Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
35
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2008
I have to agree totally with the previous reviewer. The first vinyl album I ever bought was Journey but for me Criminal Record and White Rock were Rick's finest. My battered White Rock 33 and a third has taken just too much of a battering to do justice to sublime music, the jumps, the clicks, the strange hisses that accompany my rather battered old record player too all dulling the masterpiece, and I have craved a CD version for ages now to enjoy this magnificent piece of work in something like its original glory. Please listen to a frustrated aging 46 year old!!!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 January 2015
I was bought this CD as a gift through Amazon. I had heard the first track, White Rock, and thought it was brilliant. It's a fast-paced rocker with Wakeman showing off his legendary dexterity over the keyboard. Very good: could the other tracks match it, I wondered.

'Searching for Gold' is at a slower pace, synthesizer backed by electric piano. It successfully conjures pictures of snow-covered slopes (for me anyway!): shivery stuff! "The Loser" has a piano base with synths over and a brief interlude with the St Paul's Cathedral choir. It's mood music.

Finishing what was the first side of the original LP is 'The Shoot': a whole variety of styles morphed into one, including honky-tonk on a synth and the use of a Pipe Organ. It's a sort of 'Variations on a Theme by Wakeman' but with the variations being produced by using a wide variety of instruments.

The second side opened with 'Lax'x', which starts discordantly and contains sudden starts and stops leading to a main theme which is quite atmospheric. 'After the Ball' starts like a late-romantic piano work that is developed with synth accompaniment. 'Montezuma's Revenge' is based on old Hungarian gypsy music, again played on a variety of instruments. The record ends with 'Ice Run'

So what to make of this CD? First of all, Wakeman is technically brilliant. Secondly he was, at the time, experimenting with the sounds that could be generated from the new electronic instruments of the time, and some of the tracks reflect that experimentation. There is therefore a very great deal packed into this record, and some of the ideas could well have been developed further. Thirdly, it is one of those rare instances where the soundtrack has outlived the film for which it was written.

In its day this record was a big hit, both for the excellence of the keyboard playing and for its innovative use of new instruments. Today the 'new' sounds are familiar to most of us and the record will be judged on its musicianship, which is high. Five stars in its day, I think, and still four stars now, almost forty years later. Worth buying.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2010
Why can we not have a DVD version of the Film roundup of the winter olympics (? Sarajevo) for which this music was the accompanyment?
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2006
This is the best of wakeman. Forget Journey and 6 wives, this has got it all. Rick's solo in the opening Title track is sublime genius. The St pauls Cathedral Boys Choir reverberates beautifully and the album is just stuffed full of great moog sounds, hip and funky grooves and some of Rick's best melodies. This is a totally original sound.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2008
A fantastic album, perhaps not the audible quality as some might like, (dating from 1976) but nothing noticeable to your average joe.

A fun buy, but at £526 (like at the moment!!!) a little pricey! hahaha. Perhaps £15 would be more suitable, even if it is an import from japan, it's a frickin CD. I've already got this on LP anywho. The second White Rock is good too, worth buying!

:D
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
This review is in respect of the May 2014 CD re-issue. Having possessed the original vinyl album, (on first release), and a previous cd release, (imported due to non availability in the UK), I can safely say that this version brings a new clarity and definition to the music. Unfortunately this album has always had problems in all it's incarnations. The original vinyl release was at that dreadful time in the 70's when the quality of the vinyl was simply appalling, more cracks, pops and scratches than you could shake a stick at. After a few plays, even on a quality deck, the album became almost impossible to play with any enjoyment. The new release is crystal clear, but this has rendered it a little 'bright', it's not lacking in bass but the top notes dominate a little due to this new openness and transparency, the previous issues tended to sound a bit muddy. Overall I'm pleased, it must be remembered that this album is a soundtrack specifically done for the official film of the Innsbruck Winter Olympics and without the visual images you are always left with the feeling that something is missing, hence I can only rate it at 4 stars. If it could have been issued as a box set with a DVD of the film, then that 5th star might have been possible.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
One of Rick Wakeman's best. I had the LP for some time until it became too scratched, so this is a good addition to the music collection.
Various themes around the 1976 Innsbruck Olympics and the film of the same name, using what were advanced keyboards of the era and superbly played
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2007
Why is this excellent album unavailable in cd format? Come on, it shouldn't be that expensive for the record company to produce a few copies!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
I have waited a long time for this classic to be re-released...and it was well worth the wait. Quite a short album - even as an LP - but definitely one to get if you are a fan of Rick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
Excellent CD - I've been wanting this for years - bought vinyl when it first came out and haven't stopped listening to the CD since I got it.

Great thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)