Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.01

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 April 2017
Marvelous
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
Vivid, poignant and powerful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
As always Rowan Williams is the perfect poet. He is incisive in language, thoughtful in subject matter and really does care for his readers. He is one of the best of the current wordsmiths and one of the few who can make spiritual/religious subjects relevant and personal. I just wish that he would write much more poetry. One of only half a dozen current poets who has something fresh to say on traditional themes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
A warning! This lovely collection is in fact a reprint of the 2002 edition, first published by Perpetua Press - as can be seen by 'Looking Inside'. Fortunately, recognising the identical cover artwork, I did so, otherwise I'd have bought it again and been sadly disappointed. There is no new work here - I am so looking forward to a fresh collection of more recent work, but this is not it!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
Before he was Archbishop of Canterbury, Rowan Williams was a poet. He still is. Startling play of light and dark, "spiritual but not religious" in the real sense.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
A thought provoking, moving and often amusing book of poems. I haven't finished it yet because they are peoms to savour
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
The last section resonates with me. The honesty, imagery and longing. A really good collection. I am inspired by RW each time I read his books. Being Christian is very much worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
I loved the Welsh voice which came through in these poems and the respect for the past. Deep down there was a vein of the spirituality of the Catholic past. To be read meditatively.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
A present for a friend who like myself enjoys poetry - it is in fact a reprint of Rown's early book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
book is fine not too keen on the poems
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here