Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
10
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2017
Love it. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
JEG returns to filling in the gaps in his Bach catalogue with this album, which includes the funeral cantata BWV106 and the Easter Oratorio. Gardiner's previous BWV106 was released on one of the DG Archiv "Cantata Pilgrimage" recordings (463581-2), but it was recorded 10 years earlier at St. John's, Smith Square. This new one was recorded at Cadogan Hall, and, unusually for Gardiner, doesn't seem to have been a live performance.

Both works receive top-class, nicely-paced performances. However, I marginally prefer the earlier BWV106 recording, which has a nice reverberant acoustic - the new one is "deader" acoustically. Performance-wise, there is nothing to choose between them.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
I already knew the Actus Tragicus in his earlier recording but Gardiner's new release is staggering: in more or less the same tempi he reignites this incredibly beautiful music with more sound, more depth, more detail: incredible! The Easter Oratorio with it beautiful arias sung wonderfully by especially soprano Hannah Morrison and tenor Nicholas Mulroy has apart from orchestra and choi an absolute star musician in wonderful Michael Niesemann on oboe!
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
My favourite composer, my favourite conductor, my favourite players, especially the flutes and oboes, and my favourite soloists. Add to that a wonderful performance and cd at a reasonable price - result pure joy.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Great as all the other cantatas by the Monteverdi Choir
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
Wonderful experience of enjoying these pieces of pure classical music. English Baroque Soloists is one of the best who revive Baroque music. It is suggested listen to it with a decent HIFI combination.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sublime
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Delivers as hoped for - and the contrast between the Actus Tragicus and the Oratorio is simply stunning and moving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
Fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
What can one add.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£10.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)