some of the characters are a bit over the top but some of their misadventures could happen. I found this a very easy read , it had me chuckling quite a lot. Good for a holiday read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)