Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
108
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 January 2016
Other fans have said it better than I could so, in summary, a new direction and an interesting mix, but well worth the wait, IMO.

Every fan has a favourite and mine is, to me, the ultra-powerful EMPIRE

ooOoo

TRACKS

STANDARD:

1. CAN'T REMEMBER TO FORGET YOU (FEATURING RIHANNA)
2. EMPIRE
3. YOU DON'T CARE ABOUT ME
4. DARE (LA LA LA)
5. CUT ME DEEP (FEATURING MAGIC)
6. 23
7. THE ONE THING
8. MEDICINE (FEATURING BLAKE SHELTON)
9. SPOTLIGHT
10. BROKEN RECORD
11. NUNCA ME ACUERDO DE OLIVIDARTE
12. LOCA POR TI

DELUXE EDITION TRACKS:

13. LA LA LA (BRAZIL 2014)
14. CHASING SHADOWS
15. THAT WAY

The accompanying CD booklet finishes with two pages of acknowledgements, headed up with:

‘...And this is the part where I say the magic word...Gracias!’

Thank you, Shakira, too...for making my Christmas stocking and giving me the power to sing along; the 20-page, glossy booklet has the words!
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Following 2010's Spanish-language "Sale el sol", Shakira returns with a new album, her first since becoming a mother, first for her new label, and first English since 2009. Her last English album, "She wolf", proved a mixed affair as far as her personal objective was concerned, as it saw her sacrificing her latin flavour in favour of the glossy dancefloor diva that she transformed into. Here, with a variety of genres on display, and a nuanced balance of different musical styles, Shakira keeps intact her distinguishable roots, as she addresses the joy of new love from both her child and partner, a reminder that beneath the global superstar there is heart and soul. Anthemic dance opener "Dare" mixes electronic backgrounds with brazilian beats, explosive duet with Rihanna "Can't remember to forget you" is a hit already, new single "Empire" is an unlikely rock ballad. The retro-feel of "You don't care about me", "Cut me deep"'s reggae-ska rhythm", "Spotlight"'s power-pop guitars, the delicately string-ladden "Broken record", the romantic minimalistic "23", universal love song "The one thing", and the closing "Loca por ti", homage to partner G. Pique, each of the songs offers something different. This album may lack the lyrical depth and thematology of previous albums where Shakira exhibited a unique flair for writing, still it is a lovingly made concentrated product, radiating confidence and maturity. She is a pop star who can pull something great together through force of personality, a mighty achievement no doubt. Her hips don't lie, neither her songs.
review image review image
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
After dancing to a few of the tracks at my Jazzercise classes over the last few weeks, thought I'd take a chance on buying the album - what a good choice that was. Enjoyed every track, which is unusual for me, even those sung in her native language, and will be playing it often. Good choice if you have no other Shakira albums, it'll keep you singing and dancing for sure.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
I was so excited in the build up to her latest album release, and was not disappointed when I was finally able to download. This is by far her best album - both musically and lyrically! Whether you have been a fan of Shakira for years already, are only recently a fan of hers or are not yet a fan, this album is a MUST BUY! I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this album.

Track listing:

1. Dare (La La La)
2. Can't Remember to Forget You feat. Rihanna
3. Empire
4. You don't care about me
5. Cut Me Deep feat. Magic
6. Spotlight
7. Broken Record
8. Medicine feat. Blake Shelton
9. 23
10 The One Thing
11. Nunca Me Acuerdo de Olividarte
12. Loca por Ti
13. La La La
14. Chasing Shadows
15. That Way

This is a truly wonderful album, not a single song I do not love. BUY IT AND YOU SHALL NOT BE SORRY!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
I wish Amazon would only allow people to review items they have actually purchased. I almost didn't buy this because of a few bad reviews, I am glad I ignored them. I am not sure if this is my favourite Shakira album, but I definitely do like it, a few songs are growers rather than instant grabs, but even so overall I think it's pretty solid. Still very shakira.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
Wow, I was blown away when I heard Shakira and Rihanna teamed up for a couple. This record is more like a pop rock record acoustic but with the highest standard I would say. I strongly urge you to get a copy. My favourite tracks is the Spanish track called Loca Por ti. A shame that quality music is going away fast from our radio station. Good singers like Madonna, Shakira, Mariah, Christina Anastacia and many other creative people are not being played anymore. I can't support the radio station on this days. Seriously
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
The album "Shakira" by Colombian singer-songwriter Shakira is her tenth studio record and follows on her previous 2010 multi-lingual album "Sale El Sol." Shakira decided to scrap and/or rework some of the tracks she worked on since late 2011, as she wanted to set both musically and lyrically a new direction for this album since she became a mother. The music on the finished product is a mixture of rock, folk, reggae, dance and even some country, to name just a few influences, so this album should appeal to a wide range of musical tastes.

She starts off with a bang, as the album opener "Dare (La La La)" is a very catchy dance-floor-ready track. This is followed by the ska-flavored song "Can't Remember To Forget You," which has also some elements of reggae and rock, and is a duet with Rihanna. The epic pop-rock ballad "Empire" is a bit of a return to her original sound at the start of her career. "You Don't Care About Me" is a delicate song with a folksy feel to it, but has also some reggae-influences.

"Cut Me Deep" is a "duet" with the Canadian group Magic!, and a mixture of reggae, ska and rock in which she sings about the fact that break-ups suck. Next track "Spotlight" is another pop-rock song. It has a great chorus and might have enough potential to be a future single as it's certainly catchy enough. The guitar-driven "Broken Record" is a semi-acoustic ballad which has lovely lyrics.

"Medicine," the incredible catchy pop-country crossover duet with Blake Shelton, is one of my favorites on this album. This is followed by the ballad "23," beautifully sung by Shakira while delicately accompanied on acoustic guitar. Shakira dedicated this song to her husband and son Milan, making this song one of her most personal ones on this record. At the end, you can hear a snippet of her son's voice. Next track, the mid-tempo "The One Thing," is a mixture of dance, pop and rock.

"Nunca Me Cuerdo De Olvidarte" is the Spanish version of "Can't Remember To Forget You," and this track, without Rihanna, is even more catchy than the English version. The ballad "Loca Por Ti" ("Crazy For You") is the only cover on this album, a song originally performed by pop rock group SAU from the Catalonia region in Spain. On a side note: Shakira also made a Catalan version of this track, "`Boig Per Tu," which sounds even better.

The Deluxe Edition adds three tracks: "La La La" is the Spanish version of "Dare (La La La)," and in my opinion the better version. The electro-pop "Chasing Shadows" is a Sia-penned song, a radio-ready musical love letter that is perfectly suited for the dance-floor. "That Way" is a beautiful acoustic song, on which Shakira is also supported on piano, and shows the value of the adage "less is more."

With "Shakira," her first English-language release since 2009, the Colombian songstress has delivered an appealing album that is a real showcase for her vocal prowess. Just a few minor critical notes: the album is a bit too reggae-flavored (not that I dislike reggae as a genre, far from it) and ballad-heavy. Also, there's a tad too much switching between genres, so the album lacks a bit cohesiveness. These nit-pickings aside, it was certainly worth the four-year wait. Recommended to all lovers of great music.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
So our favourite hip wiggling Colombian is back,with her best work for some time.
I haven't disliked anything she's released,but can understand why the last 2 offering didn't please many fans.
Beside their occasional gems,not a lot of the tracks really added to her appeal.

But now we have this,an album which is mostly English and has many gems that will no doubt become loved by many that play it.
I like that she tries different ideas out and has the talent to do so,she doesn't shy away from keeping her style aswell as mix it up a little,throwing in some interesting surprises.
A lot of it is clearly Shakira,whilst some of it is done in a style that might well have some asking "who is this,it's great?"
Not one track on here bored me or left me disappointed. I can't deny SHE WOLF was an idea that just didn't quite pay off,then there was another release that was going to annoy many fans with the lack of English tracks.But this should appease anyone who just didn't quite get what she was doing with those 2 albums. From an energetic start,she takes us on a great ride.sometimes smooth and sometime fast and furious,but always enjoyable. Chances are,you'll be hopping right back in for another go.
Shakira still has it...and more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
Having followed Shakira's output for nearly 15 years now, I expect nothing less than brilliance from her releases in Spanish but approach the English ones with some trepidation. Conflicts between the artist's vision and the label's views on commercial viability have obviously damaged past English releases. Considering this, the self-titled album is surprisingly good. All the eccentricities we've come to expect from her are firmly in place, and spiced up with new blends of styles. The only obvious input from the sales guys is the duet with Rihanna, but as I like both the collaborator and the song, I'm fine with that. Prick up your ears for the slower, more sensitive numbers, including cut me deep, 23, and broken record.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
Apart from the single released with Rihanna (Can't remember to forget you) which is probably the weakest track on the album, this is Shakira's best English album to date. Catchy, modern & packed with memorable tunes! Definitely worth a listen!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)