Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
37
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2014
This series of television programmes are superb. The subject matter can be a bit harrowing but no worse than we hear on the news every day. The acting from the three main characters is outstanding, particularly from Damien Molony as DS Jack Weston, and Clare-Hope Ashitey as DC Charlie Steele.

It is even more outstanding in that all the dialogue is entirely improvised to a very tight storyline. This makes the programme fresh and really like proper conversation, not stilted in the way some dramas portray real life.

Well done all concerned.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
I missed this series on tv but have since watched all episodes vitrually back to back. As the storyline focusses on the suspects, any boring interaction between the detectives and their families is avoided and the action is solely on solving the case. It is very fast paced, often doubling back to previous suspects when new evidence arises and leading us on a tangent with suspects who look the part, but are innocent. My understanding is that the dialog is improvised and this explains why it is so realistic and well acted. I look forward to the next series!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
An excellent TV police procedural, but with the difference that there are no melodramatic stares or angst ridden, booze sodden lone cops, but three efficient, funny and professional, police persons who still have hearts intact, played by three fine actors. The writing is good, the photography gives an entirely authentic view of London, and the playing from all concerned makes for believable plots. Good stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
Suspects confirms what many of us have known all along - you can make a highly entertaining police drama without reverting to the tired formula of making the lead character a one-man-army with drink problems and a messy personal life. In fact, we know exceedingly little about the character's personal lives here - it's all about the work and it's enjoyable stuff. Often, the dialogue has an almost 'improvised' feel, but that only adds to it for me. Looking forward to Series 2.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
Watched the 1st episode and not my style. Sharp snappy editing! Quick stories to fit a 45 min slot and just crap! The style of reality doco with actors improvising doesn't work and seems fake and untidy. Nice neat endings to fit story.....nar not real just pretending to be real. Dross and going in charity shop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Making this series like a documentary might have seemed a good idea to the producers but fails miserably as far as I'm concerned. The narration is disjointed and difficult to hear at times and the acting leaves a lot to be desired.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
For now I can not give it a star rating. An error acured on the editing of the DVD version. Episode 2, there is a break and then starts all over again where Charlie is having a smoke on the roof and stubs her cigarette out. Then it shows it all over again, causing the ending to be absent. Have not watched 3, 4 or 5 as yet, but my partner has and said it did the same in all the other episodes. Loved the first episode and was devastated with the second one without ending.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
A documentary pure and simple based on Motorway Cops. Poor camera work, even worse sound and a predictable ending with every episode.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Disappointed - this is more like a series of documentaries than gripping police drama.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
Fabulous. Great characters and script. Roll on series 2
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here