Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Alice Cooper Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 January 2016
I have read hundreds of mountain books and this is right at the top of my list. I particularly like the way the story unfolds by taking the reader from different times to others within the overall story. ie. actual events, rescue descriptions and then authors visit to region many years after 1959. This is not unlike 'Into thin Air' which deals with the Everest disaster by taking the reader through the events of different party members at different times within the scenario.This story is " strange", un - nerving even. Like the mystery of Mallory and Irvine it is open to much conjecture. i have now read three different versions of this tragic event. Each one has its own unique contribution. I suppose this is to be expected as all authors want to provide their own little bit of " different" information. ( books need to sell ???) My advice for the reader is to read as many as you can and then sit down with a large bottle of what you fancy and work it all out. Should be an intriguing task. This book is easy to read and I do like the short ' punchy chapters. No long hard to read page long sections.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
Well-written. Reasonably well-resarched. His theory even has some plausibility attached to it. But its flawed by a pretty basic mistake.

He passes the fatal injuries sustained by three of the Dyatlov party as being due to a “tumble” down the “ravine” in which they were found, and which he alleges to have been 24 feet deep. This is a HUGE mistake. The ravine was only NINE feet deep, and not really a ravine at all - more of a dip in the land. Very hard to see how three fit young people could sustain fatal injuries by “tumbling” into this. Moreover he ignores the fact the pathologists ruled out this type of fall as a possible cause of their injuries.

For this reason his book remains just another partial and incomplete theory.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2017
Captivating narrative, speculation held at a minimum, and an interesting theory for the missing link of the investigation. Recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Great book - was gripped from first to last page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
A superb book that holds one's attention constantly. There is so much to consider that no review will do adequate justice to this incredible research and presentation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Fascinating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Great book really well written and kept you hanging!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
Very enjoyable read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
I didn't know anything about this tragedy until a friend of mine told me about a computer game they were playing that related to the incident. This book tells the story brilliantly, it is not fantastical, it follows the facts available from case files, and gives some background history through the eyes of the people connected to the incident, of life in Soviet Russia. Donnie retraces the steps of the group, and the rescue party in his own adventure in 2012, adding to the mystery. I could not put this book down, definitely worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
This is one of those rare books that when started you don't want to put it down.

I found myself having to consciously stop reading so as to prolong the life of the book.

The research carried out and the detailed approach make for an excellent read.

Outside of all the nutty sensational theories surrounding the events at Dead Mountain the final chapter is more than probable what actually took place.

I commend this book to all those who feel the tragedy of the events which overtook 9 young friend's on what should have been the most exciting adventure of their lives.

Thank you Donnie Eichar for you're persistence in seeking the facts and truth of the case.

A must read for all those whose spirit seek adventure.

Dave Keegan
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)