Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 18 January 2018
Great album, a real sense that she's on the road to stardom...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 June 2014
I can't compare this album to previous works by the artist as I only came across St. Vincent recently while they performed on Jools Holland in the UK. The songs were great and really stood out on the show and the lead singer had a great stage presence and is obviously a great and charismatic performer.

I only got around to getting the album this week and think it's fantastic - it's rare you love nearly every song on an album upon the first listen when you haven't heard the artist before but I enjoyed it from start to finish and played it again straight away. I really like the vocal and it works perfectly on all the songs that range from sexy & quirky electronica to funky indie with some brilliant guitar and chunky bass, as well as a couple of slower tracks that work just as well. There is some really good songwriting on this album with interesting and quirky lyrics.

Digital Witness is probably my favorite track on the album at the moment - every person I've played it to has liked it and asked who it is.

If you're in doubt then watch some videos on Youtube - I will definitely be getting more albums from this artist in the future!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2014
St Vincent is an artist that has been much adored by her fans for a considerable amount of time, with many accolades being bestowed upon her. This includes an endless list of publications naming her previous solo effort, Strange Mercy, album of year and a prestigious American Ingenuity Award last year. How exactly could she follow that and collaboration with David Byrne? In a way that only Annie Clark can.

The eccentricity that we have come to know and love is still prevalent on St Vincent, but everything is so tight and thoroughly thought out that it just feels right. You could safely call the album art rock, but there is no hint of pretention. Everything is laid out, yet still with a shroud of mystery about it all. Clark can very easily bounce from the vulnerable to the darker side of things, with an emphasis of love and self reflection in the 21st Century being foremost on this self-titled effort.

“I Prefer Your Love” is a late night jam that floats on an air of a forgotten dreamy r’n’b track, with a little hook that you’ll find has buried itself deep inside your brain. Consisting of only a few notes, the hook has such an understated impact. It’s these tender moments that really display to versatility that Ms. Clark has. For every wild, discordant solo that teeters on the side of disturbing there is a moment that you fall for the delicate release of emotion.

There are some tracks on the album that you can truly groove to such as “Bring Me Your Loves” with its sharp synth lines and shuffled beat. It’s a step in a slightly different direction. Before this album there were moments of high energy with chaotic flurry, but nothing like the dance-ability to this track has been achieved previous, with a somewhat funky tinge mixed with a more focused precision that has become of trademark of sorts for St Vincent.

Annie’s time working with David Byrne comes through quite strongly at times, with an uptight percussion that features quite often throughout the record and more obviously the refrain used in “Psychopath” that consists solely of “ahs”. Yet it doesn’t sound out of place, as it’s not just a tired attempt at imitation, as the qualities of her previous collaborations mesh well into the St Vincent aesthetic that it doesn’t necessarily scream out.

St Vincent isn’t slowing down in terms of creativity as she has built upon a solid foundation from previous releases with an ambitious abandon that is guided by confident step into a slightly unfamiliar. Five albums in and St Vincent still sounds as fresh as ever.

For more reviews like this, visit: http://www.drunkenwerewolf.com
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2017
Great album, very varied, showcases her talent very well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2014
I'm new to St Vincent, only knowing what I hear on 6music and have picked up on YouTube. But I wanted this album on the basis of Digital Witness, ands then I heard Prince Johnny and was totally blown away. This album does not disappoint - the rest of it is just as hypnotic, pulsating, ethereal-yet-dirrrty as her singles. Annie manages to inject a funk to her music that underlines the more sparse, art student vibe. I know she collaborated with David Byrne in the past, and at times I can detect a Talking Heads style in the rhythm and guitar riffs. Gets better with every listen.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2017
Terrific
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 24 February 2014
4.5 Stars

Try to write a review of the music of St Vincent aka Annie Clark without using the words strange, quirky, eccentric or experimental. Not an easy task since Clark has been a proud pusher of boundaries since the release of her solo debut album "Marry Me" in 2007. She has also in that time struck up a useful partnership with the "Head" Talking Head David Byrne and if 2012's joint effort "Love this Giant" was quite what it promised then Clarks self titled fourth album sets the record straight.

St Vincent is the complete album that Ms Clark has been promising the over the past seven years. There have been occasions in her previous work that it has been a little to clever with songs that sound that they need more work or a slight injection of melody. It is pleasing to report therefore that she has shown more restraint here yet at the same time produced an album that could only be an St Vincent production. The ingenuity of her arrangements remains but somehow more shape and order is present. The powerhouse funky opener "Rattlesnakes" has a staccato synth line and breathy vocals by Clark and is an ecstatic start. The angular "Birth in reverse" is not one of the stronger tracks here but the track "Prince Johnny" that follows is a joy. It is almost a conventional ballad for Clark infused with brilliant lyrics not least the observation "Remember the time we went and snorted/A piece of the Berlin wall that you'd extorted/And we'd had such a laugh of it/Prostrate on my carpet". From here on the album gets better and better. "Huey Newton" starts like a slow trip hop song, only to introduce a nasty powered monster riff at around 3 minutes. The brassy single "Digital Witness" is a hybrid of Talking Heads meets Prince slice of funk accompanied with a brilliant video that updates Fritz Lang's classic silent film Metropolis. The next song "Regret" is like that very clever pop of the Dirty Projectors variety and a delight to the ears. The crunchy rock of "Psychopath" is hewn from the same cloth as "Rattlesnakes" whilst "Every Tear Disappears" is overshadowed by the albums standout and concluding track "Severed Crossed Fingers". On this Clark injects black humour into a Bowie like forlorn tale of love where she ruefully reflects, " Well you stole the heart right out my chest/Changed the words that I know best/Found myself with crossed fingers in the rubble there"

The great news about St Vincent is that this is by far her most accessible album to date. There has been nothing wrong with her inspired eclectic music to date, it is just that Annie Clark's fourth album finally completes the picture on the jigsaw box and nearly all the pieces fit perfectly.
33 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2014
St Vincent had somehow completely passed me by until I heard Digital Witness on Six Radio. I pre-ordered the album on the strength of that song and wasn't disappointed. Very varied collection of songs ranging from Prince style funk to (near) balladry but there isn't a duff track and there is a boundless energy throughout. Highly recommended.
22 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2016
Contrived and overcooked, I preferred her stripped down and less devoted to style over content. It's like a restaurant that covers every type of cuisine currently in vogue without being particularly great at any of them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 January 2015
This is my favourite album of 2014, narrowly beating out The Foo Fighters' 'Sonic Highways'. Every album Annie makes is better than the last and the influence of David Byrne (with whom she made an album a couple of years ago) is clear in the inventively jagged rhythms and he artfully skewed guitar riffs. But what makes the album work and also makes it infinitely re-listenable is the fact that she is making music her own way, unafraid to be arty and pretentious. "Digital Witness" and "Prince Johnny" are, for me, the highlights, but make no mistake, this is the album of a major artists at the top of her game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Actor
£7.99
Marry Me
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)