Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2014
I read positive reviews of 'A Promise of Blood' by this author. The world he has created sounds interesting and a little different to the usual swords and sorcery worlds my imagination loves to explore. It feel like McCellan has brought the fantasy timeline to somewhere around the 18th Century. Pistols and Rifles are available in the world, but sword play is still relevant and there are a couple of schools of magic- the 'traditional' elementalist mages, and Powder Mages who use magic stemming from gunpowder to perform supernatural feats.
McCellan writes to that excellent level that doesnt really feel like reading a book, but looking through a window into a new world. His prose flows nicely and characters have differing personalities and wit. The world is well constructed and is described with a delicate balance of details, not overly wordy descriptions, but just enough to fuel the imagination.
I tried this short story to get a taste of his writing style and immediately bought A Promise of Blood when I finished this story. If you are a fan of fantasy books, I strongly recommend giving this one a try!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
The Powder Mage series has been greatly assisted by the authors short stories set in the same world... Same characters, mostly earlier than the main thread, allow the author to really expand the characters and the world they inhabit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
This novella is set several years before Powder Mage and serves to fill in the backstory of some of the protagonists.

The world of Powder Mage is almost instantly recognisable and the story is engaging and absorbing.

It was a fun read and I look forward to reading more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
I have not read anything by Brian McClellan before this, but i have heard of the Powder Mage series.

This is a brilliant short story, that managed to set the scene of the world with a character that you attached to. It really reminded me of the Sharpe novels.

My only complaint was the lack of a 'Powder Mage'. But this only drives me to start reading his novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
This is the first book of Brian's that I've read, it certainly has made me want to read more from his world. It draws you straight in and makes you care about his characters. Looking forward to more Powder Mage short stories!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
Adds a new dimension to the author's debut "Promise of Blood".

I very much enjoyed it and I hope he will write more novels to add depth to his thoroughly enjoyable universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
Glass of spirit of choice, blinds drawn, rain pattering on your window. Still eight more words. Great story. Sippy Sippy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
Great book. Loved it. Just wish it was longer like all Brian McClellan powder Mage books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Very entertaining. A rollocking adventure
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
Loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)