Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
15
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2017
Derivative post punk landfill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
One hell of a debut from Leeds Eagulls
Every song carries gnarling hints of anguish, despair and pure anger via frontman George Mitchell's brute northern accent.
This is punk at its very best start to finish. All tracks carry a similar turbid flow making it impossible to single out one. May well be the finest record we see this year!
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
Being doomed has seldom sounded so life-affirming
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
This is NOT The Eagles of Hotel California fame. This is a British Punk/Indie band of note. Different spelling, different sound, different band. Good first effort.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
We all know that the first album by a band is usually the best one, and THIS album is truly GREAT - Am trying really hard Not to play it continuously - Lets hope they bring out another in years to come that equals this one.
I STRONGLY recommend buying this album, Even if you are a Disco nut, It WILL convert you and save your soul;
Thanks Lads, Great Album,,.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
This is fabulously 1980s indie/goth. After 3 tracks I start to feel like I don't like the singers singing. By the last track I'm disappointed that an obviously talented band are fronted by a very limited vocal style/range. I saw these guys at Reading festival 2014 and they sounded just like the CD... which was a shame because, by the third song, I was starting to feel like I really didn't like the singer.
However, as anyone old enough will tell you, there was a lot of tat out there in the 80's, and plenty of it much worse than this. If you want a big smack of reminiscence from a band who are touring and looking like they mean it, if you like a bit of Bauhaus, Clash, JAMC - give it a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
I, like most of the civilised world adore the Eagles. Smooth rockin', freeway drivin' classics which capture the redneck heart of the good ol' US of A. Recent reform tours have been a timely reminder of their soaring genius so you can image how ecstatic I was upon finding this new CD in my local supermarket. In hindsight it's obvious to see that whoever was responsible for the artwork was clearly having a laugh at the bands expense - a burnt-out car next to some old doss house. Hardly the gleaming Chevrolet parked outside a Californian hotel that we have come to expect.

What Glen Frey and Don Henley have come up with here defies belief. The idea that singing in some faux English accent over some 2 bob riffs that even Cast (remember them?) would reject is deeply saddening. They are clearly conscious of creating a new audience but have missed their target spectacularly . If it wasn't for their timeless back catalogue they'd would been found dead in the desert on this evidence.

Only on track 'Tough Luck' do they come anywhere close to their previous majesty, although lyrically it leaves a lot to be desired, shouting 'tough luck' over and over and over again is hardly going to endear them to the Ivor Norvello Awards panel.

One more for the road? ...NO THANKS!
1313 Comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
Fabulous retro feel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
My initial thoughts were this is the best debut album since the Clash's self titled debut album in 1977. On reflection this is the best album since the Clash's first effort. Essential listening for anyone into punk, post-punk, indie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Brilliant album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.95

Need customer service? Click here