Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
81
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2017
berlinda Carlisle and bonus dvd with all the tracks what more does a man want
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Belinda Carlisle has had a fair few Greatest Hits or budget compliations over the years but they have always missed out her IRS years (on the UK compilations) or her later years (Real onwards on U.S. compilations). Finally, we have a compilation that spans all her English studio albums with a couple of new tracks added on. The quality of the songs are great and serve to remind people what a force Carlisle was in the world of pop.

The collection of songs is slightly intriguing - the majority of the hits are present along with some minor hits (interestingly the 1991 remix of Vision Of You which hit #71 is on here rather than the original) and the minor hits of La Luna (#38) and Runaway Horses (#40) are favoured over higher charting hits such as Lay Down Your Arms (#27) and Love In The Key Of C (#20), though the former two are bigger fan favourites and regular staples of Belinda's live sets.

The main drawback/ sticking point with this compilation is that despite the songs, Belinda only had 7 UK Top 10 hits and one of them is notably missing - Always Breaking My Heart - which seems rather careless (even if it is widely known that Carlisle no longer likes the song), particularly as 19 tracks is a rather odd number for a compilation.

Despite that, this is probably the best compilation released for the casual fan - just go and download Always Breaking My Heart afterwards and manually stick it into the album!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
People don't forget so easily. I never thought BC would be on top again, and with only 2 songs new! I hope it's a come back for the thirties ones. YOUR kinda voice was so unique, your songs were amazing and AVEC LE TEMPS stole my heart when I thought it was imposible after having all your songs, rarities plus GOGO'S. So i highly recommend VOILA+ THE ANTHOLOGY and any álbum you forgot on the way, as REAL or A WOMAN AND A MAN. BC I hope u don't disappear in your sixties as u once said. 4ever amen
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
Following the immaculate 2013 series of the expanded 2CD+DVD reissues, Edsel now releases 2 career-spanning collections by the gorgeous Belinda Carlisle. The first, titled "The Anthology", collects 3 CDs and 2 DVDs of hits, album tracks and rarities from BC's solo material, all the way from 1986's "Mad about you" to 2014's "Goodbye just go". Every single hit song is featured, all the promo videos, plus some great live performances on various UK TV programs. "The Anthology" is presented in a glossy 48-page 12"x12" hardback casebound book, featuring an array of pictures (B has had stunning photos taken over the years being the beauty that she is!). The second release, this, is a 18-track retrospective, simply titled "The Collection", gathering Belinda's greatest hits. Just like with most compilations, not all the hits are included on here, leaving out many that should have been tracklisted ("I feel the magic", "Always breaking my heart", and "Lay down your arms" in particular). Presented as a casebook slipcase, "The Collection" comes with a 16-page booklet that includes lyrics and singles artwork, a nice touch [although the most tasteful and classy release artwork-wise, so far, remains that of "A place on earth: The greatest hits" (1999)]. The main selling point of this, however, is the DVD of her promo videos, an inclusion that makes this almost the definitive BC greatest-hits release, doing justice to one of the most iconic figures in recent pop culture. I wish that both of these retrospective collections mark a very welcome return with new material.
review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
I've been wanting to buy a Belinda Carlise collection for some time now and all the ones listed seemed to have a key track missing. This has them all, plus a DVD to relive all those 80's hits visually. There's one or two tracks that i don't care for but there are some that I'd never heard before that I absolutely love. Normally I buy best of's, play them one and then put them away until my next bout of nostalgia but this has been blasting from my speakers/headphones since it arrived. Worthy addition to anyone's collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2016
This is an album from my teens and was bought after hearing a lot of her songs again on the radio. It's got all of her best hits and it's great for a girls night in, or simply when you want a good uplifting tunes as you'll find yourself singing away.

If you were a fan in the 80s then this is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
really great service really great price thank you well done.x
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
CAN ONLY GIVE 4 STARS AS WAS BOUGHT FOR A GIFT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
80's legend Belinda Carlisle is back with a greatest hits collection of her most famous back catalogue, an amazing voice and great rich pop songs there is nothing to not like about the songs chosen here, Summer Rain, We Want The Same Thing, Into Deep and of course Heaven Is A Place On Earth the classic legendary song that made Belinda who she is and a step on from the Go Go's group. 2 new tracks a thrown in for good measure Sun being one of them. Sit back or get up and dance either way enjoy the songs here on this album it's easy listening and fun.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)